FORUMS

How a HTC Droid Eris Changed a Members Life

Rarely can a member say that Android development or XDA had a profound effect on … more

XDA Office Space: Frankenstein’s Perfect IM Client?

The portal’s decentralized XDA office lies in a Hangouts chatroom, where … more

Which IM Client on Android is best?

With so many different messengers to choose from, it can be tough to find the best one for you and … more

Android Factory Reset Security Flaw and More – XDA TV

Nvidia is releasing a 500Gb SHIELD TV Pro! That and much more news is … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] **RESOLVED** How to get AT&T Visual Voicemail to work on Unlocked T-Mobile

2nd June 2014, 07:35 PM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Tyler, Texas
Thanks Meter: 101
 
More
Anyone know of a trick to getting AT&T Visual Voicemail to work on Unlocked T-Mobile? The app will install, but not connect during setup process.

Thank you in advance for any help you can provide.

****EDIT*** It turns out that is was an AT&T issue when they provisioned my SIMS for LTE they didn't setup my email.

Thanks everyone for the help!
Last edited by chrispyutec; 4th June 2014 at 05:42 PM. Reason: Problem Resolved
 
 
3rd June 2014, 12:43 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 449
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrispyutec

Anyone know of a trick to getting AT&T Visual Voicemail to work on Unlocked T-Mobile? The app will install, but not connect during setup process.

Thank you in advance for any help you can provide.

I have it working just fine. I downloaded the app from the app store and opened it up. After opening the app, I was prompted to dial my voicemail. Then entered my password. I had no new messages so I closed it out and then was prompted to enter my voicemail password in visual voicemail. Haven't had any issues. I am using an international ROM as well
The Following User Says Thank You to slimc84 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd June 2014, 01:42 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Tyler, Texas
Thanks Meter: 101
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimc84

I have it working just fine. I downloaded the app from the app store and opened it up. After opening the app, I was prompted to dial my voicemail. Then entered my password. I had no new messages so I closed it out and then was prompted to enter my voicemail password in visual voicemail. Haven't had any issues. I am using an international ROM as well

Wonder why I'm having a problem. I'm running Alliance rom from the international thread. It ask me to enter the 10 digit mail box number of the person I'm trying to reach and when I enter my phone number it says sorry can't find the mail box. A third party app works so I'm wondering if my problem might be carrier related.

Thank you for your response.
3rd June 2014, 05:44 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 449
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrispyutec

Wonder why I'm having a problem. I'm running Alliance rom from the international thread. It ask me to enter the 10 digit mail box number of the person I'm trying to reach and when I enter my phone number it says sorry can't find the mail box. A third party app works so I'm wondering if my problem might be carrier related.

Thank you for your response.

Which version of Alliance are you using? I'm using V3.1 and haven't had any issues.
3rd June 2014, 05:56 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Tyler, Texas
Thanks Meter: 101
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimc84

Which version of Alliance are you using? I'm using V3.1 and haven't had any issues.

i'M ON 3.1 I think it's carrier related because it does the same on other roms. Plus I had to get AT&T to provision my sim card for LTE. I'm sure they screwed something up.
3rd June 2014, 08:33 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 449
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrispyutec

i'M ON 3.1 I think it's carrier related because it does the same on other roms. Plus I had to get AT&T to provision my sim card for LTE. I'm sure they screwed something up.

That's odd. I didn't have to do any of that. I purchased my phone from T-Mobile, SIM unlock through Cellunlocker.net, changed my APN settings and I was good to go. It shouldn't make a difference as I am using an unlocked T-Mobile variant and my VVM is working fine. Send me a PM around 7PM EST or so and I can see if I can get it working for you.
The Following User Says Thank You to slimc84 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd June 2014, 08:57 PM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Flag Tyler, Texas
Thanks Meter: 101
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimc84

That's odd. I didn't have to do any of that. I purchased my phone from T-Mobile, SIM unlock through Cellunlocker.net, changed my APN settings and I was good to go. It shouldn't make a difference as I am using an unlocked T-Mobile variant and my VVM is working fine. Send me a PM around 7PM EST or so and I can see if I can get it working for you.

I'm using SIM unlocked T-Mobile on AT&T. I have my APN set just like my wife's AT&T S5.
3rd June 2014, 09:08 PM |#8  
OP Senior Member
Flag Tyler, Texas
Thanks Meter: 101
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimc84

That's odd. I didn't have to do any of that. I purchased my phone from T-Mobile, SIM unlock through Cellunlocker.net, changed my APN settings and I was good to go. It shouldn't make a difference as I am using an unlocked T-Mobile variant and my VVM is working fine. Send me a PM around 7PM EST or so and I can see if I can get it working for you.

Problem solved. It was AT&T that had something screwed up. I want to thank you so much for trying to help and offering the PM for additional direct help. People like you what makes XDA as awesome as it is!!! I hit your thanks button.
3rd June 2014, 11:23 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 449
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrispyutec

Problem solved. It was AT&T that had something screwed up. I want to thank you so much for trying to help and offering the PM for additional direct help. People like you what makes XDA as awesome as it is!!! I hit your thanks button.

I'm glad that you got it taken care of. I know how frustrating it can be for a phone not to function as intended.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in T-Mobile Galaxy S 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank