FORUMS

New Xposed for Lollipop 5.0 Update Fixes Major Bugs

Senior Recognized Developer rovo89 has patched Xposed for Lollipop 5.0 to … more

Download Sony’s new AOSP-like concept for Xperia Z3

Over in our forums, Recognized Contributor Jozinek has posted a very … more

OnePlus 2 vs Moto X Style: Which is The Better Flagship?

Two big industry names have announced their newest flagship phones within the … more

Making Your Own Xposed Modules Is Easier Than You Think

Close to the heart of XDA is the Xposed Framework by Rovo89. Most of … more

[Q] Root/Re-Flash ONE M8

7 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By Oli Horwood, Junior Member on 29th May 2014, 06:11 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hey guys.

I got an HTC ONE M8 today, I've had a lot of android phones before (majority being samsung) and one being a Nexus 4.

I know how to root on Samsung using Odin on Windows.

But I'm not sure and don't understand how to root my phone, also I don't know how to flash a Google Play edition ROM (or a ROM which looks like Stock).

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Oli
 
 
29th May 2014, 06:18 PM |#2  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
If it helps, my software number is 1.54.401.10.
29th May 2014, 06:25 PM |#3  
dsmpampis's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 183
 
More
Take a look here How to Root the HTC One M8 (All-in-One Toolkit Me…: http://youtu.be/FOaRQoJWWDw

And if you want S-off here
How to Gain S-Off on the HTC One M8 (Firewater Me…: http://youtu.be/9WWp80tRIuA

Tapatalked with my "refrigerator look" HTC one M8
29th May 2014, 06:55 PM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I have Mac OS X though. Samsungs used to be so easy to root and flash firmware on. Why does every method seem so hard on this?
29th May 2014, 07:01 PM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I have tried to install the ADB and fastboot on my computer and every time I go to type in "fastboot oem get_identifier_tag" it just says that the fastboot command can't be found?

Please can someone help. I cannot find any way to do this on a mac computer.
29th May 2014, 08:12 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,095
 
More
locate fastboot
Should tell you where fastboot is installed. I guess it's not in your path.
29th May 2014, 08:12 PM |#7  
Member
Nottingham
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Have you followed the instructions for unlocking boot loader on HTC dev site I suggest using the all in one toolkit as mentioned

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Free mobile app
Last edited by paul chambers; 29th May 2014 at 08:15 PM.
29th May 2014, 11:24 PM |#8  
ashyx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 755
 
More
If I were you I'd stop right now before you do something you might regret until you have enough know how to carry on. Why do you want to flash another Rom so soon? Sense 6 is pretty good.
To use fastboot or adb run the command from the same folder as the binary .
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes