Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[ROM][AOSP] S4 Google Edition [SafeStrap]

OP jmsq

30th May 2014, 12:04 AM   |  #1  
jmsq's Avatar
OP Member
Flag West Lafayette
Thanks Meter: 127
 
54 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
More
Hi all,

After discovering the terrible mistake I made buying an AT&T S4 with a non-unlockable bootloader, I looked for any way to run an AOSP/GPE rom on this phone with Safestrap. It looks like I've finally gotten it into a decent state for my personal use so I thought I'd share.

The ROM is based on [AOSP] Official 4.4.3 - S4 Google Edition - Final-R2.0 and nearly all of the credit goes to them for making a GPE rom that actually boots with our kernel. The only changes I've made are ripping out the kernel for safestrap, installing a wrapper script for the sdcard binary, and some post_boot init script additions to properly load the WiFi module. For wifi to work, you need your stock kernel's modules installed after the ROM, specifically dhd.ko, to /system/lib/modules.

If you'd like to enable Nexus-style software buttons and disable the hardware capacitive buttons, see this thread for instructions: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2032117. You can disable the capacitive button lights with GravityBox.

Warning:
Do NOT take OTA updates with this rom. Doing so could break the rom, or in the worst case trip Knox, which would void your warranty. I'll do my best to update the rom to the latest version as soon as possible.

What works:
Internal/external storage
WiFi (may not come up every boot, a soft reboot usually fixes)
USB debugging
USB internet tethering
Paid apps from Play Store (see workaround below)
Chrome (see workaround below)
Google Earth (remove from /system/app and reinstall from Play store)
IPv6 APN (for compatible carriers such as T-Mobile)
Almost everything else

In progress:
WiFi Tethering (see: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=662)

What doesn't work:
USB MTP (due to kernel differences)

AT&T Install Instructions:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=53758259

Verizon Install Instructions:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/gala...ition-t2817708

Download:
4.4.2: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0ByC...XA2dW1naGtsR2s
4.4.3: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0ByC...XFTdnpYSmxyZHM

Update:
4.4.4: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0ByC...E02ZlJRQkgxTWM (requires 4.4.3)

Lollipop/5.0:
The 5.0.0 OTA for the real S4 GPE came out today, so I tried adapting it like the 4.4.4 update. Unfortunately and not surprisingly, it failed to boot. This probably means we need to wait for AT&T's 5.0 TW update to get a compatible kernel to make 5.0 GPE work

FAQ:
WiFi isn't working: Do a soft reset with the GravityBox Power Menu or the Xposed Installer.

USB Transfer not working: Use Airdroid, FTPServer, or adb push/pull.

Paid apps won't install: See workaround below.

Chrome force closes on new tab: See workaround below.

Paid Apps & Chrome Workaround:
Install SELinux Mode Changer and set SELinux to permissive.
Last edited by jmsq; 13th December 2014 at 09:08 AM. Reason: lollipop info
The Following 59 Users Say Thank You to jmsq For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th May 2014, 06:02 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag cville
Thanks Meter: 47
 
126 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Thanks
30th May 2014, 02:28 PM   |  #3  
netomel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 92
 
454 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmsq

Hi all,

After discovering the terrible mistake I made buying an AT&T S4 with a non-unlockable bootloader, I looked for any way to run an AOSP/GPE rom on this phone with Safestrap. It looks like I've finally gotten it into a decent state for my personal use so I thought I'd share.

The ROM is based on [AOSP] Official 4.4.2 - S4 Google Edition - Final-R1.2 and nearly all of the credit goes to them for making a GPE rom that actually boots with our kernel. The only changes I've made are ripping out the kernel for safestrap, installing a wrapper script for the sdcard binary, and some post_boot init script additions to properly load the WiFi module.

What works:
Internal/external storage
WiFi
Almost everything else

What doesn't work:
Chrome
USB MTP (debugging does work though)
Some apps fail to install from the Play store

I apologize that this is in the wrong category but I don't post often so I can't post to the dev section.

Download:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0ByC...XA2dW1naGtsR2s

You know more than I do. Is it really AOSP because devs here say it's imposible to flash any rom besides TW based roms on our phones due to the boot loader issue.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
30th May 2014, 03:51 PM   |  #4  
DeadlySin9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 652
 
1,310 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by netomel

You know more than I do. Is it really AOSP because devs here say it's imposible to flash any rom besides TW based roms on our phones due to the boot loader issue.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

It's been known that GPE ROMs will boot on our stock kernel. It just never entirely worked right, with no Wi-Fi and USB and other issues. While on MF3 you could boot one, on MK2 you couldn't run 4.3 GPE however, and certain 4.4.2 GPE has "worked" with those issues. This is because they are built with a kernel close to stock. So basically, GPE's are an exception but require extra development that nobody really wanted to take on until now apparently.

Sent from my SGH-I337 running Light ROM
The Following User Says Thank You to DeadlySin9 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th May 2014, 05:17 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Talking
Really cool! it boots great on my safestrap Verizon s4!! @jmsq can you rebuild latest verizon GE to make it works with safestrap? from this thread http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2643031 or another AOSP rom? Thanks for your work

Edit: after first reboot wifi doesn't works
Last edited by Penz89; 30th May 2014 at 06:52 PM.
30th May 2014, 07:04 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Baton Rouge
Thanks Meter: 35
 
102 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Boots us fine. Working well so far.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-05-30-11-46-02.jpg
Views:	2721
Size:	71.1 KB
ID:	2771487   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-05-30-11-45-32.jpg
Views:	2611
Size:	107.5 KB
ID:	2771488   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-05-30-11-42-18.jpg
Views:	2729
Size:	154.0 KB
ID:	2771489   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-05-30-11-41-42.jpg
Views:	2634
Size:	100.7 KB
ID:	2771490  
30th May 2014, 08:18 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thr33-F0ur

Boots us fine. Working well so far.

so does your wifi works after a reboot?
30th May 2014, 10:18 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Baton Rouge
Thanks Meter: 35
 
102 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Penz89

so does your wifi works after a reboot?

I just tried to flash SuperSU to get root, and wifi was broken, so I guess the reboot did it.
30th May 2014, 11:52 PM   |  #9  
Rhymey's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
More
Does this already have root, or should I flash SuperSU while I'm flashing this? Any issues with dirty flashing or should I do a nandroid backup and wipe?

Also, for anyone having WiFi issues, probably try flashing this: NC1 wifi modules. No idea on any fixes for MTP, which is unfortunate as I use MTP a lot
31st May 2014, 12:19 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Baton Rouge
Thanks Meter: 35
 
102 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhymey

Does this already have root, or should I flash SuperSU while I'm flashing this? Any issues with dirty flashing or should I do a nandroid backup and wipe?

Also, for anyone having WiFi issues, probably try flashing this: NC1 wifi modules. No idea on any fixes for MTP, which is unfortunate as I use MTP a lot

You have to flash SuperSU. I haven't tried a dirty flash since I was coming from 4.3.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes