Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,778,758 Members 38,026 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Google KitKat dialer on S4

Tip us?
 
Mattx28025
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Mar 2014
Default Google KitKat dialer on S4

Hello, I want sure where to post this since it's a general software question. I've been trying to get the KitKat dialer to work on my rooted s4. Im running the SS 4.4.2NC1 ROM. I've done everything to make it work. I've used the apk file and changed the permissions using es Explorer and tried flashing it in safestrap. Nothing has worked so far. I don't normally ask for help, but I'm stuck. Any suggestions?

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy S4 (Powered by Android)
 
DeadlySin9
Old
#2  
DeadlySin9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 620
Posts: 1,241
Join Date: Sep 2012

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattx28025 View Post
Hello, I want sure where to post this since it's a general software question. I've been trying to get the KitKat dialer to work on my rooted s4. Im running the SS 4.4.2NC1 ROM. I've done everything to make it work. I've used the apk file and changed the permissions using es Explorer and tried flashing it in safestrap. Nothing has worked so far. I don't normally ask for help, but I'm stuck. Any suggestions?

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy S4 (Powered by Android)
Get an AOSP phone ;P
The issue might be with the fact that the stock ROM is odexed. Other than that, I'm not sure why unless it calls dependencies on other files also.

Sent from my SGH-I337 running BlackBox 3.0
Current Device: ATT Samsung Galaxy S4 (i337)

Past Devices:
Droid Bionic (GSM Hacked)
HTC Inspire 4G (Desire HD)
Nexus One
Motorola Backflip
HTC Dev Phone 1 (Dream/G1)
 
MatthewPresley
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 52
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Austin
Any update on this. Were you able to get it to work?

---------- Post added at 07:42 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:38 PM ----------

How do you like running Blackbox on your phone. It looks like closest (working) AOSP themed rom out there.


Quote:
Originally Posted by DeadlySin9 View Post
Get an AOSP phone ;P
The issue might be with the fact that the stock ROM is odexed. Other than that, I'm not sure why unless it calls dependencies on other files also.

Sent from my SGH-I337 running BlackBox 3.0
 
MatthewPresley
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 52
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Austin
FYI I just flashed the zip from android police using safestrap 3.72 and the dialer works on mu NC1 based rooted phone
 
DeadlySin9
Old
#5  
DeadlySin9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 620
Posts: 1,241
Join Date: Sep 2012

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by MatthewPresley View Post
Any update on this. Were you able to get it to work?

---------- Post added at 07:42 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:38 PM ----------

How do you like running Blackbox on your phone. It looks like closest (working) AOSP themed rom out there.
Blackbox runs really well and the features are nice, but I've ditched it for the semi-functional GPE that's in the General section here.
Current Device: ATT Samsung Galaxy S4 (i337)

Past Devices:
Droid Bionic (GSM Hacked)
HTC Inspire 4G (Desire HD)
Nexus One
Motorola Backflip
HTC Dev Phone 1 (Dream/G1)
 
MatthewPresley
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 52
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Austin
Thanks for the reply. Besides flashing the zip via safestrap is there anything you need to do to make it work with the ATT S4? Also do you know if you can enable soft keys on that rom?

I'm tempted to flash the GPE but feel like I should wait until chrome and paid apps work before flashing

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeadlySin9 View Post
Blackbox runs really well and the features are nice, but I've ditched it for the semi-functional GPE that's in the General section here.
 
DeadlySin9
Old
#7  
DeadlySin9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 620
Posts: 1,241
Join Date: Sep 2012

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by MatthewPresley View Post
Thanks for the reply. Besides flashing the zip via safestrap is there anything you need to do to make it work with the ATT S4? Also do you know if you can enable soft keys on that rom?

I'm tempted to flash the GPE but feel like I should wait until chrome and paid apps work before flashing
I've gotten used to Firefox and I don't have paid apps, so it's not an issue for me. But you just flash it like any other ROM. Soft keys aren't a built in option AFAIK but I think Gravitybox has something for them.
Current Device: ATT Samsung Galaxy S4 (i337)

Past Devices:
Droid Bionic (GSM Hacked)
HTC Inspire 4G (Desire HD)
Nexus One
Motorola Backflip
HTC Dev Phone 1 (Dream/G1)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Add Timestamps to Xposed Installer Logs with… Xposed!

If talking about the most interesting projects in the last few years, we must … more

Secrecy Goes Open Source, Assures File Encryption

As some of you may remember, a while back we spoke about Secrecy, an effective file … more

[APK] Google News and Weather Gets Material Design Makeover, Minor Maps Updates

Although Google has somewhat gotten out of the habit of their … more

Software Build Automation with Jenkins – XDA Developer TV

Many members of the XDA community come to learn and begin in the exciting … more