Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,811,995 Members 50,216 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Possibly Bricked?

Tip us?
 
radwolf76
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Augusta, GA
Default [Q] Possibly Bricked?

So I was in the middle of flashing a Debloated JB, when TWRP just went black. Thought it was just the screen timeout, but it was non responsive to any of the buttons, except for holding down the power button, which shut it off. Now when I try to power on, I get the Samsung screen, then the TeamApexQ penguin and then black screen again.

It will not boot into recovery or into download.

If I try to go through ADB, it doesn't see the device.even thought windows does act like it's seeing something there when I try to power it on (I get the "This device can perform faster" popups)

So where do I go from here?
 
REV3NT3CH
Old
#2  
REV3NT3CH's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,933
Posts: 2,165
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Oroville

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by radwolf76 View Post
So I was in the middle of flashing a Debloated JB, when TWRP just went black. Thought it was just the screen timeout, but it was non responsive to any of the buttons, except for holding down the power button, which shut it off. Now when I try to power on, I get the Samsung screen, then the TeamApexQ penguin and then black screen again.

It will not boot into recovery or into download.

If I try to go through ADB, it doesn't see the device.even thought windows does act like it's seeing something there when I try to power it on (I get the "This device can perform faster" popups)

So where do I go from here?
can you get into download mode? if so try going back to stock with odin or heimdall....if that doesnt work you may have the dreaded battery issue....sounds odd but on my first relay battery went bad and would cause a bootloop making me think it was bricked when it was not. got a new relay and for sng's i put the battery from new one in it and it booted up just fine....this has been known to happen to other samsung devices too
☢ LG G2 ☢
Rom: [4.4.4] LiquidSmooth v3.2 Kernel: NewBeta Recovery: TWRP 2.7.1.0
☢ SGS Relay 4g ☢
Rom: [4.4.4] [Official] LiquidSmooth v3.2 Kernel: B14CKB1RD v2.2 beta Recovery:TWRP 2.7.0.0
☢ HTC ReZound ☢
HBOOT: 2.28, Unlocked, S-Off, 2.23 radios Recovery: TWRP 2.7.0.0 (Masque Of The Red Death)

Donations are never expected but are greatly appreciated
 
radwolf76
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Augusta, GA
Quote:
Originally Posted by REV3NT3CH View Post
can you get into download mode?
It will not boot into download mode.

Quote:
if that doesnt work you may have the dreaded battery issue
I have two different batteries, and the symptoms are the same with both.
 
REV3NT3CH
Old
#4  
REV3NT3CH's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,933
Posts: 2,165
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Oroville

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by radwolf76 View Post
It will not boot into download mode.



I have two different batteries, and the symptoms are the same with both.
hmmm...a download mode jig might work to get into it but cant guarantee... other than that id say your bricked as that would be the last hope. *sigh* if all else fails i may be able to replace it for you as i have a Relay with a cracked screen...but a motherboard swap would do the trick
☢ LG G2 ☢
Rom: [4.4.4] LiquidSmooth v3.2 Kernel: NewBeta Recovery: TWRP 2.7.1.0
☢ SGS Relay 4g ☢
Rom: [4.4.4] [Official] LiquidSmooth v3.2 Kernel: B14CKB1RD v2.2 beta Recovery:TWRP 2.7.0.0
☢ HTC ReZound ☢
HBOOT: 2.28, Unlocked, S-Off, 2.23 radios Recovery: TWRP 2.7.0.0 (Masque Of The Red Death)

Donations are never expected but are greatly appreciated
 
radwolf76
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Augusta, GA
Messed around with it a little more, and apparently windows is also trying and failing to install a driver when I try to power it on. So maybe the fact that ADB doesn't see it is a driver issue, but I'm not sure what to do to troubleshoot that.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes