Check Your I/O Usage with Iotop for Android

Ever needed to check the I/O usage of apps? If so, you probably tried searching for an iotop … more

T-Mobile HTC One M8 Gets Selfie-Friendly Android 4.4.4 OTA

The T-Mobie variant of HTC One (M8) just now received an over-the-air update … more

Android L is for Lockdown

Root is, without a doubt, the (un)holy grail of the Android world. Those wonderful permissions that allow you as … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: XHangouts Will Improve Your Hangouts

Ever since Google started supporting text messaging in Hangouts many people have … more
Post Reply

S4 rotation not working, Samsung app suspected to be the cause.

OP bryantjopplin

20th May 2014, 05:10 AM   |  #1  
bryantjopplin's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 301
 
679 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
I have unistalled some Samsung apps on 4.4.2 kk touchwiz and some other things, I think it might be a app that isn't letting it rotate using the sensor. Any suggestions?
20th May 2014, 06:28 AM   |  #2  
Shaftamle's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ellicott City
Thanks Meter: 3,802
 
1,703 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryantjopplin

I have unistalled some Samsung apps on 4.4.2 kk touchwiz and some other things, I think it might be a app that isn't letting it rotate using the sensor. Any suggestions?

Apps shouldn't make a difference. Check in settings to see if screen rotation is enabled. There should also be a quick toggle in the drop-down menu. Truthfully in the future, instead of on installing if you use Titanium Backup to freeze the apps then if something like this happens you can unfreeze them. Freezing is a good way to test if on installing an app would make the system run differently.

Sent from a Shaftamle Galaxy S4
"Thanks Button" is always appreciated!
http://mycolorscreen.com/Shaftamle/
The Following User Says Thank You to Shaftamle For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th May 2014, 11:30 AM   |  #3  
Mistertac's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Springfield, Ma
Thanks Meter: 1,931
 
3,760 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryantjopplin

I have unistalled some Samsung apps on 4.4.2 kk touchwiz and some other things, I think it might be a app that isn't letting it rotate using the sensor. Any suggestions?

Shaf pretty much nailed it. Always freeze first to see if you'll have any I'll effects.. Run it like that for a week or two and if all goes well still you can probably uninstall. Make a backup anyways tho.
20th May 2014, 12:58 PM   |  #4  
bryantjopplin's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 301
 
679 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Well the rotate is on, but nothing. Still can get things landscape manually.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
20th May 2014, 01:06 PM   |  #5  
Mistertac's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Springfield, Ma
Thanks Meter: 1,931
 
3,760 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryantjopplin

Well the rotate is on, but nothing. Still can get things landscape manually.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

I'm assuming you did one of the keep root and upgrade to Kit Kat methods right?

If you can't seem to fix this problem you may have to Odin back to whatever build your bootloaders on. There's been random issues poppin up for people that have done that and unless someone smarter than me chimes in with more ideas I have no other suggestions myself

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
20th May 2014, 01:53 PM   |  #6  
bryantjopplin's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 301
 
679 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mistertac

I'm assuming you did one of the keep root and upgrade to Kit Kat methods right?

If you can't seem to fix this problem you may have to Odin back to whatever build your bootloaders on. There's been random issues poppin up for people that have done that and unless someone smarter than me chimes in with more ideas I have no other suggestions myself

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

Yeah I know Reflashing the rom would work, just trying to do it without doing that. Mdk bootloader, fnc5 4.4.2 stock rooted rom.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
20th May 2014, 02:10 PM   |  #7  
Mistertac's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Springfield, Ma
Thanks Meter: 1,931
 
3,760 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryantjopplin

Yeah I know Reflashing the rom would work, just trying to do it without doing that. Mdk bootloader, fnc5 4.4.2 stock rooted rom.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

Good deal then your one of us... the lucky ones with MDK. Your good then flash away if you need to

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
20th May 2014, 02:28 PM   |  #8  
joshm.1219's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 1,428
 
3,324 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
I think it's shealth

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
20th May 2014, 03:32 PM   |  #9  
bryantjopplin's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 301
 
679 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshm.1219

I think it's shealth

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

That's what I seem to be coming to as well. Anyone have an apk that I can put in my system?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
20th May 2014, 03:35 PM   |  #10  
bryantjopplin's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 301
 
679 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
With this link is how I found this, he came to shealth and sensor service to be the main suspect, since I have sensor service still intact, I blame shealth.

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/2...en-stop-rotate

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Verizon Samsung Galaxy S 4 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank