FORUMS

I/O Summary: How Android M Handles Power And Charging

In the spirit of improving the core Android experience, Google is changing Android … more

I/O Summary: Google Photos App

At I/O 2015, Google tackled the information problem in mobile once more, this time through … more

I/O Summary: Development, Play Store, The Next Billion

VP of Engineering Jen Fitzpatrick began talking about what Google is doing to … more

I/O Summary: Google Now on Tap

Google is all about organizing the world’s information to make it universally useful, and these … more

Starting over

Thanks Meter: 1
 
By Cornbeef3000, Junior Member on 31st May 2014, 09:09 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I've messes up my nook in ways i no longer under stand and i wanted to phone if there is an file i can flash to start over to square one, stock rom. i have the cyanboot on it, cmw is no longer there(i messed that up trying to installing semi stock rom) and nothing will flash, i cant tell if im charging it i just plug it in and it stays on the cyanboot screen can someone help? i just wanna start over
 
 
31st May 2014, 03:44 PM |#2  
leapinlar's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,796
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cornbeef3000

I've messes up my nook in ways i no longer under stand and i wanted to phone if there is an file i can flash to start over to square one, stock rom. i have the cyanboot on it, cmw is no longer there(i messed that up trying to installing semi stock rom) and nothing will flash, i cant tell if im charging it i just plug it in and it stays on the cyanboot screen can someone help? i just wanna start over

Go to my NC tips thread linked in my signature and make a bootable CWM SD per item A10 and then follow A15 to return to stock.

Sent from my SCH-i705 using XDA Premium HD app
31st May 2014, 08:26 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by leapinlar

Go to my NC tips thread linked in my signature and make a bootable CWM SD per item A10 and then follow A15 to return to stock.

Sent from my SCH-i705 using XDA Premium HD app

I tried that and when i booted up the nook when it was installing rom restore image and it fails
31st May 2014, 09:34 PM |#4  
leapinlar's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,796
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cornbeef3000

I tried that and when i booted up the nook when it was installing rom restore image and it fails

Explain what you mean when you say it fails. And what do you mean rom restore image? You need to be more explicit.

Sent from my SCH-i705 using XDA Premium HD app
25th June 2014, 11:43 PM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by leapinlar

Explain what you mean when you say it fails. And what do you mean rom restore image? You need to be more explicit.

Sent from my SCH-i705 using XDA Premium HD app

Lets say i boot into cwm/twrp using SD or emmc i cant do a creen install (u know formatting data, cache, ect) and then did its time to install the rom, it installs like normal, no problem whatsoever, then installing g apps, same as before not a single problem or error message, then i reboot, see the cyanboot then its says "loading Emmc" or something close to that then the screen goes black, and stays black. weather 5,10,30 mins, an hour goes by nothing else will show on the screen. i though maybe i didn't format my cache (sometimes that's the problem on other devices in the past from booting) so i boot back into cmw/twrp and format it again, reboot, then after the cyanboot screen complete black screen, but i can run roms off SD fine but i dont like too
26th June 2014, 06:48 AM |#6  
leapinlar's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,796
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by YellowCobra

Lets say i boot into cwm/twrp using SD or emmc i cant do a creen install (u know formatting data, cache, ect) and then did its time to install the rom, it installs like normal, no problem whatsoever, then installing g apps, same as before not a single problem or error message, then i reboot, see the cyanboot then its says "loading Emmc" or something close to that then the screen goes black, and stays black. weather 5,10,30 mins, an hour goes by nothing else will show on the screen. i though maybe i didn't format my cache (sometimes that's the problem on other devices in the past from booting) so i boot back into cmw/twrp and format it again, reboot, then after the cyanboot screen complete black screen, but i can run roms off SD fine but i dont like too

The original question on this thread was how to get stock back. You seem to be trying to put CM on emmc. You might do better putting stock back then try to put CM on it.

Sent from my BN NookHD+ using XDA Premium HD app
26th June 2014, 08:00 AM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by leapinlar

The original question on this thread was how to get stock back. You seem to be trying to put CM on emmc. You might do better putting stock back then try to put CM on it.

Sent from my BN NookHD+ using XDA Premium HD app

Thats what im trying to do, but when i try installing the stock roms, on the "instaling update" screen it says it failed, that that was because i did not have the original files on my nook, so i gave up on that
29th June 2014, 05:15 AM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Troubles going back to stock
Quote:
Originally Posted by leapinlar

The original question on this thread was how to get stock back. You seem to be trying to put CM on emmc. You might do better putting stock back then try to put CM on it.

Sent from my BN NookHD+ using XDA Premium HD app

Hi leapinlar,

Sorry to hijack the thread, but I just dusted off my Nook Colour and want to take it back to stock. I followed your tips and used CWM-6.0.1.2-bootable_SD to restore back to nookcolor_1_4_3_signed.

I followed another threads instructions (http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=931720) where it told me to first format data and format system. I then chose the nookcolor_1_4_3_signed to install and rebooted.

I've rebooted a couple of times now and it is stuck on the screen with the n and "Contains reader mobile tech by adobe.."

I then went back into CWM and chose the restore function but i'm getting the same result.
29th June 2014, 06:50 AM |#9  
leapinlar's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,796
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nice-socks

Hi leapinlar,

Sorry to hijack the thread, but I just dusted off my Nook Colour and want to take it back to stock. I followed your tips and used CWM-6.0.1.2-bootable_SD to restore back to nookcolor_1_4_3_signed.

I followed another threads instructions (http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=931720) where it told me to first format data and format system. I then chose the nookcolor_1_4_3_signed to install and rebooted.

I've rebooted a couple of times now and it is stuck on the screen with the n and "Contains reader mobile tech by adobe.."

I then went back into CWM and chose the restore function but i'm getting the same result.

If you had CM on your NC before trying to go back to stock, you must first use my format zips from my NC Tips thread linked in my signature. Using CWM to format is not enough. Read item A15.

Sent from my SCH-i705 using XDA Premium HD app
29th June 2014, 06:56 AM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by leapinlar

If you had CM on your NC before trying to go back to stock, you must first use my format zips from my NC Tips thread linked in my signature. Using CWM to format is not enough. Read item A15.

Sent from my SCH-i705 using XDA Premium HD app

Hi leapinlar,

I believe I already stated that I did use your files?

Edit: Sorry, now I see I missed the note about formatting with 5-6-7. I'm not sure what that really means, or how to do it, but i've downloaded it and I'll put it on the SD card and see what I can play around with in CWM.
Edit 2: Got it working! Thanks. Now I just need to figure out how to re-format the SD card so I can use it regularly again.
Last edited by nice-socks; 29th June 2014 at 04:47 PM. Reason: New info
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes