Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] What recovery image will work here

OP jta

26th May 2014, 05:10 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Birmingham, Alabama
Thanks Meter: 5
 
91 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2003
More
I cannot seem to flash anything on my bricked phone.
I feel that IF I can get the correct recovery image, I may be able to get this phone to work again.
Here is the current bootloader information and GetVar all output.
I am also having trouble unlocking (re-unlocking) I think that the splash screen it needs is missing. I don't know where it lives, maybe in HBOOT? Hmm, maybe I need an HBOOT image as well?
NOTE: I DID post previously about this, but I am simplifying my request... in the hopes that someone can help.

Code:
(bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 1.54.0000
(bootloader) version-baseband: 4T.21.3218.21
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main: 3.58.1700.5
(bootloader) version-misc: PVT SHIP S-ON
(bootloader) serialno: HT**********
(bootloader) imei: ***************
(bootloader) meid: 00000000000000
(bootloader) product: m7_ul
(bootloader) platform: HBOOT-8064
(bootloader) modelid: PN0712000
(bootloader) cidnum: CWS__001
(bootloader) battery-status: good
(bootloader) battery-voltage: 4253mV
(bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
(bootloader) security: on
(bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
(bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT
(bootloader) commitno-bootloader: dirty-5d4c562c
(bootloader) hbootpreupdate: 11
(bootloader) gencheckpt: 0
all: Done!
Any guidance will be greatly appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	HTC_One_M7_fastboot_resize.jpg
Views:	138
Size:	112.0 KB
ID:	2764156  
26th May 2014, 05:32 PM   |  #2  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Central Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,262
 
4,596 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jta

I cannot seem to flash anything on my bricked phone.
I feel that IF I can get the correct recovery image, I may be able to get this phone to work again.
Here is the current bootloader information and GetVar all output.
I am also having trouble unlocking (re-unlocking) I think that the splash screen it needs is missing. I don't know where it lives, maybe in HBOOT? Hmm, maybe I need an HBOOT image as well?
NOTE: I DID post previously about this, but I am simplifying my request... in the hopes that someone can help.

Code:
(bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 1.54.0000
(bootloader) version-baseband: 4T.21.3218.21
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main: 3.58.1700.5
(bootloader) version-misc: PVT SHIP S-ON
(bootloader) serialno: HT**********
(bootloader) imei: ***************
(bootloader) meid: 00000000000000
(bootloader) product: m7_ul
(bootloader) platform: HBOOT-8064
(bootloader) modelid: PN0712000
(bootloader) cidnum: CWS__001
(bootloader) battery-status: good
(bootloader) battery-voltage: 4253mV
(bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
(bootloader) security: on
(bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
(bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT
(bootloader) commitno-bootloader: dirty-5d4c562c
(bootloader) hbootpreupdate: 11
(bootloader) gencheckpt: 0
all: Done!
Any guidance will be greatly appreciated.

You can't flash anything till you unlock the bootloader at htcdev.com

After you get it unlocked use TWRP 2.6.3.3 from here

fastboot flash recovery openrecovery-twrp-2.6.3.3-m7.img
fastboot erase cache
fastboot reboot-bootloader

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
Last edited by clsA; 26th May 2014 at 05:37 PM.
26th May 2014, 05:38 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Flag Birmingham, Alabama
Thanks Meter: 5
 
91 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2003
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsA

You can't flash anything till you unlock the bootloader at htcdev.com

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk

I have previously unlocked this phone from htcDev.com. I re-locked it (fastboot oem lock) in my attempt to return to stock.
Now, when I attempt to unlock, via fastboot flash unlocktoken unlock_code.bin, the flash seems to work, but I do not get the expected prompt on the phone, and when i reboot to bootloader, it remains locked.

If I can solve that problem, re unlocking, I will be happy.
Trying to unlock gives me this:
Code:
C:\htc>fastboot oem unlock
...
(bootloader) [PG_ERROR] htc_pg_part_traverse(839):
(bootloader)  invalid traverse range
(bootloader) [PG_ERROR] htc_pg_part_read(1029):
(bootloader)  htc_pg_part_traverse failed
(bootloader) [DISPLAY_ERR] sp_custom partition: unlock_disp_buf.img_buf r
(bootloader) ead error!
(bootloader) [DISPLAY_ERR] Can not load custom splash!
(bootloader) Loading custom splash failed!
OKAY [  0.493s]
finished. total time: 0.493s

C:\htc>
26th May 2014, 05:40 PM   |  #4  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Central Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,262
 
4,596 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jta

I have previously unlocked this phone from htcDev.com. I re-locked it (fastboot oem lock) in my attempt to return to stock.
Now, when I attempt to unlock, via fastboot flash unlocktoken unlock_code.bin, the flash seems to work, but I do not get the expected prompt on the phone, and when i reboot to bootloader, it remains locked.

If I can solve that problem, re unlocking, I will be happy.
Trying to unlock gives me this:

Code:
C:\htc>fastboot oem unlock
...
(bootloader) [PG_ERROR] htc_pg_part_traverse(839):
(bootloader)  invalid traverse range
(bootloader) [PG_ERROR] htc_pg_part_read(1029):
(bootloader)  htc_pg_part_traverse failed
(bootloader) [DISPLAY_ERR] sp_custom partition: unlock_disp_buf.img_buf r
(bootloader) ead error!
(bootloader) [DISPLAY_ERR] Can not load custom splash!
(bootloader) Loading custom splash failed!
OKAY [  0.493s]
finished. total time: 0.493s

C:\htc>

Did you get a new unlock token ?
26th May 2014, 06:00 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Flag Birmingham, Alabama
Thanks Meter: 5
 
91 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2003
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsA

Did you get a new unlock token ?

I did request another token just now, flashed it. Nothing pops up on the screen, and after a reboot, I get the same thing...still locked.

also, fastboot oem unlock shows same output as above.

It feels like there are files missing, or a corrupt partition where it stores these files, so it doesn't load the ui for the unlock prompt.
26th May 2014, 06:12 PM   |  #6  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Central Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,262
 
4,596 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jta

I did request another token just now, flashed it. Nothing pops up on the screen, and after a reboot, I get the same thing...still locked.

also, fastboot oem unlock shows same output as above.

It feels like there are files missing, or a corrupt partition where it stores these files, so it doesn't load the ui for the unlock prompt.

yeah it's the Google edition bootloader thats the problem
why did you go s-on with a different bootloader installed ?

Have you tried an AT&T RUU ?
Last edited by clsA; 26th May 2014 at 06:15 PM.
26th May 2014, 06:15 PM   |  #7  
OP Member
Flag Birmingham, Alabama
Thanks Meter: 5
 
91 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2003
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsA

yeah it's the Google edition bootloader thats the problem
why did you go s-on with a different bootloader installed ?

probably because It has been months since I flashed the google edition, and wasn't thinking, or forgot.
Blindly following a guide to return to stock.

Is there any way out of this mess?
26th May 2014, 06:17 PM   |  #8  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Central Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,262
 
4,596 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jta

probably because It has been months since I flashed the google edition, and wasn't thinking, or forgot.
Blindly following a guide to return to stock.

Is there any way out of this mess?

you can try this
http://www.androidruu.com/getdownloa...5_signed_2.exe
29th May 2014, 05:26 AM   |  #9  
OP Member
Flag Birmingham, Alabama
Thanks Meter: 5
 
91 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2003
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsA

you can try this
http://www.androidruu.com/getdownloa...5_signed_2.exe

That didn't work. I guess I need to see if there is an HTC signed RUU for GPe, maybe that would work? I hear, though, that they have been promising one, but have not release it.

jta
31st May 2014, 10:31 PM   |  #10  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Central Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,262
 
4,596 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jta

That didn't work. I guess I need to see if there is an HTC signed RUU for GPe, maybe that would work? I hear, though, that they have been promising one, but have not release it.

jta

here you go
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2547894

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes