Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

HTC TyTN - Replace your blackberry!

OP Ice Blade

9th September 2006, 05:28 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
DC
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2006
I'll admit, I take a lot of good info from these boards and am usually far too busy to post. But this time I feel I have something great to share.

I bought a TyTN the other day...got here Wednesday. I was sick so I didn't start to play much with it until today.

Let me just set the tone here: I HAVE BEEN TRYING TO GET AROUND MY CORPORATE IT DEPARTMENT FOR YEARS. FIRST I GOT MY SPRINT TREO TO GET BLACKBERRY EMAILS, BUT NOT TRUE PUSH...THEN I GAVE UP FOR A WHILE AND USED A SPRINT 7250...but BB's are A WASTE, LESS FUNCTIONAL, and just a POOR CHOICE for today's mobile professional.

Now I have found today: The HTC TyTN can VERY EASILY be made into a corporate BES-connected Blackberry if you so desire, and conencted to YOUR CURRENT corporate BES account, without their intervention! I have done this with my Sprint 7250 BB account, and done it back and forth all day from T-mo to Cingular (Cingular wins out because of 3G of course...gotta have good slingbox when I can!)

All you need is a 'blackberry enabled SIM card' (really, just add the unlimited BES ENABLED (NOT THE "PERSONAL") blackberry plan to T-mo or Cingular) and a corporate BES account (that you haven't been able to touch for years, LOCKING you to a USELESS paperweight of a dumb-phone!) I know some others were lucky enough to have a Cingular SIM card in their corporate BB already and this wasn't a big deal. But I was not and I see many other are having trouble starting out with with non-Cingular blackberry devices. So check out how I ended up getting my way, finally after 4 years!

0) Insert (or go buy) a personal, non-blackberry-enabled Cingular (3G) SIM card. You should be able to surf for UMTS/HSDPA data and all that...

1) Install BBConnectr_PocketPC_BB_2.1.2.16 on the HTC TyTN.

2) Install Activesync2.1.1.9 for mobile on the desktop.

3) Connect the HTC to the computer via USB, then open PC's Activesync 2.1.1.9. You will be asked if you want to change your PIN -- say YES! (you can always go back. Remember, it DOES NOT MATTER what service your BB is CURRENTLY through...we are going to make it through Cingular for you here in a second!)

4) Call Cingular and have them add the unlimited $49.95 blackberry plan, assumedly on top of your unlimited data plan. While I was willing to pay $145 a month to have everything in one device, just to spite my corporate IT department, here's the catch: They will come back and say you can't have both! Take the Unlimited blackberry plan (which will allow the PocketPC BB Connect software you installed to get through Cingular's network to "blackberry.net" So Instead of $40 for unlimited data, $10 more is getting my (and i have tested it) 3G data and blackberry.net access!

From there, you should be good like me.

I'm still figuring out the nuances, like how to minimize down-time after web surfing for BB connect to get back 'connected' again. I suspect in an all-3G area (in which i am NOT), this may not be an issue.

I have placed the updated, verified as working (on both T-mo and Cingular) versions of Activesync2.1.1.9 and BBConnect_PocketPC_BB_2.1.2.16 in the "upload" directory of the web site. (as well as the 2.1 manual) That is /Hermes/Tools_and_Programs. Hopefully it gets moved over soon.

Keep on rocking everyone -- we are forging new capabilities together that make our lives easier, more fun, and more convenient!

Love and bruises,

Greg
9th September 2006, 04:02 PM   |  #2  
Sleuth255's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator
Flag Milwaukee
Thanks Meter: 39
 
3,543 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
More
It's your IT group that's at fault btw... I'm the technology guy for our IT group and we're getting rid of the BES and switching to direct push instead. Why? Tell your IT dept this: a BES places a 50% higher IO load on your Exchange server :shock:. This is because it must scan all blackberry enabled mailboxes every second or so looking for changes!

Now that devices like the Q have the MSFP, our execs have a nice alternative to their 8700s.

I've also installed LCS 2K5 with an Access Proxy and we are now all moving to Mobile Communicator for IM. This is a great little program that also gateways to AIM and Yahoo.

I believe IT should empower their users with technology, not be a bunch of Nazis.....
10th September 2006, 10:09 PM   |  #3  
pof's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Barcelona
Thanks Meter: 66
 
3,571 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2005
Donate to Me
Files (safe) moved here:

ftp://xda:xda@ftp.xda-developers.com...Berry_Connect/

Could you please point out what is the difference between your uploads and the file here?

ftp://xda:xda@ftp.xda-developers.com...ect_Client.zip

Thanks!
11th September 2006, 12:03 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
UK
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2005
Bb Connect
Just a quick one on this has anyone tried this on a XDA Exec on orange??
11th September 2006, 02:19 AM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
59 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2006
More
BAH ! ! !

Tytn has more functions, but isn't nearly as good of a phone - especially for someone who spends a lot of time driving
11th September 2006, 02:54 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
227 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyeric

BAH ! ! !

Tytn has more functions, but isn't nearly as good of a phone - especially for someone who spends a lot of time driving

Mate .. you need a bluetooth headset on your TyTN!!! :idea: And you should not drive anyways while talking on your phone :wink:
11th September 2006, 02:05 PM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
59 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2006
More
touche'
11th September 2006, 02:34 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
227 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyeric

touche'

Sorry .. couldn't resist myself. :lol:
11th September 2006, 07:48 PM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
69 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2006
even though this doesnt belong in this forum i figured you guys would know. do cingular blackberrys (the 8700) work on the new 3g network? and can u install AIM (a version that does not use text messages)?
13th September 2006, 01:21 AM   |  #10  
jsp_m's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Zagreb
Thanks Meter: 1
 
299 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2006
More
Just tested TyTN with BIS and BES solutions, all works fine!!!

Messages are coming through UMTS channel where UMTS signal is available!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes