Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,770,749 Members 40,345 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Recovery Help

Tip us?
 
gpo1956
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 47
Posts: 312
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Russellville, Ar USA
Default Recovery Help

I've done some searches and am at a loss. I am on Insertcoin 2.8. I upgraded TWRP to 2.7 and now it won't enter into recovery. It gets to the screen that has "Entering recovery" at the top, but it just stalls there and I have to press the power button until it restarts. I've tried using Flashify and Goomanager to re-install, but it just hangs up at the entering recovery page. Any help or links would be aprreciated.
 
gazment
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 58
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Dearborn, MI
A quick fix try installing a 2.6 version of twrp.
HTC One M7
 
Egrier
Old
#3  
Egrier's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 240
Posts: 1,016
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Hiawatha, KS
Try and boot into the bootloader, do a fastboot erase cache and then reboot into recovery and see if it works.

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
Phone: AT&T HTC One (M7)
ROMS: AT&T Sense 6 M7 Developer Edition


If I have helped you in any way please hit the Thanks button.
 
gpo1956
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 47
Posts: 312
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Russellville, Ar USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Egrier View Post
Try and boot into the bootloader, do a fastboot erase cache and then reboot into recovery and see if it works.

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
I've never done that before. Can you suggest where I might find a link or a video? Thanks!
 
Egrier
Old
#5  
Egrier's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 240
Posts: 1,016
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Hiawatha, KS
You have to have adb/fastboot on your computer. Boot your phone into bootloader. Hook it up to the computer and make sure the phone says 'fastboot usb'. Browse to where you have adb installed on the computer and open up a command prompt there. At the prompt, type in 'fastboot erase cache'. Then type in 'fastboot reboot-bootloader'. When your phone comes back up, try and get into recovery again.

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
Phone: AT&T HTC One (M7)
ROMS: AT&T Sense 6 M7 Developer Edition


If I have helped you in any way please hit the Thanks button.
 
gpo1956
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 47
Posts: 312
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Russellville, Ar USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Egrier View Post
You have to have adb/fastboot on your computer. Boot your phone into bootloader. Hook it up to the computer and make sure the phone says 'fastboot usb'. Browse to where you have adb installed on the computer and open up a command prompt there. At the prompt, type in 'fastboot erase cache'. Then type in 'fastboot reboot-bootloader'. When your phone comes back up, try and get into recovery again.

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
Thank you very much! I'll give it a try.
 
gpo1956
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 47
Posts: 312
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Russellville, Ar USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by gpo1956 View Post
Thank you very much! I'll give it a try.
I tried this and it says "fastboot is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file". What am I doing wrong?
 
Egrier
Old
#8  
Egrier's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 240
Posts: 1,016
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Hiawatha, KS
Do you have adb installed on your computer?

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
Phone: AT&T HTC One (M7)
ROMS: AT&T Sense 6 M7 Developer Edition


If I have helped you in any way please hit the Thanks button.
 
gpo1956
Old
#9  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 47
Posts: 312
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Russellville, Ar USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Egrier View Post
Do you have adb installed on your computer?

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
yes
 
Egrier
Old
#10  
Egrier's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 240
Posts: 1,016
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Hiawatha, KS
Did you get it to work?

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 05:26 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:22 PM ----------

Did you go to the folder with you adb files, shift+right click the folder that contains the adb files and select 'open command prompt here' then try the fastboot erase cache command?

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
Phone: AT&T HTC One (M7)
ROMS: AT&T Sense 6 M7 Developer Edition


If I have helped you in any way please hit the Thanks button.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes