Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Wifi chip on sensation? Can you change it?

OP dladz

29th October 2011, 04:03 AM   |  #1  
dladz's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Liverpool
Thanks Meter: 782
 
3,815 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Anyone know how to change the wifi chip on a sensation??

Mine has died, just will not turn on at all, always delivers an error, i'm looking for where it is? So if anyone knows, first hand then let me know please

Thanks.
30th October 2011, 12:25 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Taichung
Thanks Meter: 21
 
130 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
I don't think you can "change" the wifi chip...

it is integrated into the board/chipset. I think your only choice to replace the whole board.
30th October 2011, 12:39 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Caerphilly
Thanks Meter: 10
 
535 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Reflash the kernel

Sent from my HTC Sensation Z710e using XDA App
30th October 2011, 12:54 AM   |  #4  
dladz's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Liverpool
Thanks Meter: 782
 
3,815 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by atomfix

Reflash the kernel

Sent from my HTC Sensation Z710e using XDA App

Software is not the issue m8, believe me i've exhausted every option available, it can only be a hardware issue.

Changing the board would be a pain, how much do you think a new board would be??
30th October 2011, 03:29 AM   |  #5  
ste1164's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Darlington
Thanks Meter: 304
 
2,535 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Put it back to stock then send it to Htc for a replacement.
30th October 2011, 10:33 PM   |  #6  
dladz's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Liverpool
Thanks Meter: 782
 
3,815 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ste1164

Put it back to stock then send it to Htc for a replacement.

Yea i think that's the only way, problem is i got it for free from HTC haha, so it kinda doesn't have a warranty as it was given to me, so i guess we'll just see what they say.

Thanks anyway.
9th January 2013, 02:39 PM   |  #7  
matpil's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
55 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dladz

Yea i think that's the only way, problem is i got it for free from HTC haha, so it kinda doesn't have a warranty as it was given to me, so i guess we'll just see what they say.

Thanks anyway.

Do you solve this problem?
I've an HTC Sensation with the same issue...
(in settings, wifi mac address is "not available") :S

regards
25th January 2013, 09:29 PM   |  #8  
charliert's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
105 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by matpil

Do you solve this problem?
I've an HTC Sensation with the same issue...
(in settings, wifi mac address is "not available") :S

regards

Iīve been reading about the wifi problem,
I have an Sensation 4G , that has a serious wifi problem, it only connects for a cuple of minutes then disconnected.
and other times, the phone restart..
I saw a post , that could be the broadcom chip, that its located in the flex near of the hearphones socket.
that chip, itīs an integrated that has internally , the WIFI, Bluetooth, and FM radio.
So , a few guys told that it can be heated and it works again.
So thatīs what Iīm gonna do..
25th January 2013, 10:01 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Re: Wifi chip on sensation? Can you change it?
Quote:
Originally Posted by charliert

Iīve been reading about the wifi problem,
I have an Sensation 4G , that has a serious wifi problem, it only connects for a cuple of minutes then disconnected.
and other times, the phone restart..
I saw a post , that could be the broadcom chip, that its located in the flex near of the hearphones socket.
that chip, itīs an integrated that has internally , the WIFI, Bluetooth, and FM radio.
So , a few guys told that it can be heated and it works again.
So thatīs what Iīm gonna do..

If U do that tell us if it worked or not. . Tnx

Sent from my HTC Sensation Z710e using xda app-developers app
25th January 2013, 10:48 PM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by dladz

Anyone know how to change the wifi chip on a sensation??

Mine has died, just will not turn on at all, always delivers an error, i'm looking for where it is? So if anyone knows, first hand then let me know please

Thanks.

Are you sure that it is not a problem with the wifi antenna? Maybe the contacts are not being made to the antenna on the back cover.
If it is the chip itself then you are really out of luck.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes