TWRP 2.8.3.0 Available for Supported Devices

The TeamWin Recovery Project (or TWRP, for short) has quickly become one of the most popular … more

Easily Generate and Export Material Design Palletes

For many people, it can be pretty difficult to create a palette of complementary colors. … more

Android One Expanding to Bangladesh, Nepal, and Sri Lanka

At Google I/O 2013, Google proudly announced that the Android operating system was … more

Android 5.0.2 Fixes 2012 Nexus 7! Sony’s Making a Google Glass Competitor? – XDA TV

Android 5.0.2 Lollipop is available for the … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Solution for flashing HERMES preproduction devices found!

OP J.S.

17th September 2006, 12:09 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2004
More
In case you have a preproduction HERMES and you can not update the ROM (due to the fact that your bootloader is <1.04) here the very easy solution:

- format a SD card with FAT32
- extract the .NBH file from the rom image you like
- rename the .NBH to HERMIMG.NBH and copy it to your SD card
- put SD card in phone and start it in bootloader (hold OK button on left side and POWER button at same time and stick with stylus in RESET on bottom)
- confirm flashing on screen
- flashing might hang after some time but this is normal. Just wait. Complete flash takes about 30 minutes.

This also works for normal (non preproduction) devices but keep in mind that if the CID does not match the flashing might not work.

John

P.S. Same applies to other devices: BREEIMG.NBH, STARIMG.NBH, ...
17th September 2006, 03:46 PM   |  #2  
pof's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Barcelona
Thanks Meter: 66
 
3,571 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2005
Donate to Me
Re: Solution for flashing HERMES preproduction devices found
Hi J.S.!

This is a very great finding!! How did you find that???


Quote:
Originally Posted by J.S.

This also works for normal (non preproduction) devices but keep in mind that if the CID does not match the flashing might not work.

Preproduction devices are superCID, so they should be able to flash any image using that method.


Quote:
Originally Posted by J.S.

P.S. Same applies to other devices: BREEIMG.NBH, STARIMG.NBH, ...

I guess BREEIMG is for HTC Breeze and STARIMG for HTC Startrk, right?
17th September 2006, 05:16 PM   |  #3  
darkoverlord's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Vancouver
Thanks Meter: 0
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2005
More
Holy Sweet Jiminy Cristmas, OK, now this is what mine is doing so far, (which is further than any thing else we have done)

Sitting at Checking..., and has been for around 10 minutes or so now

Will keep you updated, hey anyone able to get access to the holy grail of HTC support site?
17th September 2006, 05:24 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2006
Excellent news!

I just need to get my hands on a micro SD card and I'll give it a whirl!

Thanks again, buddy.

I'll let you all know how I get along.

Oz
17th September 2006, 05:40 PM   |  #5  
darkoverlord's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Vancouver
Thanks Meter: 0
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2005
More
So how long did your screen stay with the Checking..., as I am now on my 4th IMG to try, and all have taken over 10mins each while on the checking.

I need some slepp so this one i will let run while i sleep.

Any way of changing the CID, as mine is not preproduction.
17th September 2006, 11:12 PM   |  #6  
pof's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Barcelona
Thanks Meter: 66
 
3,571 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2005
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkoverlord

Any way of changing the CID, as mine is not preproduction.

No known method yet...

But you have a TyTN as I have seen in your other post, so you can flash the HERMIMG.nbh from HTC TyTN rom which will match your CID.
18th September 2006, 05:22 AM   |  #7  
darkoverlord's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Vancouver
Thanks Meter: 0
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2005
More
OK, but how can I know my CID, and which one to choose.
18th September 2006, 10:05 AM   |  #8  
pof's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Barcelona
Thanks Meter: 66
 
3,571 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2005
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkoverlord

OK, but how can I know my CID, and which one to choose.

The bootloader command "info 2" returns your CID, on a TyTN that is:

"HTCS" + "QTEK_001" + (4-byte checksum) + "HTCE"

You can also find it by running GetDeviceData.exe.

These are the ROMs an it's CID lock:

HTC: QTEK_001
Dopod: DOPOD001
JasJam: CDL__001
Cingular: CWS__001
O2: O2___102
18th September 2006, 10:07 AM   |  #9  
buzz_lightyear's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Slovakia
Thanks Meter: 10
 
1,500 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2004
great stuff, J.S. :o)

buzz
18th September 2006, 12:51 PM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
67 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2005
Hi Guys, At this point is it possible to get an .NBH file from a .RAW file and so flash back to my original shipped ROM?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes