Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Swapping motherboards

OP icebear8

7th June 2014, 11:40 PM   |  #1  
icebear8's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Des moines ia
Thanks Meter: 19
 
477 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
so my first S3 LCD screen cracked and i went out and bought a used S3 off CL (i even called sprint and they said it had a clean ESN) i get home to activate it and then won't because the guy called and reported it lost.well what i am wondering is can i just remove the motherboard from my old s3 with the cracked screen and swap it with the bad ESN phone? would i have to also swap out the radio as well or just the motherboard?
8th June 2014, 02:55 AM   |  #2  
beezie42's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Traverse City, MI
Thanks Meter: 47
 
215 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by icebear8

so my first S3 LCD screen cracked and i went out and bought a used S3 off CL (i even called sprint and they said it had a clean ESN) i get home to activate it and then won't because the guy called and reported it lost.well what i am wondering is can i just remove the motherboard from my old s3 with the cracked screen and swap it with the bad ESN phone? would i have to also swap out the radio as well or just the motherboard?

Yup it should work fine. I have done it before with a few phones including a s3. Just Google "taking apart a s3" and you'll find video guides on it.

It may seem difficult but it really is a easy thing to do.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to beezie42 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes