Backup+ Lets You Backup Your App Data on Android Lollipop

Even though Android 5.0 Lollipop hasn’t yet seen its official release, quite … more

TechTalk Compiles All the Android News You Need in One App

If you’re as obsessed with mobile devices as the vast majority of our forum … more

Android App Review: Google Inbox to Improve Your Life – XDA TV

Recently, Google+ exploded with the announcement of Google Inbox, as … more

Damp the LG G3 Thermal Throttling

As our mobile devices grow thinner and more powerfulwith each passing generation, it’s inevitable … more
Post Reply

[Q] Moto E, Is it possible to revert back iswarrantyvoid: yes to no

OP abhishekgahlot007

26th May 2014, 08:16 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Hi,

Suddenly my external speaker is not working. I have to take it to customer care and afraid they will find out i have voided the warranty. Is it possible to change iswarrantyvoid: yes to no. I have already changed status code to 2 using stock rom and Device is locked.

Thanks
26th May 2014, 02:55 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
even i want to knw if u repair it in warranty then i'll go unlocking the bootloader..
26th May 2014, 06:08 PM   |  #3  
neo.ank's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 537
 
1,211 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by abhishekgahlot007

Hi,

Suddenly my external speaker is not working. I have to take it to customer care and afraid they will find out i have voided the warranty. Is it possible to change iswarrantyvoid: yes to no. I have already changed status code to 2 using stock rom and Device is locked.

Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by aliennastik

even i want to knw if u repair it in warranty then i'll go unlocking the bootloader..

The moment you request Unlock Code from Moto, your warranty is void(Unless you live in EU).They flag your IMEI and it is registered in the database.
Now, if you're lucky, the local customer care might help you (knowingly or unknowingly).

PS: That's the reason I'm gonna wait a few months before requesting a BL unlock.

Quote:

As used in this Legal Agreement and Warning, the term "Unlocked Device" means a Device for which an Unlock Code has been obtained, regardless of whether such Device's bootloader has actually been unlocked, relocked or whether such Device's software or operating system has been modified or whether it's original, unmodified software or operating system has been reloaded. In other words, once a Device's Unlock Code has been released by Motorola to User, the Device shall thereafter, for all intents and purposes, be deemed to be an Unlocked Device, irrespective of whether it was, in fact, unlocked or modified.

Last edited by neo.ank; 26th May 2014 at 06:15 PM.
27th May 2014, 08:58 AM   |  #4  
g33kparineeti's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kolkata
Thanks Meter: 273
 
397 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
More
Info 2
Nope, impossible...
You had void your warranty when you unlocked the bootloader...
Unless you brought it from EU...
27th May 2014, 12:23 PM   |  #5  
jaspreet997's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 119
 
493 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Or you can just return it to Flipkart?

Sent from my XT1033 using Tapatalk
27th May 2014, 04:05 PM   |  #6  
neo.ank's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 537
 
1,211 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
That should work. But Flipkart will send it for quality check to Moto service center and they won't pass it.

You can try though.

Sent from my XT1022 using Tapatalk
27th May 2014, 04:14 PM   |  #7  
Member
Flag Meerut
Thanks Meter: 14
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
Once the Bootloader is unlocked, a fuse inside the device is irreparably blown making the device's warranty void forever. So, No, it is impossible to revert iswarrantyvoid:no to yes. Unless a dev could write a Bootloader which doesn't scan the fuse or whatever and always displays iswarrantyvoid:yes. But Alas, why would they?

P.S Read it on the internet somewhere, not sure, the Moto G XDA Forum probably.
27th May 2014, 07:04 PM   |  #8  
neo.ank's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 537
 
1,211 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Its called an eFuse. I'm not sure if Moto E and G also have those for BL. 'Cause if the efuse is blown, it wouldn't relock.Won't matter if you reflash your stock ROM.

Sent from my XT1022 using Tapatalk
27th May 2014, 08:10 PM   |  #9  
deej_roamer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 301
 
314 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by neo.ank

Its called an eFuse. I'm not sure if Moto E and G also have those for BL. 'Cause if the efuse is blown, it wouldn't relock.Won't matter if you reflash your stock ROM.

Sent from my XT1022 using Tapatalk

Motorola calls it qFuse
28th May 2014, 07:33 AM   |  #10  
gaurav2009's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 186
 
829 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
I unlocked the bootloader then relocked and replaced the splashscreen of bootloader with moto and i returned it to flipkart,they gave my money back i got no problems

The Following User Says Thank You to gaurav2009 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Moto E Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank