Document the Story of Your Social Life with 8tory

The different forms of social media are growing every day. It’s hard to imagine a day … more

Make Calling Your Loved Ones Easier and Cheaper this Diwali

Diwali, or Deepawali as some Indians call it, is the pride and joy of Indian … more

Big Android BBQ 5.0 Recap – XDA TV

This fifth annual Big Android BBQ has come and gone. The speakers have spoke, the sponsors have … more

Microsoft to Counter “OK Google” with Bing Torque

When Microsoft is making apps for Android, users should be aware that something … more
Post Reply

Post UMS Mounter

OP sleepwalker123

9th June 2014, 10:49 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 7
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Hi all,

First thread here .

So, on with it. I've been a member on this forum for quite some time, but never felt like posting or anything as I didn't have anything interesting to share and all the questions I might've got at some point got already answered...
Anyway, about a year a go I bought a Samsung Galaxy S III. Cute little 'monster', powerful and all... and I got hit by MTP. I'm a Linux user, so getting MTP to work was a huge pain. So I started reading, digging, found out that some guys already implemented some scripts for mounting the external SD as UMS... the problem was that they didn't work on my end.
So I developed my own little app. Nothin' fancy, two buttons to switch from MTP to UMS and back.
In the meanwhile, I changed my phone to a Note 2 LTE and did some more tweaking on my app and now I'm kinda ready to share it with you guys.

You need to have a rooted phone equipped with busybox (my app will prompt warnings telling you you're not rooted or you don't have busybox, but I thought it was nice to tell you here the requirements).
One small thing, besides the usual "I'm not responsible to any damages brought to your phone and all": after transferring to / from your SD card, please use the eject command (or the safety remove feature on Windows) to unbind the card from your operating system before changing back to UMS. That way you ensure no harm is brought to you SD card or to the data on it.

All that being said, you can download the app from here: devver.ro/ums-mounter/ (I don't have enough posts to give an external link, so you'll have to enter the text manually in your browser). The text on that page is written both in Romanian (my native language) and English so there shouldn't be any problems :P.

This app should work on every device that has an SD card and runs Android 4.3+. Oh yeah, there might be some glitches on devices with Samsung's official releases (bummer, I know), but that's related to some screw-ups on their end, 'cause they're random from ROM to ROM.

Anyway, hope you'll like it (if you test it). If you have and problems, comment here and attach a logcat and I'll see if I'm smart enough to help you.

== 2014-06-10 ==
Version 1.1
Changes:
- please uninstall the previous version, as I've changed the signature on the file ;
- added a small sanity check which will force you to unplug your phone from the computer before switching between modes (hopefully this will also force you to safely remove the external sd card :P );
- fixed (i hope at least) the situation where the card is not mounted as usb on Touchwizz related ROMs;
As usual, the app can be downloaded from devver.ro/ums-mounter. Thanks again for testing .
Last edited by sleepwalker123; 10th June 2014 at 12:27 PM. Reason: updated app
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to sleepwalker123 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th June 2014, 10:54 PM   |  #2  
erljayp's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 51
 
219 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Smile
Quote:
Originally Posted by sleepwalker123

This app should work on every device that has an SD card and runs Android 4.3+.

It mounts the card slots (although it needs a reboot sometimes), but the PC shows up two empty usb slots and the sd card is not mounted.
Im running DN3 V5+.
I do hope you can fix it.
Thank you.
10th June 2014, 05:16 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 7
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
@erljayp: that's one ROM which is based on a stock ROM and, as I mentioned in my OP, there might be glitches woth 'em.
I'll setup my phone into dual booting so that's gonna be a bit easier to test these ROMs and hopefully sort them out.
Thanks for testing my little app
The Following User Says Thank You to sleepwalker123 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th June 2014, 08:28 AM   |  #4  
ectv96's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Surabaya
Thanks Meter: 6
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
your app said that i haven't installed busybox yet. then i tried to install busybox from play store and it said the same. what problem?
10th June 2014, 08:32 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 7
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ectv96

your app said that i haven't installed busybox yet. then i tried to install busybox from play store and it said the same. what problem?

I've used play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=stericson.busybox to install busybox. Basically, after you install the app from the play store, you need to open it in order for it to actually download and install the busybox binaries. If you just downloaded the app from play store but didn't actually open it, that may be the problem
10th June 2014, 09:12 AM   |  #6  
ectv96's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Surabaya
Thanks Meter: 6
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sleepwalker123

I've used play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=stericson.busybox to install busybox. Basically, after you install the app from the play store, you need to open it in order for it to actually download and install the busybox binaries. If you just downloaded the app from play store but didn't actually open it, that may be the problem

oh yes, it works. thankyou
10th June 2014, 12:29 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 7
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
New version, please check OP. Should resolve the DN3 related issues (this should apply to all ROMs which are based on stock Samsung). 'Njoy!
10th June 2014, 01:09 PM   |  #8  
erljayp's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 51
 
219 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Smile
Quote:
Originally Posted by sleepwalker123

there might be glitches woth 'em.

I thought you were talking about the "stock" rom. haha.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sleepwalker123

Should resolve the DN3 related issues.

Now working in DN3 V5+, but I have fluctuating transfer rates. What is the average transfer rate you have?
Thank you.
10th June 2014, 01:23 PM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 7
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
@erljayp: i get about a maximum of 2 MB/s transferring a file bigger than 50-100 MB, which I find quite satisfying. Also, if I'm not mistaking, the transfer rates are influences by a lot of factors: the card's class, if you're transferring a lot of small files (mp3's, for example) etc.
Anyway, glad that sorted your problem. Like I said before, my app should now work not only on the DN3, but on all ROMs (CM11 based, AOSP, AOKP, ROM's based on the stock Samsung release). If you find a ROM that won't work, Iemme know and I'll see what's to be done about it .
The Following User Says Thank You to sleepwalker123 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th June 2014, 01:30 PM   |  #10  
erljayp's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 51
 
219 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Smile
Quote:
Originally Posted by sleepwalker123

@erljayp: i get about a maximum of 2 MB/s transferring a file bigger than 50-100 MB, which I find quite satisfying. Also, if I'm not mistaking, the transfer rates are influences by a lot of factors.

I guess mine is normal.
Well, thank you very much for this great app and goodluck in your future projects.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Top Threads in Galaxy Note II General by ThreadRank