Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Using the secondary mic for phone calls

OP maayuur

1st May 2014, 02:29 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Hello Folks,

I have an HTC One with a faulty primary mic, I have concluded it to be a hardware problem because its condition is the same after installing various different custom ROMs (the mic became faulty while on the stock ROM). I am using Viper ROM at the moment.

Now, with this problem, I have to use the mic from my earphones everytime I make a call. I am mostly OK with that, but I am trying to find ways where I should be able to use it without external mic in case I forget to carry my earphones/mic with me.

I was running the HTC Function Test the other day and discovered that my device comes with a secondary mic at the back of the phone, which works absolutely fine when I tested it. The recording (while holding as if I was talking on the phone) and playback from that mic was perfect. It would be really useful if I could either make it my primary microphone (calls, recordings, etc.) or atleast use it for phone calls. I don't know if there is a way from the hardware perspective, but I am quite sure we could do it by changing properties from within the build.

This is my first ever question, and I am counting on this community for the solution.

Cheers!
1st May 2014, 02:56 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 98
 
595 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Not sure if it's possible. But if it's under warranty still why not get it fixed?

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
1st May 2014, 04:28 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by nateboi81

Not sure if it's possible. But if it's under warranty still why not get it fixed?

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Thanks nateboi81, but it's not in warranty anymore... I'd actually be interested to find it's spare part which has the mic to replace it myself.
1st May 2014, 05:07 PM   |  #4  
djason89's Avatar
Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 36
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
The primary mic seems to get clogged very easily with dust. I've read a few threads in the past where people thought their mic's were defective but after cleaning out the hole, the mic was working fine again.
1st May 2014, 05:24 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by djason89

The primary mic seems to get clogged very easily with dust. I've read a few threads in the past where people thought their mic's were defective but after cleaning out the hole, the mic was working fine again.

That's exactly what I had thought as well, so instead of poking toothpicks into the mic hole, I disassembled my phone, took the mic out, looked at it, cleaned it carefully, assembled my phone back, started it all up... and it just didn't make any difference at all.
2nd May 2014, 12:33 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 98
 
595 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
I got chocolate clogged in mine after Easter

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
27th May 2014, 05:40 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Just to update the thread with the latest...

I ordered the spare via www/parts4repair/com and replaced it. The new microphone works perfectly well. Problem sorted

Cheers!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes