Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,332 Members 52,224 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

FAT32 partition can't be mounted (LG L3)

Tip us?
 
dxage
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jan 2013
Default FAT32 partition can't be mounted (LG L3)

After partitioning SD card in FAT32 (1st partition, primary) and EXT2(2nd partition, primary) android system can't mount FAT32 partition. Notification area displays error message: "Empty external SD card: external SD card empty or file system..."

Link2SD's script is mounting EXT2 partition and I can link apps to it.

Tried following command through ADB shell which mounted FAT32 partition (it was visible to file manager and could be used), but the change was not noticed by android (notification area still displays the error message) and I has to be typed in after every reboot:

mount -rw -t vfat -o umask=0000 /dev/block/mmcblk1p2 <mountpoint> (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...2023&nocache=1)

Any idea how to solve this?
 
yayakuya
Old
#2  
yayakuya's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1568
Posts: 1,005
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: C:\Earth\Asia\Indonesia\Tangerang

 
DONATE TO ME
reformat your sdcard n try this partitions;
- FAT > primary > as minimum = 7Mb
- EXT2 > primary > as you needs
- FAT32 > primary > as remains size

idk idea what for that FAT partition, but that's all what you need to work on stock...
good luck then
 
PM Me for all my works will not Replied!!!
Post your comments nor questions in specified Thread, THANKS

ALL MY WORKS 4 XPERIA E/ Xperia Devices
ALL MY WORKS 4 LG E400

Indonesian Developer
from Indonesia for all over the world
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to yayakuya For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
dxage
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by yayakuya View Post
reformat your sdcard n try this partitions;
- FAT > primary > as minimum = 7Mb
- EXT2 > primary > as you needs
- FAT32 > primary > as remains size

idk idea what for that FAT partition, but that's all what you need to work on stock...
good luck then
Thanks for answering, I didn't try it yet because it's lot of work..
 
X_man_95
Old
#4  
X_man_95's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 159
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NIs
Video tutorial

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f7qzp-jn3XA
The Following User Says Thank You to X_man_95 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
dxage
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jan 2013
Thanks, although I know how to partition SD card. I'm just lazy to do it because my phone is all set up the way I like.
 
FlowUK
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 71
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by dxage View Post
Thanks, although I know how to partition SD card. I'm just lazy to do it because my phone is all set up the way I like.
I waited to do mine when it was time to flash the latest cm update.. since my phone will be connect to the pc.I can quickly back up my files as well as put the new update on my external sd.
 
Runcajs
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by yayakuya View Post
reformat your sdcard n try this partitions;
- FAT > primary > as minimum = 7Mb
- EXT2 > primary > as you needs
- FAT32 > primary > as remains size

idk idea what for that FAT partition, but that's all what you need to work on stock...
good luck then
Today I tried your idea, but problem with sd card is not solve

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes