Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Reverting back to stock for OTA?

OP rogeriorp

6th June 2014, 12:29 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 115
 
445 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
I do realize I need to get both the stock recovery and kernel back in order to install a OTA update and that's easy but in my case, I'd have to disable Xposed (or it's modules), revert back stock navbar with Softkeyz and even get stock GPU binaries and uninstall/disable ViPER audio fx?

Excuse my ignorance but I am a first timer on this position - also if this could be asked on a thread, I'd ask for a moderator to move it (I ran a search but would like a personal answer on this one).
6th June 2014, 07:59 AM   |  #2  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 115
 
445 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Bump, can anyone give me a solid answer?
6th June 2014, 06:58 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 115
 
445 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Guys?.. (spam is unintentional, it's a simple question)
6th June 2014, 08:58 PM   |  #4  
serophia's Avatar
Senior Member
San Diego
Thanks Meter: 40
 
194 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
If you deleted apps or did mods to your build.props download your firmware from http://sbf.droid-developers.org/phone.php?device=14, you can find your firmware in "Settings" "About" "System Version" once you see it find the same version in the link i gave you and download it. Extract it to your folder that has fastboot and mfastboot and just flash the system.img, NOTE: to this while in bootloader mode. Example: mfastboot flash system system.img If you have other mods such as modifying systemui then find someone to upload stock ui so you can replace. If you don't know how to revert back to stock kernel in the same zip firmware you downloaded move the boot.img into your fastboot and mfastboot folder and open command window here and type in fastboot flash boot boot.img. This will give you stock kernel as well.
Last edited by serophia; 6th June 2014 at 09:00 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to serophia For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th June 2014, 09:11 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 115
 
445 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by serophia

If you deleted apps or did mods to your build.props download your firmware from http://sbf.droid-developers.org/phone.php?device=14, you can find your firmware in "Settings" "About" "System Version" once you see it find the same version in the link i gave you and download it. Extract it to your folder that has fastboot and mfastboot and just flash the system.img, NOTE: to this while in bootloader mode. Example: mfastboot flash system system.img If you have other mods such as modifying systemui then find someone to upload stock ui so you can replace. If you don't know how to revert back to stock kernel in the same zip firmware you downloaded move the boot.img into your fastboot and mfastboot folder and open command window here and type in fastboot flash boot boot.img. This will give you stock kernel as well.

Thanks.

I see but I didn't remove or modded anything, only the stuff mentioned above. Just wondering if I'd have to flash the firmware again.
6th June 2014, 09:50 PM   |  #6  
serophia's Avatar
Senior Member
San Diego
Thanks Meter: 40
 
194 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rogeriorp

Thanks.

I see but I didn't remove or modded anything, only the stuff mentioned above. Just wondering if I'd have to flash the firmware again.


Just to be safe just flash the system.img and the stock recovery and boot.img and you should be good to go. I have a moto X and all i flashed was stock recovery, system.img and disabled xposed and was able to flash my 4.4.3 ota via stock recovery.
The Following User Says Thank You to serophia For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes