Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,262 Members 50,131 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Wifi chip on sensation? Can you change it?

Tip us?
 
dladz
Old
#1  
dladz's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 736
Posts: 3,596
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Liverpool

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Wifi chip on sensation? Can you change it?

Anyone know how to change the wifi chip on a sensation??

Mine has died, just will not turn on at all, always delivers an error, i'm looking for where it is? So if anyone knows, first hand then let me know please

Thanks.
Phones: Moto 888 - Nokia 6110 - Nokia 3210 - Nokia 3310 - Nokia 8210 - Samsung e250 - Sony F305 - LG Viewty - G1 - HTC Hero - HTC Desire HD - HTC Sensation - Nokia Lumia 800 - HTC EVO 3D - Samsung i9300 - Asus Prime TF201 silver - HTC One - Galaxy Camera - Z1
 
ausaras
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 118
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Taichung
I don't think you can "change" the wifi chip...

it is integrated into the board/chipset. I think your only choice to replace the whole board.
 
atomfix
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 534
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Caerphilly
Reflash the kernel

Sent from my HTC Sensation Z710e using XDA App


The 4.0GHZ Club!
 
dladz
Old
#4  
dladz's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 736
Posts: 3,596
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Liverpool

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by atomfix View Post
Reflash the kernel

Sent from my HTC Sensation Z710e using XDA App
Software is not the issue m8, believe me i've exhausted every option available, it can only be a hardware issue.

Changing the board would be a pain, how much do you think a new board would be??
Phones: Moto 888 - Nokia 6110 - Nokia 3210 - Nokia 3310 - Nokia 8210 - Samsung e250 - Sony F305 - LG Viewty - G1 - HTC Hero - HTC Desire HD - HTC Sensation - Nokia Lumia 800 - HTC EVO 3D - Samsung i9300 - Asus Prime TF201 silver - HTC One - Galaxy Camera - Z1
 
ste1164
Old
#5  
ste1164's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 304
Posts: 2,533
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Darlington
Put it back to stock then send it to Htc for a replacement.
 
dladz
Old
#6  
dladz's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 736
Posts: 3,596
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Liverpool

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by ste1164 View Post
Put it back to stock then send it to Htc for a replacement.
Yea i think that's the only way, problem is i got it for free from HTC haha, so it kinda doesn't have a warranty as it was given to me, so i guess we'll just see what they say.

Thanks anyway.
Phones: Moto 888 - Nokia 6110 - Nokia 3210 - Nokia 3310 - Nokia 8210 - Samsung e250 - Sony F305 - LG Viewty - G1 - HTC Hero - HTC Desire HD - HTC Sensation - Nokia Lumia 800 - HTC EVO 3D - Samsung i9300 - Asus Prime TF201 silver - HTC One - Galaxy Camera - Z1
 
matpil
Old
#7  
matpil's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 55
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by dladz View Post
Yea i think that's the only way, problem is i got it for free from HTC haha, so it kinda doesn't have a warranty as it was given to me, so i guess we'll just see what they say.

Thanks anyway.
Do you solve this problem?
I've an HTC Sensation with the same issue...
(in settings, wifi mac address is "not available") :S

regards
Samsung Galaxy S3
Rom: FoxHoud 1.4.2
BaseBand: I9300XXLG8



HTC Desire (Bravo) - S-OFF
Rom: OxyZM 1.2 (based on Oxygen tnx AdamG)
Radio: 5.7.05.23
Recovery: ClockworkMod

HTC Explorer
Jaggy rom with Android 2.3.5
HTC Sense 3.5

My app on Market :Ticket calculator
 
charliert
Old
#8  
charliert's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 86
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by matpil View Post
Do you solve this problem?
I've an HTC Sensation with the same issue...
(in settings, wifi mac address is "not available") :S

regards
Iīve been reading about the wifi problem,
I have an Sensation 4G , that has a serious wifi problem, it only connects for a cuple of minutes then disconnected.
and other times, the phone restart..
I saw a post , that could be the broadcom chip, that its located in the flex near of the hearphones socket.
that chip, itīs an integrated that has internally , the WIFI, Bluetooth, and FM radio.
So , a few guys told that it can be heated and it works again.
So thatīs what Iīm gonna do..
 
mmarcomg
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 21
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default Re: Wifi chip on sensation? Can you change it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by charliert View Post
Iīve been reading about the wifi problem,
I have an Sensation 4G , that has a serious wifi problem, it only connects for a cuple of minutes then disconnected.
and other times, the phone restart..
I saw a post , that could be the broadcom chip, that its located in the flex near of the hearphones socket.
that chip, itīs an integrated that has internally , the WIFI, Bluetooth, and FM radio.
So , a few guys told that it can be heated and it works again.
So thatīs what Iīm gonna do..
If U do that tell us if it worked or not. . Tnx

Sent from my HTC Sensation Z710e using xda app-developers app
 
patspdaphone
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 61
Join Date: Aug 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by dladz View Post
Anyone know how to change the wifi chip on a sensation??

Mine has died, just will not turn on at all, always delivers an error, i'm looking for where it is? So if anyone knows, first hand then let me know please

Thanks.
Are you sure that it is not a problem with the wifi antenna? Maybe the contacts are not being made to the antenna on the back cover.
If it is the chip itself then you are really out of luck.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Device Review: OnePlus One

Seemingly every day, there are a bunch of new devices being released. Some are budget devices and some are … more

Browse the Internet with the Innovative Atlas Web Browser

For the most part, Chrome, Firefox, and Dolphin Browser have no real rivals among … more

Choose from Over a Thousand Battery Styles with 3Minit Battery Mod

The battery style in stock Android looks pretty dull. It doesn’t … more

Organize Your Cloud Storage Files with Unclouded

Cloud storage services like Dropbox or Google Drive have grown in popularity dramatically … more