Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q]ADB works, but fastboot won't recognize device. Can't update TWRP to 2.7 for kitka

OP kaceps

2nd June 2014, 12:02 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Hello.

I have a KFHD 7" happily running under Hashcode's CM10.0. I'd like to update to kitkat.
For that, it seems I need to upgrade my recovery from TWRP 2.4 to 2.7. ( If the rom should install under TWRP 2.4, let me know, cause I got an error when I tried. )

So, after messing a bit with my drivers, I got ADB to work fine.

However, I need fastboot to update recovery. My Kindle can go into fastboot, no problem.

But windows just won't recognise it. "Fastboot devices" always show no devices connected.

I tried with various drivers ( including those from QEMU thread ) on 2 differents computers.

So I'm starting to wonder if there is something I missed in the virious threads. Is there something I should know that would prevent me from seing the device under fastboot but not ADB ?
2nd June 2014, 12:25 AM   |  #2  
LinearEquation's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Midwest
Thanks Meter: 423
 
1,739 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaceps

Hello.

I have a KFHD 7" happily running under Hashcode's CM10.0. I'd like to update to kitkat.
For that, it seems I need to upgrade my recovery from TWRP 2.4 to 2.7. ( If the rom should install under TWRP 2.4, let me know, cause I got an error when I tried. )

So, after messing a bit with my drivers, I got ADB to work fine.

However, I need fastboot to update recovery. My Kindle can go into fastboot, no problem.

But windows just won't recognise it. "Fastboot devices" always show no devices connected.

I tried with various drivers ( including those from QEMU thread ) on 2 differents computers.

So I'm starting to wonder if there is something I missed in the virious threads. Is there something I should know that would prevent me from seing the device under fastboot but not ADB ?

You need to setup fastboot in your environment. http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=oaNM-lt_aHw

Sent from my Nexus 7 Flo running CM 11 4.4.2 with ElementalX Kernel using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
2nd June 2014, 07:43 AM   |  #3  
stunts513's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag New Braunfels, TX
Thanks Meter: 609
 
2,229 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Donate to Me
More
You don't need fastboot to update recovery, find hashcode's twrp thread and download the flashable zip, you just flash it from in twrp and reboot into recovery again and it will be updated.

Sent from my Amazon Tate using Tapatalk
3rd June 2014, 05:40 AM   |  #4  
Ph0enix_216's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag /system/xbin/su
Thanks Meter: 97
 
434 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
Stupid question, but are you cd-ing into the directory where fastboot is (if you haven't added it to the PATH variable)?

>>>Sent from my homebuilt TARDIS running Android 4.4... or maybe it's a Kindle Fire HD running Cyanogenmod 11<<<
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes