Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,777 Members 41,723 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

How to clear cache partition from stock recovery (non-rooted phone)

Tip us?
 
bikercr
Old
(Last edited by bikercr; 18th September 2013 at 01:07 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 232
Join Date: Jan 2009
Default How to clear cache partition from stock recovery (non-rooted phone)

1) Power off phone (be sure to turn off fast reboot in settings first). 2) Boot into recovery by holding volume down key and then holding power key until boot menu appears. 3) Volume down to RECOVERY and tap power key to select. 4) HTC logo appears followed by blank, dim screen. Briefly tap all three simultaneously: power key, volume up and down keys, and release immediately. You may have to do this step a few times to get the timing right. 5) Black screen appears and SD card error message scrolls. After about 5-10 seconds, recovery menu appears (all in very small font). Volume-down to "wipe cache partition" at bottom of list and tap power key. Cache gets cleared. Then select "reboot system now" by tapping power key again (this choice highlighted). Done!

Device will now be a little snappier and some quirky behavior that sometimes develops is fixed. May want to do this every month or so to keep things running better, or if device behaving strangely and you want to try a quick fix that may work.

Sent from my HTC One via XDA premium app
_________________________________
:: Verizon HTC One--purely stock and lovin' it
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to bikercr For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
daavvis
Old
#2  
daavvis's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2,097
Posts: 1,552
Join Date: Feb 2012

 
DONATE TO ME
Trying now have been wondering how to get into recovery

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
Joen
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 21
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hellum
After step 4 I only got after a few seconds of a back dim screen a screen with a picture of the HTC One and a overlay at it with a red triangle and red exclamation mark. After about 20 seconds seeing that the telephone reboots.
May I press the 3 buttons more times or only once? Wasn't my timing right?
 
smokawhat
Old
#4  
smokawhat's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joen View Post
After step 4 I only got after a few seconds of a back dim screen a screen with a picture of the HTC One and a overlay at it with a red triangle and red exclamation mark. After about 20 seconds seeing that the telephone reboots.
May I press the 3 buttons more times or only once? Wasn't my timing right?
Did you ever figure out this? I am having the same problem with my htc one m8..
 
jonnythrice
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 43
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by smokawhat View Post
Did you ever figure out this? I am having the same problem with my htc one m8..

I got the same thing, but I pressed the 3 buttons together for about 1-2 seconds and the correct menu came up.
 
Joen
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 21
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hellum
Quote:
Originally Posted by smokawhat View Post
Did you ever figure out this? I am having the same problem with my htc one m8..
Yes. I have posted the description in this topic: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...4#post50922254
I don't know wether it will work on the M8.
 
smokawhat
Old
#7  
smokawhat's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joen View Post
Yes. I have posted the description in this topic: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...4#post50922254
I don't know wether it will work on the M8.
Thanks all for the replies. I got it to work. When at the red triangle ! Page hold volume up and the press power button.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes