Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Unlocking bootloader error

OP Fidelio_o

4th June 2014, 06:17 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 147
 
984 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
Hello, I have been trying to unlock the bootloader on my Z2 for a couple of hours now with no luck. I am stuck. This is what I get when I input my unlock code.

C:\fastboot>fastboot.exe -i 0x0fce oem unlock 0xMYKEYGOTFROMSONY
...
FAILED (remote: Command did not succeed)
finished. total time: 0.021sWhat could be wrong? Is there anyway to get more debug information to see why it's failing?

I have verified that ADB is turned on, plus the pc reads the phone when I use fastboot, I even tried using flashtool and get stuck in the same place, with the same error. any suggestions?
4th June 2014, 07:07 AM   |  #2  
olafs93's Avatar
Member
Flag Barnsley
Thanks Meter: 3
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Have you checked if you got unlockable bootloader?

Sent from my D6503 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
4th June 2014, 07:07 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 147
 
984 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
Yeah. It's a go there

Sent from my D6503 using Tapatalk
4th June 2014, 06:21 PM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 147
 
984 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
Anyone? Btw does unknown sources have to be checked before this or no?

Sent from my D6503 using Tapatalk
5th June 2014, 12:17 AM   |  #5  
stanley08's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Accra, Ghana.
Thanks Meter: 1,707
 
2,281 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Try turning on USB debugging in Developer options in Settings and see.
5th June 2014, 01:27 AM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 147
 
984 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
Already did that, all my fastboot, adb commands work, which is why im at a lost here. seriously pissed off lol, watch it be something simple
5th June 2014, 01:45 AM   |  #7  
harrymason37's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 48
 
242 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fidelio_o

Hello, I have been trying to unlock the bootloader on my Z2 for a couple of hours now with no luck. I am stuck. This is what I get when I input my unlock code.

C:\fastboot>fastboot.exe -i 0x0fce oem unlock 0xMYKEYGOTFROMSONY
...
FAILED (remote: Command did not succeed)
finished. total time: 0.021sWhat could be wrong? Is there anyway to get more debug information to see why it's failing?

I have verified that ADB is turned on, plus the pc reads the phone when I use fastboot, I even tried using flashtool and get stuck in the same place, with the same error. any suggestions?

You have wrong unlocking code. Check carefully the codes(it's case sensitive so follow it how it is written), check if your phone is allowed to unlock bootloader (*#*#7378423#*#*) if not, then there is no way
The Following User Says Thank You to harrymason37 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th June 2014, 02:08 AM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 147
 
984 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007


Sent from my D6503 using Tapatalk
5th June 2014, 02:10 AM   |  #9  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 147
 
984 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by harrymason37

You have wrong unlocking code. Check carefully the codes(it's case sensitive so follow it how it is written), check if your phone is allowed to unlock bootloader (*#*#7378423#*#*) if not, then there is no way

Bootloader unlock is allowed. This is driving me mad. Even tried a different laptop. Manually typed the code.....adb, fastboot, commands all work

Sent from my D6503 using Tapatalk
5th June 2014, 02:50 AM   |  #10  
King Cole's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Boston, MA
Thanks Meter: 23
 
159 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fidelio_o

Bootloader unlock is allowed. This is driving me mad. Even tried a different laptop. Manually typed the code.....adb, fastboot, commands all work

Sent from my D6503 using Tapatalk

Just to clarify... You are actually typing in your key when typing in the command?

Like, replacing the "MYKEYGOTFROMSONY" part of "C:\fastboot>fastboot.exe -i 0x0fce oem unlock 0xMYKEYGOTFROMSONY" with your key?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes