FORUMS

[Q] New-ish User with a question.

525 posts
Thanks Meter: 73
 
By crazynapkinman, Senior Member on 16th June 2014, 04:08 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Okay. Hi! My first question on here.

I have recently installed CM 10.1 to my Nook Colors' eMMc. When I check >Settings>Storage it says internal memory is 4GB and my external SD is only 1GB.

I have a 4GB SD inserted.

Is this normal?

Can I boot without an SD inserted?

**UPDATE**
I can boot without an SD inserted but it still says I have 4GB+ of memory even though the SD card is not inserted.

Again, is this normal??

Thanks!!

PS This is the first time I have installed to eMMc. Every other time has been SD Card based.
Last edited by crazynapkinman; 16th June 2014 at 04:28 AM.
 
 
16th June 2014, 07:26 AM |#2  
leapinlar's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,814
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazynapkinman

Okay. Hi! My first question on here.

I have recently installed CM 10.1 to my Nook Colors' eMMc. When I check >Settings>Storage it says internal memory is 4GB and my external SD is only 1GB.

I have a 4GB SD inserted.

Is this normal?

Can I boot without an SD inserted?

**UPDATE**
I can boot without an SD inserted but it still says I have 4GB+ of memory even though the SD card is not inserted.

Again, is this normal??

Thanks!!

PS This is the first time I have installed to eMMc. Every other time has been SD Card based.

Those /settings/storage have nothing to do with your external SD. Those are telling you how much room you have for apps (4GB) and how much room for media files (1GB), all of which is on internal memory.

Sent from my BN NookHD+ using XDA Premium HD app
Last edited by leapinlar; 16th June 2014 at 07:29 AM.
16th June 2014, 07:57 AM |#3  
crazynapkinman's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 73
 
More
Also I have been trying to load cm10.2 but it isn't working. The screen goes black and the backlight stays on when I do manual.

When I try going thru cmupdater it boots to recovery and tries to run it but then quickly boots back into current rom.

Any ideas?

Sent from my SPH-M830 using XDA Free mobile app
16th June 2014, 03:33 PM |#4  
leapinlar's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,814
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazynapkinman

Also I have been trying to load cm10.2 but it isn't working. The screen goes black and the backlight stays on when I do manual.

When I try going thru cmupdater it boots to recovery and tries to run it but then quickly boots back into current rom.

Any ideas?

Sent from my SPH-M830 using XDA Free mobile app

Could be a bad download. Try redownloading. And before manually flashing the zip, format /system and factory reset with CWM.

Sent from my BN NookHD+ using XDA Premium HD app
17th June 2014, 02:24 AM |#5  
crazynapkinman's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 73
 
More
No luck after manual write and fresh download. 10.2 just doesn't want to install. I keep getting the black screen with backlights on. I may try 11.

Sent from my SPH-M830 using XDA Free mobile app
17th June 2014, 02:59 AM |#6  
leapinlar's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,814
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazynapkinman

No luck after manual write and fresh download. 10.2 just doesn't want to install. I keep getting the black screen with backlights on. I may try 11.

Sent from my SPH-M830 using XDA Free mobile app

Did you do the formatting?

Sent from my BN NookHD+ using XDA Premium HD app
17th June 2014, 03:17 AM |#7  
crazynapkinman's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 73
 
More
Yes after formatting and clearing cache it flashed the blue man very very quickly and went back to bootloader. Then started loading again and went back to bootloader. Finally it started loading again and I got the black screen with backlights.

Sent from my SPH-M830 using XDA Free mobile app
Last edited by crazynapkinman; 17th June 2014 at 03:29 AM.
17th June 2014, 04:15 AM |#8  
crazynapkinman's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 73
 
More
Here is a picture of the formatting process I am using before installing

Sent from my SPH-M830 using XDA Free mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1402974899799.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	79.4 KB
ID:	2802623  
17th June 2014, 04:19 AM |#9  
crazynapkinman's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 73
 
More
Do I need to place the files on internal storage instead of external SD?
17th June 2014, 04:24 AM |#10  
crazynapkinman's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 73
 
More
Here is another picture of the install process for CM 11 it obviously isn't working and I don't know what to do from this point.

Should I be placing these zip files on SDcard 0?

Sent from my SPH-M830 using XDA Free mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1402975049710.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	93.5 KB
ID:	2802633  
17th June 2014, 04:34 AM |#11  
crazynapkinman's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 73
 
More
Tried to install from sdcard0... still got the same error message.... idk what else to do besides continue running 10.1.... i'd like to use cm11 tho.

any help would be greatly appreciated on this matter.

has anyone else run into this issue??

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes