Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Recovery Help

OP gpo1956

25th May 2014, 12:58 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Russellville, Ar USA
Thanks Meter: 47
 
315 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
I've done some searches and am at a loss. I am on Insertcoin 2.8. I upgraded TWRP to 2.7 and now it won't enter into recovery. It gets to the screen that has "Entering recovery" at the top, but it just stalls there and I have to press the power button until it restarts. I've tried using Flashify and Goomanager to re-install, but it just hangs up at the entering recovery page. Any help or links would be aprreciated.
25th May 2014, 01:20 AM   |  #2  
Member
Flag Dearborn, MI
Thanks Meter: 2
 
58 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
A quick fix try installing a 2.6 version of twrp.
25th May 2014, 01:24 AM   |  #3  
Egrier's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hiawatha, KS
Thanks Meter: 241
 
1,032 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
Try and boot into the bootloader, do a fastboot erase cache and then reboot into recovery and see if it works.

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
25th May 2014, 03:39 PM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Flag Russellville, Ar USA
Thanks Meter: 47
 
315 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Egrier

Try and boot into the bootloader, do a fastboot erase cache and then reboot into recovery and see if it works.

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk

I've never done that before. Can you suggest where I might find a link or a video? Thanks!
25th May 2014, 05:14 PM   |  #5  
Egrier's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hiawatha, KS
Thanks Meter: 241
 
1,032 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
You have to have adb/fastboot on your computer. Boot your phone into bootloader. Hook it up to the computer and make sure the phone says 'fastboot usb'. Browse to where you have adb installed on the computer and open up a command prompt there. At the prompt, type in 'fastboot erase cache'. Then type in 'fastboot reboot-bootloader'. When your phone comes back up, try and get into recovery again.

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
25th May 2014, 05:56 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Flag Russellville, Ar USA
Thanks Meter: 47
 
315 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Egrier

You have to have adb/fastboot on your computer. Boot your phone into bootloader. Hook it up to the computer and make sure the phone says 'fastboot usb'. Browse to where you have adb installed on the computer and open up a command prompt there. At the prompt, type in 'fastboot erase cache'. Then type in 'fastboot reboot-bootloader'. When your phone comes back up, try and get into recovery again.

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk

Thank you very much! I'll give it a try.
25th May 2014, 06:09 PM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Flag Russellville, Ar USA
Thanks Meter: 47
 
315 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gpo1956

Thank you very much! I'll give it a try.

I tried this and it says "fastboot is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file". What am I doing wrong?
25th May 2014, 06:14 PM   |  #8  
Egrier's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hiawatha, KS
Thanks Meter: 241
 
1,032 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
Do you have adb installed on your computer?

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
26th May 2014, 12:14 AM   |  #9  
OP Senior Member
Flag Russellville, Ar USA
Thanks Meter: 47
 
315 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Egrier

Do you have adb installed on your computer?

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk

yes
26th May 2014, 12:26 AM   |  #10  
Egrier's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hiawatha, KS
Thanks Meter: 241
 
1,032 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
Did you get it to work?

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 05:26 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:22 PM ----------

Did you go to the folder with you adb files, shift+right click the folder that contains the adb files and select 'open command prompt here' then try the fastboot erase cache command?

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes