Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,777,839 Members 47,860 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] New Radio to upgrade i377m from stock 4.2.2 MG1 to Kitkat

Tip us?
 
frankxda-dev
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: May 2013
Default [Q] New Radio to upgrade i377m from stock 4.2.2 MG1 to Kitkat

I have a Canadian Galaxy S4 i377m from Telus.

It's still running stock 4.2.2 MG1.

I want to upgrade to the KANGAKAT 4.4.2 ROM. I've been able to use TWRP to flash it and it seems to work correctly except that the Cell connection drops after the first call and then it says I have no service. For now, I restored my stock ROM and data from nandroid backup.

I have this exact problem: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...postcount=1023

After lots of reading and research (it's my first time trying to flash a custom ROM), I think I need to update the radio.

Is MK6 the correct radio firmware to flash on my phone? Should I flash the radio before or after installing the new 4.4.2 ROM?

I know the radio firmwares are here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2324667

What the hell is nonhlos.bin and do I need to pay attention to that?

I want a very stable GPE ROM. I won't be updating frequently and don't want to try many ROMS. Is kangakat the best choice?

Thanks for any and all help and advice.
 
Gage_Hero
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 190
Posts: 1,144
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by frankxda-dev View Post
I have a Canadian Galaxy S4 i377m from Telus.

It's still running stock 4.2.2 MG1.

I want to upgrade to the KANGAKAT 4.4.2 ROM. I've been able to use TWRP to flash it and it seems to work correctly except that the Cell connection drops after the first call and then it says I have no service. For now, I restored my stock ROM and data from nandroid backup.

I have this exact problem: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...postcount=1023

After lots of reading and research (it's my first time trying to flash a custom ROM), I think I need to update the radio.

Is MK6 the correct radio firmware to flash on my phone? Should I flash the radio before or after installing the new 4.4.2 ROM?

I know the radio firmwares are here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2324667

What the hell is nonhlos.bin and do I need to pay attention to that?

I want a very stable GPE ROM. I won't be updating frequently and don't want to try many ROMS. Is kangakat the best choice?

Thanks for any and all help and advice.
For the modem, if your going to 4.4.2, you want to flash the NC1 modem. It has been listed in various threads on here. I just flashed the modem.bin file only, I have seen people get in trouble flashing the nonhlos file (loosing wifi and such). Just extract the modem.bin file and flash it through odin PC, make sure you take off the auto reboot as it takes longer to flash than odin allows before rebooting. Also when you flash, once odin says complete, boot back into download mode and repeat the flash, not sure this is necessary but it seems to help in some cases. as far as a GPE rom, check Danvh's thread, that one is build for Canadian phones, just make sure you don't flash anything that is just for I337 (US Version) you want to stick to roms that are specifically for i337m. There islikely going to be an update in th next month or so to 4.4.3 so it is up to you if you want to wait for that or flash again.....
Telus Galaxy S4 - Stock 4.3 to
[ROM] Maple leaf iBASTiD if ya aint tried it.... you should... Go Canada... Go iBASTiD......
 
frankxda-dev
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gage_Hero View Post
For the modem, if your going to 4.4.2, you want to flash the NC1 modem. It has been listed in various threads on here. I just flashed the modem.bin file only, I have seen people get in trouble flashing the nonhlos file (loosing wifi and such). Just extract the modem.bin file and flash it through odin PC, make sure you take off the auto reboot as it takes longer to flash than odin allows before rebooting. Also when you flash, once odin says complete, boot back into download mode and repeat the flash, not sure this is necessary but it seems to help in some cases. as far as a GPE rom, check Danvh's thread, that one is build for Canadian phones, just make sure you don't flash anything that is just for I337 (US Version) you want to stick to roms that are specifically for i337m. There islikely going to be an update in th next month or so to 4.4.3 so it is up to you if you want to wait for that or flash again.....
Thanks for reply. Are these modem flashes reversible? I can always downgrade again, right?

I'll try this over the weekend.
 
frankxda-dev
Old
(Last edited by frankxda-dev; 20th May 2014 at 02:28 AM.) Reason: Got data to work
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by frankxda-dev View Post
Thanks for reply. Are these modem flashes reversible? I can always downgrade again, right?

I'll try this over the weekend.
I flashed the NC1 modem (twice) and installed Kangakat. Voice works fine but I have no data. I tried setting the telus Access point name and the Telus Mobile Network Operator. After searching networks, it finds Bell, Rogers and Telus. I select Telus and get a Network Registered notification but still no data.

I then flashed MK6 to try and again voice works fine but still no data.

In "About Phone" -> "Status" I always have
Mobile Network State: Disconnected

Edit: I made data work by creating a custom APN instead of relying on the preset APN:

These are the settings I used:

APN: sp.telus.com
No username/password
MMS APN: sp.telus.com
MMSC: http://aliasredirect.net/proxy/mmsc
MMS Proxy: 74.49.0.18:80

I found these settings here: http://www.howardforums.com/showthre...3#post15213963

The preset APN in Kangakat for telus was
APN: isp.telus.com
but doesn't seem to work.

I tried this using modem MK6 and everything was working: voice and data.

I then flashed NC1 again and data was still working.

Finally I tried a speedtest using the LTE data connection.
5 MB/s down and 2MB/s up.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes