Post Reply

[Q] Need help updating to 4.4 from VS98010B

9th May 2014, 02:49 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Hello everyone:

This will be my second post here, so please be gentle...

As you can see, I have the VS98010B FW, and although I've spent a whole day searching in this forum (an others) how to even get the 12B FW to at least get started with the update, have failed in every attempt...

I'm on Mac, but have tried the Upgrade Assistant on Windows, and it doesn't even recognise it. The OTA update doesn't work either, so I'm stuck.

So please: what do I have to do to upgrade my phone???

Forgot to mention that I did a Factory Reset, but some how kept root access.

Thanks in advanced for your help,
Last edited by Rober7; 9th May 2014 at 03:58 AM.
9th May 2014, 02:42 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag North East, MD
Thanks Meter: 790
 
2,883 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rober7

Hello everyone:

This will be my second post here, so please be gentle...

As you can see, I have the VS98010B FW, and although I've spent a whole day searching in this forum (an others) how to even get the 12B FW to at least get started with the update, have failed in every attempt...

I'm on Mac, but have tried the Upgrade Assistant on Windows, and it doesn't even recognise it. The OTA update doesn't work either, so I'm stuck.

So please: what do I have to do to upgrade my phone???

Forgot to mention that I did a Factory Reset, but some how kept root access.

Thanks in advanced for your help,

If you have access to a windows machine, wipe it back to stock and let it take the OTA, you can root it with ioroot25 afterwards.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2448960

A factory reset just wipes the /data directory, it doesn't touch /system where your root apps are (su, busybox)
10th May 2014, 08:33 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjones73

If you have access to a windows machine, wipe it back to stock and let it take the OTA, you can root it with ioroot25 afterwards.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2448960

A factory reset just wipes the /data directory, it doesn't touch /system where your root apps are (su, busybox)

Thanks for replying! Took my time to reply back because I was following the tutorial you pointed (trying to do it on VB from Mac, but that's a whole other story), and finally got to do it right (now have the 11A FW)
BUT, when I hit the "Check New" to update, it hangs there for a minute and then says "Download Unsuccessful"...

I must clear out as well that I'm using it with another carrier (Orange) outside US.
Last edited by Rober7; 10th May 2014 at 09:09 PM. Reason: Update
11th May 2014, 04:06 PM   |  #4  
acejavelin's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bismarck, ND
Thanks Meter: 494
 
1,643 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rober7

Thanks for replying! Took my time to reply back because I was following the tutorial you pointed (trying to do it on VB from Mac, but that's a whole other story), and finally got to do it right (now have the 11A FW)
BUT, when I hit the "Check New" to update, it hangs there for a minute and then says "Download Unsuccessful"...

I must clear out as well that I'm using it with another carrier (Orange) outside US.

That is your issue then... you have to be on Verizon to get the OTA

To update you should try using Windows and use the Verizon LG Software Upgrade assistant software, it should prompt you to install it when you connect your phone to a PC. If it doesn't, open My Computer and look for a CD-ROM drive associates with your phone and run it.
12th May 2014, 03:58 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by acejavelin

That is your issue then... you have to be on Verizon to get the OTA

To update you should try using Windows and use the Verizon LG Software Upgrade assistant software, it should prompt you to install it when you connect your phone to a PC. If it doesn't, open My Computer and look for a CD-ROM drive associates with your phone and run it.

First off, thanks for helping out as well. I tried that, but it doesn't see it. Today I upgraded to VS98012B, and followed this tutorial
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2699123 to force the OTA update.

Everything was fine until after the reboot: it said: "Softwareupdate fail!"

I'm getting a little bit frustrated with this... Is there a flashable version of the official KK?
19th May 2014, 06:42 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Found this tutorial, which I followed to be finally on KitKat!

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...re+update+fail

Although, do not flash anything until you have EVERYTHING on your internal drive!!! if not, you'll end up having to know the term "sideloading"...
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Top Threads in Verizon G2 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank