Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Kitkat partition files

OP simon_lefisch

13th May 2014, 08:00 AM   |  #1  
simon_lefisch's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 385
 
1,397 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
I was wondering if anyone has been able to pull the partition files for kitkat? I ask because I've seen people get their phone stuck in fastboot mode and being able to flash the proper image files will help fix their probs, however the only image files I know of are for JB. I would do it myself if I knew how....
13th May 2014, 12:59 PM   |  #2  
6ril1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 154
 
226 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by simon_lefisch

I was wondering if anyone has been able to pull the partition files for kitkat? I ask because I've seen people get their phone stuck in fastboot mode and being able to flash the proper image files will help fix their probs, however the only image files I know of are for JB. I would do it myself if I knew how....

what about http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2600575 ?
The Following User Says Thank You to 6ril1 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th May 2014, 04:32 PM   |  #3  
simon_lefisch's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 385
 
1,397 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6ril1

what about http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2600575 ?

Nice, I'll look into that later today. Thank you for the link [emoji106][emoji2]
13th May 2014, 07:45 PM   |  #4  
XxZombiePikachu's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,495
 
2,538 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6ril1

what about http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2600575 ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by simon_lefisch

Nice, I'll look into that later today. Thank you for the link [emoji106][emoji2]

even though that should work for getting stock partitions it doesn't give them to you in .img except for the system/userdata&cache partitions so you would only be able to fastboot flash those three partitions, all other partitions are in .bin format and unless there is a way to convert them to .img(I haven't found a working method yet) than they won't work
The Following User Says Thank You to XxZombiePikachu For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th May 2014, 07:47 PM   |  #5  
simon_lefisch's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 385
 
1,397 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by XxZombiePikachu

even though that should work for getting stock partitions it doesn't give them to you in .img except for the system/userdata&cache partitions so you would only be able to fastboot flash those three partitions, all other partitions are in .bin format and unless there is a way to convert them to .img(I haven't found a working method yet) than they won't work

Hmm....interesting. I did not know that. Maybe I'll ask one of the devs and see if they have a solution to that. Thanks for the tip.
13th May 2014, 07:53 PM   |  #6  
XxZombiePikachu's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,495
 
2,538 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by simon_lefisch

Hmm....interesting. I did not know that. Maybe I'll ask one of the devs and see if they have a solution to that. Thanks for the tip.

yea unless you had used the tool before(I use it quite often) its not information available to public, if you figure something out keep us posted
The Following User Says Thank You to XxZombiePikachu For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th May 2014, 08:30 PM   |  #7  
6ril1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 154
 
226 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by XxZombiePikachu

even though that should work for getting stock partitions it doesn't give them to you in .img except for the system/userdata&cache partitions so you would only be able to fastboot flash those three partitions, all other partitions are in .bin format and unless there is a way to convert them to .img(I haven't found a working method yet) than they won't work

Sorry fot the noob question but renaming them with img ext doesn't work ?
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...5&postcount=35
13th May 2014, 08:42 PM   |  #8  
XxZombiePikachu's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,495
 
2,538 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6ril1

Sorry fot the noob question but renaming them with img ext doesn't work ?
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...5&postcount=35

never actually tried, but it could work(if bender says it does than it should) somebody would just need to test that theory with all the partitions, but it still doesn't allow me to explore the persist.bin renamed to .img(that contains the rct check I want to do some test with it)
26th May 2014, 09:36 PM   |  #9  
simon_lefisch's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 385
 
1,397 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by XxZombiePikachu

yea unless you had used the tool before(I use it quite often) its not information available to public, if you figure something out keep us posted

So I was able to pull all the partitions for the Verizon variant (VS980). They are currently in in .bin format. Not sure if I should change them to .img tho. Haven't tested any of the files yet so on looking to see if anyone is brave enough to try lol.
26th May 2014, 11:46 PM   |  #10  
XxZombiePikachu's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,495
 
2,538 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by simon_lefisch

So I was able to pull all the partitions for the Verizon variant (VS980). They are currently in in .bin format. Not sure if I should change them to .img tho. Haven't tested any of the files yet so on looking to see if anyone is brave enough to try lol.

Using the tool mentioned earlier you can get the system into a .img, so that you an tinker with it/I already tried with the persist.bin and rename to persist.img worked but I haven't tested anything else since I've been working on other things, otherwise anything you need to know let me know and I can test on my side

Sent from my potato d800

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes