FORUMS

Nexus & Cookies: A More Focused Direction?

It is that time of the year again, and we are approaching the day where Android fans all over … more

LG G4 US Carrier Release Dates

The LG G4 was announced on April 29th with its Snapdragon 808 SoC, a welcomed change from its higher-end … more

Microsoft Reaches Pre-Install Agreement With New OEMs

As of late, Microsoft has been making a subtle but widespread play into the … more

Discover XDA: Discover Greater

We’ve all been there at some point in our XDA lives; we used to spend hours browsing over the … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] WIFI timer not working since 4.3 update

15th November 2013, 10:30 PM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Liverpool
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
When i was using 4.2.2 the wifi timer worked fine, i had it set to come on at a certain time and off, and it worked fine

Since updating to 4.3 i have set the same timer again (as i done a clean install of 4.3) and now every time it gets to the on time, i get a notification saying the wifi timer has started but the wifi it's self doesn't come on, when i look at my short cut tabs at the top the wifi one if off, even after the wifi timer says its started.

is this a known issue?

James
 
 
16th November 2013, 03:28 AM |#2  
maanz "L"'s Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag singapore
Thanks Meter: 771
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by james_lpool

When i was using 4.2.2 the wifi timer worked fine, i had it set to come on at a certain time and off, and it worked fine

Since updating to 4.3 i have set the same timer again (as i done a clean install of 4.3) and now every time it gets to the on time, i get a notification saying the wifi timer has started but the wifi it's self doesn't come on, when i look at my short cut tabs at the top the wifi one if off, even after the wifi timer says its started.

is this a known issue?

James

Hi.
I don't think this a known issue.
I'm using it myself and it works good in 4.2 and 4.3.
Does yr WIFI on yr device working without the timer?
16th November 2013, 09:39 AM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Liverpool
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Yes the Wi-Fi is working fine when I put it in myself, the timer just doesn't seem to be working in my phone, when it gets to the on time, I get a notification saying that the timer has come on but when I bring the notification bar down the Wi-Fi isn't turned on.
16th November 2013, 10:41 AM |#4  
maanz "L"'s Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag singapore
Thanks Meter: 771
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by james_lpool

Yes the Wi-Fi is working fine when I put it in myself, the timer just doesn't seem to be working in my phone, when it gets to the on time, I get a notification saying that the timer has come on but when I bring the notification bar down the Wi-Fi isn't turned on.

Strange..
U might want to re-install the firmware again.
Make sure to do clean wipe, wipe cache partition and wipe dalvik cache before reinstalling.
Other that that, some 3rd party apps u had installed might have prevented the WIFI timer to be activated (some apps are poorly made by the developers).
This is all I can I think of.
Hope that this may help u.
16th November 2013, 11:34 AM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Liverpool
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by maanz "L"

Strange..
U might want to re-install the firmware again.
Make sure to do clean wipe, wipe cache partition and wipe dalvik cache before reinstalling.
Other that that, some 3rd party apps u had installed might have prevented the WIFI timer to be activated (some apps are poorly made by the developers).
This is all I can I think of.
Hope that this may help u.

thanks for your replies, ive done a bit more testing with it and have found that if i have my phone on when the timer comes on then the wifi does connect, its when the flip case is closed and the phone screen is off it doesnt seem to come on.

also i have also found that everytime the timer comes on i get a security message saying an application attempted to access system on your device, this has been blocked..

the wifi timer is the built in one though and not a 3rd part app, so not sure why thats saying that.
16th November 2013, 12:14 PM |#6  
maanz "L"'s Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag singapore
Thanks Meter: 771
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by james_lpool

thanks for your replies, ive done a bit more testing with it and have found that if i have my phone on when the timer comes on then the wifi does connect, its when the flip case is closed and the phone screen is off it doesnt seem to come on.

also i have also found that everytime the timer comes on i get a security message saying an application attempted to access system on your device, this has been blocked..

the wifi timer is the built in one though and not a 3rd part app, so not sure why thats saying that.

Ok, that is normal when the screen is off, mate..

I read somewhere here that the security message is kinda bug by Samsung...
btw, are u using the original firmware?
If so, u will get that message.
16th November 2013, 12:38 PM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Flag Liverpool
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Yes I'm using the original non rooted Rom, when I was 4.2.2 my Wi-Fi would also come on by timer even if the screen was off, that's why I was confused by it not coming on in 4.3

When in 4.2 I was using a rooted version, but decided to go official with 4.3
16th November 2013, 09:13 PM |#8  
OP Senior Member
Flag Liverpool
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
if i download the original fw and reinstall it with odin, will it wipe my apps / settings or will it keep them the same?
17th November 2013, 03:35 AM |#9  
maanz "L"'s Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag singapore
Thanks Meter: 771
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by james_lpool

if i download the original fw and reinstall it with odin, will it wipe my apps / settings or will it keep them the same?

Yes..
17th November 2013, 10:46 AM |#10  
OP Senior Member
Flag Liverpool
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by maanz "L"

Yes..

Lol yes to which part of your answer?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes