Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,731,905 Members 39,815 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] How can I install a ROM through recovery

Tip us?
 
thathaway99
Old
(Last edited by thathaway99; 19th May 2014 at 12:54 AM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 19
Join Date: May 2014
Default [Q] How can I install a ROM through recovery

I recently rooted my HTC Droid DNA and without thinking flashed a kernel while using the stock Android KitKat. I can no longer turn on my phone. When I try it just gets stuck at the HTC screen. Since the DNA doesn't have an SD card I can't plug that straight into my computer to put a rom on it and then flash it through the recovery. I am using TWRP and have tried to use ADB sideload but my computer keeps saying device not found. I am using windows 8 by the way. I just want to either flash the stock kernel or flash a custom rom so that I can actually use my phone again.

Edit: I can also use windows 7 if needed.
 
SeraphSephiroth
Old
#2  
SeraphSephiroth's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 254
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by thathaway99 View Post
I recently rooted my HTC Droid DNA and without thinking flashed a kernel while using the stock Android KitKat. I can no longer turn on my phone. When I try it just gets stuck at the HTC screen. Since the DNA doesn't have an SD card I can't plug that straight into my computer to put a rom on it and then flash it through the recovery. I am using TWRP and have tried to use ADB sideload but my computer keeps saying device not found. I am using windows 8 by the way. I just want to either flash the stock kernel or flash a custom rom so that I can actually use my phone again.

Edit: I can also use windows 7 if needed.
You may be able to use fastboot.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
Tell me what you cherish most. Give me the pleasure of taking it away.
 
thathaway99
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 19
Join Date: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeraphSephiroth View Post
You may be able to use fastboot.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
How would I do that?
 
SeraphSephiroth
Old
#4  
SeraphSephiroth's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 254
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by thathaway99 View Post
How would I do that?
Reboot to fastboot mode then in cm type fastboot flash zip X.zip
With X being the zip. Be sure you have fastboot.exe and your dlls too :3

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
Tell me what you cherish most. Give me the pleasure of taking it away.
The Following User Says Thank You to SeraphSephiroth For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
thathaway99
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 19
Join Date: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeraphSephiroth View Post
Reboot to fastboot mode then in cm type fastboot flash zip X.zip
With X being the zip. Be sure you have fastboot.exe and your dlls too :3

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
I used that command and it is stuck at "waiting for device" and has been there for about 10 minutes. Is it supposed to take this long or is it not working?
 
SeraphSephiroth
Old
#6  
SeraphSephiroth's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 254
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by thathaway99 View Post
I used that command and it is stuck at "waiting for device" and has been there for about 10 minutes. Is it supposed to take this long or is it not working?
Unplug and re plug the device?

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
Tell me what you cherish most. Give me the pleasure of taking it away.
 
thathaway99
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 19
Join Date: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeraphSephiroth View Post
Unplug and re plug the device?

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
That didn't work. My computer is making the noise so I know it is connected and I am using usb 2.0 so it isn't that either.
 
SeraphSephiroth
Old
#8  
SeraphSephiroth's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 254
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by thathaway99 View Post
That didn't work. My computer is making the noise so I know it is connected and I am using usb 2.0 so it isn't that either.
Does the device react at all?

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
Tell me what you cherish most. Give me the pleasure of taking it away.
 
thathaway99
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 19
Join Date: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeraphSephiroth View Post
Does the device react at all?

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
No it doesn't. It shows fastboot usb at the top when I plug it in but it doesn't do anything when I type the command in.
 
SeraphSephiroth
Old
#10  
SeraphSephiroth's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 254
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeraphSephiroth View Post
Does the device react at all?

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
Have you installed your device drivers? What device did it install?

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
Tell me what you cherish most. Give me the pleasure of taking it away.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes