Thread Closed

Continuation of closed thread: I cannot update my wife's S3 due to a Status 7

OP scottlindner

2nd June 2014, 02:37 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Colorado Springs, CO
Thanks Meter: 1
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
This is a continuation of http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2769405 which is now closed.

I spent several hours trying the various suggestions and all of them failed for one reason or another. I spent the most effort in returning to stock since that is the cleanest approach. The one click link provided in the original thread has a dead link to the files necessary for it to work. I tried another thread for returning to stock but I am receiving the ODIN error "FAIL! (Auth)". I tried following the instructions in this thread to resolve this ODIN error but it also did not work after several attempts.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2519669

This is just a suspicious, but I believe what has happened is that when I initially tried applying the 4.4 OTA it knox'd the boot loader and will only take 4.4 or greater ROMs. Forgive me if I used those terms improperly, but that's the impression I am getting from all of the searching I have been doing on this. All return to stock guides I have found start by flashing 4.3, but this results in the ODIN error that I haven't been able to resolve.

Any additional help pointing me in the right direction will be greatly appreciated.
Last edited by GermainZ; 2nd June 2014 at 06:58 PM.
2nd June 2014, 02:59 PM   |  #2  
KJ's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Flag The boonies - southwest Ontario
Thanks Meter: 4,152
 
10,384 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Hi again!

Here is what seems to be a very informative thread on Odin, Knox, and its current.

If the info here doesn't help, then its the perfect thread to ask for help in!

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2743554

Hopefully that works!

---------- Post added at 09:59 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:57 AM ----------

And its sprint. The only thing you'd need to be sure is that you get the firmware for your particular model. But everything else would be the same. 👍
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to KJ For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd June 2014, 03:50 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Flag Colorado Springs, CO
Thanks Meter: 1
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
I read through most of the thread. It doesn't explicitly address my situation but it definitely reads like it might implicitly have the information I'm looking for. If not, it is definitely the place to post questions. Thanks for that help! I did a ton of searching and never came across that thread.
The Following User Says Thank You to scottlindner For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes