Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Gear2 Root

OP fibs

3rd June 2014, 04:28 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Hamburg
Thanks Meter: 49
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More


Root for Gear2 R380

Packed rootfs.img

NE5
R380XXU0BNE5rootfs_root.tar (Needs Gear 2 R380XXU0BNE5 installed)

NDD
R380XXU0BNDDrootfs_root.tar (Needs Gear 2 R380XXU0BNDD installed)

ND8
R380XXU0BND8rootfs_root.tar (Needs Gear 2 R380XXU0BND8 installed)

Gear2 NEO:

NE5
R381XXU0BNE5rootfs_root.tar (Needs Gear 2 NEO R381XXU0BNE5 installed)


Load into Odin and flash.
Done

Need sdb.exe from Tizen-SDK?
sdb.exe

What is this good for?

Disable camera sounds:

sdb root on
sdb shell mount -o remount,rw /
sdb shell mv /usr/share/sounds/mm-camcorder/ /usr/share/sounds/mm-camcorder_bak/
sdb shell mv /usr/apps/com.samsung.w-camera-app/res/sounds /usr/apps/com.samsung.w-camera-app/res/sounds_bak
sdb shell mount -o remount,ro /

Custom ringtones:
sdb root on
sdb push your_ringtone.ogg /opt/share/settings/Ringtones/
reboot watch
Keep in mind free diskspace is 80MB for /opt/ don't fill it up!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	r380root.jpg
Views:	38125
Size:	27.4 KB
ID:	2778321  
Last edited by fibs; 5th June 2014 at 09:12 AM.
The Following 37 Users Say Thank You to fibs For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd June 2014, 04:30 PM   |  #2  
TML1504's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vienna
Thanks Meter: 229
 
781 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fibs



Root for Gear2 R380 (fw: R380XXU0BNDD)

Packed rootfs.img: http://www.mediafire.com/download/2w...ootfs_root.tar

Load into Odin and flash.

Done

thx!
are the terminal commands needed after the flash?
would this also be ok for the new E5 release?
3rd June 2014, 04:37 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Flag Hamburg
Thanks Meter: 49
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TML1504

thx!
are the terminal commands needed after the flash?
would this also be ok for the new E5 release?

No, commands are not needed. It's just to show the version and howto check if it worked.
This will not work if E5 is installed since you will flash the whole root filesystem.
3rd June 2014, 08:45 PM   |  #4  
OP Member
Flag Hamburg
Thanks Meter: 49
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
I can build for E5 if needed. Did not upgrade my watch yet..
3rd June 2014, 09:36 PM   |  #5  
JimSmith94's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Irving, TX
Thanks Meter: 246
 
1,609 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fibs

I can build for E5 if needed. Did not upgrade my watch yet..

I appreciate your good work on this. Unfortunately I'm in the US and still stuck on ND8. As a suggestion, since you're going to build this for new ROMs as they come out, could you start adding the last three letters/numbers of the ROM to your tar files?
3rd June 2014, 09:50 PM   |  #6  
OP Member
Flag Hamburg
Thanks Meter: 49
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimSmith94

I appreciate your good work on this. Unfortunately I'm in the US and still stuck on ND8. As a suggestion, since you're going to build this for new ROMs as they come out, could you start adding the last three letters/numbers of the ROM to your tar files?

Thx, already included version build for the E5 .tar uploading right now. The sad part is that the only "useful" way to use the root access right now is to get rid of the camera sounds

But if you need root access to your ND8 I can upload.
3rd June 2014, 10:11 PM   |  #7  
JimSmith94's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Irving, TX
Thanks Meter: 246
 
1,609 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fibs

Thx, already included version build for the E5 .tar uploading right now. The sad part is that the only "useful" way to use the root access right now is to get rid of the camera sounds

But if you need root access to your ND8 I can upload.

If you have easy access to ND8, that would be great. Otherwise I can wait for the newer builds to hit. I'll be upgrading as soon as I can anyway.
3rd June 2014, 10:52 PM   |  #8  
TML1504's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vienna
Thanks Meter: 229
 
781 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fibs

I can build for E5 if needed. Did not upgrade my watch yet..

Please, thx!
The Following User Says Thank You to TML1504 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd June 2014, 10:56 PM   |  #9  
OP Member
Flag Hamburg
Thanks Meter: 49
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TML1504

Please, thx!

I kept my first post updated. E5 added.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to fibs For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th June 2014, 02:57 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 55
 
182 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
More
Can this be used with NEO as well?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes