Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,802,957 Members 38,657 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Trying to root a Samsung Tab 8.0

Tip us?
 
c_#
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Apr 2010
Default [Q] Trying to root a Samsung Tab 8.0

I have followed the instructions for rooting using ODIN309 and 'samsung tab 8\Odin309\CF-Auto-Root-kona3g-kona3gxx-gtn5100.tar.md5' with no sucesss

<OSM> Please wait..
<OSM> CF-Auto-Root-kona3g-kona3gxx-gtn5100.tar.md5 is valid.
<OSM> Checking MD5 finished Sucessfully..
<OSM> Leave CS..
<OSM> All threads completed. (succeed 0 / failed 0)
<OSM> All threads completed. (succeed 0 / failed 0)

the product name on the boot screen is GT-5118. Do I need to wait for the proper .md5 file to be available?

Bought from Amazon, still returnable.

Thanks in advance.
 
Vaibhav Chauhan
Old
#2  
Vaibhav Chauhan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 133
Posts: 757
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Dahod, Gujarat
Quote:
Originally Posted by c_# View Post
I have followed the instructions for rooting using ODIN309 and 'samsung tab 8\Odin309\CF-Auto-Root-kona3g-kona3gxx-gtn5100.tar.md5' with no sucesss

<OSM> Please wait..
<OSM> CF-Auto-Root-kona3g-kona3gxx-gtn5100.tar.md5 is valid.
<OSM> Checking MD5 finished Sucessfully..
<OSM> Leave CS..
<OSM> All threads completed. (succeed 0 / failed 0)
<OSM> All threads completed. (succeed 0 / failed 0)

the product name on the boot screen is GT-5118. Do I need to wait for the proper .md5 file to be available?

Bought from Amazon, still returnable.

Thanks in advance.
it will be not returnable if you flash something
it will void your warrenty
PHONE;- Samsung galaxy s duos gt-s7562
OS:- Android ICS 4.0.4
BASEBAND VERSION:- S7562DDBMJ1
BUILD NO:- IMM76I.S7562XXBMJ1

Guides by me

...PRESS THANKS IF I HELP YOU...
.
 
es0tericcha0s
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 513
Posts: 2,687
Join Date: May 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Are you certain that this is an actual Samsung device? There are some pretty convincing knock-offs out there. GT-5118 isn't a normal Tab 8.0 model number.
Need some help, advice, something fixed? Hit me up on Hangouts @ es0tericcha0s
Now offering unlocking services - including many Sprint phone unlocks! PM for details!

HTC Droid Eris / Motorola Droid / Samsung Galaxy S Fascinate / Motorola Droid X / LG G2x / HTC Evo 3D (x2) / Samsung Epic 4G Touch (Sprint S2) / HTC Amaze / Samsung Galaxy S3 (International) / Samsung Galaxy Note 2 / Nexus 4 / HTC One / Samsung Galaxy S4 / Sony Xperia ZL / Nexus 5 / OnePlus One (64 GB)
 
c_#
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Apr 2010
I followed the instructions in his thread, I wonder if Samsung came out with a new OS update to prevent his root.
 
es0tericcha0s
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 513
Posts: 2,687
Join Date: May 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by c_# View Post
I followed the instructions in his thread, I wonder if Samsung came out with a new OS update to prevent his root.
Why don't you post the info in Settings / About Device so we can tell if it's an option. It worries me that you are following guides without knowing what model you have. That's an inherently dangerous game to play.
Need some help, advice, something fixed? Hit me up on Hangouts @ es0tericcha0s
Now offering unlocking services - including many Sprint phone unlocks! PM for details!

HTC Droid Eris / Motorola Droid / Samsung Galaxy S Fascinate / Motorola Droid X / LG G2x / HTC Evo 3D (x2) / Samsung Epic 4G Touch (Sprint S2) / HTC Amaze / Samsung Galaxy S3 (International) / Samsung Galaxy Note 2 / Nexus 4 / HTC One / Samsung Galaxy S4 / Sony Xperia ZL / Nexus 5 / OnePlus One (64 GB)
 
c_#
Old
(Last edited by c_#; 26th May 2014 at 09:24 PM.) Reason: pics
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Apr 2010
Default sorry for the delay....

Quote:
Originally Posted by es0tericcha0s View Post
Why don't you post the info in Settings / About Device so we can tell if it's an option. It worries me that you are following guides without knowing what model you have. That's an inherently dangerous game to play.
I have two pics for you to look at...

I posted the odd number (product name on the boot screen is GT-5118). I don't know if this help the possibilities or not.

Again thanks to all for your help
 
c_#
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by es0tericcha0s View Post
Why don't you post the info in Settings / About Device so we can tell if it's an option. It worries me that you are following guides without knowing what model you have. That's an inherently dangerous game to play.

settting about device gt-n5110
and ver 4.2.2
kernel version 3.01-1475545
se.infra@ro3o2-04 # 1
Mon Sep 16 19:33:55kst 2013
build num - jdq39.n5110ouefmi1
 
es0tericcha0s
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 513
Posts: 2,687
Join Date: May 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Looks like you used the wrong file then. Yours should be the wifi only model and you were trying to use the one that has cellular data.


http://download.chainfire.eu/318/CF-...xx-gtn5110.zip
Need some help, advice, something fixed? Hit me up on Hangouts @ es0tericcha0s
Now offering unlocking services - including many Sprint phone unlocks! PM for details!

HTC Droid Eris / Motorola Droid / Samsung Galaxy S Fascinate / Motorola Droid X / LG G2x / HTC Evo 3D (x2) / Samsung Epic 4G Touch (Sprint S2) / HTC Amaze / Samsung Galaxy S3 (International) / Samsung Galaxy Note 2 / Nexus 4 / HTC One / Samsung Galaxy S4 / Sony Xperia ZL / Nexus 5 / OnePlus One (64 GB)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes