Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,811,035 Members 42,383 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

cm9 alarm clock "unfortunately , clock has stopped" problem..

Tip us?
 
ARip Kenpachi
Old
#1  
ARip Kenpachi's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 13
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Langgar
Default cm9 alarm clock "unfortunately , clock has stopped" problem..

hi there, juz a newbie. i`ve some problem after installing cm9.. juz like the title, i cant use the alarm clock.. it keeps crashed.. others, juz fine n smooth.. can anyone help me? coz i`ve been late this morning coz the alarm didnt work.. ive been installing cm9 by nicely following the instruction, but ive been restoring data on cwm after finishing the full installation of cm9. is that mat cause the problem?
 
MrModMan
Old
#2  
MrModMan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 48
Posts: 296
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Perth
Restoring system data can do something especially on an custom ROM, but normal data not really

you might need to re-flash the ROM... boot into CWM > hit "wipe data/factory reset", "wipe cache partition" and "wipe dalvik cache" before re-flashing the ROM
Yo, cbf providing info 'bout my phone.. mad?
The Following User Says Thank You to MrModMan For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ARip Kenpachi
Old
#3  
ARip Kenpachi's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 13
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Langgar
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrModMan View Post
Restoring system data can do something especially on an custom ROM, but normal data not really

you might need to re-flash the ROM... boot into CWM > hit "wipe data/factory reset", "wipe cache partition" and "wipe dalvik cache" before re-flashing the ROM


thanx man.. know it, but juz coldn`t help it `bout my data (games & apps).. is that the only available option for me to regain my data is doing 'restore' on TB? urghh... it was so many man....
 
bboysid
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jul 2012
Default CM9 Clock Fix

Quote:
Originally Posted by ARip Kenpachi View Post
hi there, juz a newbie. i`ve some problem after installing cm9.. juz like the title, i cant use the alarm clock.. it keeps crashed.. others, juz fine n smooth.. can anyone help me? coz i`ve been late this morning coz the alarm didnt work.. ive been installing cm9 by nicely following the instruction, but ive been restoring data on cwm after finishing the full installation of cm9. is that mat cause the problem?
Open the Terminal Emulator and type:

$ su

# cd /data/data/com.android.deskclock/databases

# mv alarms.db alarms.db.bak

Problem solved.
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to bboysid For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
MrModMan
Old
#5  
MrModMan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 48
Posts: 296
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Perth
I always backup data on TB just encase.. but i mostly just backup apps


if you cbf re-flashing the ROM, go into CWM do the exact same above but dont re-flash the ROM just reboot the phone (re-flashing the ROM does a fresh installation so i recommend it, but its as close as the same thing)
Yo, cbf providing info 'bout my phone.. mad?
 
cgrimes5
Old
#6  
cgrimes5's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 113
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Dallas
Quote:
Originally Posted by bboysid View Post
Open the Terminal Emulator and type:

$ su

# cd /data/data/com.android.deskclock/databases

# mv alarms.db alarms.db.bak

Problem solved.
I just flash a ROM and backup with Titanium and I know it can cause problems, but I guess I restored something I should have not, and I did not want to start over your fix worked perfect. Thanks you!
 
Someguyfromhell
Old
#7  
Someguyfromhell's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,002
Posts: 3,935
Join Date: Feb 2012

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by ARip Kenpachi View Post
thanx man.. know it, but juz coldn`t help it `bout my data (games & apps).. is that the only available option for me to regain my data is doing 'restore' on TB? urghh... it was so many man....
That's why Titanium Backup has such thing as Batch to restore/backup lots of apps in few clicks. If you have TB Pro, the restore goes faster(you don't have to click Install button if reinstalling every app).
 
gcbxda
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 108
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: l.a.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bboysid View Post
Open the Terminal Emulator and type:

$ su

# cd /data/data/com.android.deskclock/databases

# mv alarms.db alarms.db.bak

Problem solved.
isn't that the same as cleaning app data?
--

Moto X, buyer remorse, stock.
nexus one, buyer remorse. cm7.1
hp touchpad, pure awesomeness. cm9 nightly + stock webOS
alcatel touch one fire. firefoxOS from source every slow weekend or so.
 
cdotj89
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 54
Join Date: Feb 2011
Exclamation Noob alert!

Quote:
Originally Posted by bboysid View Post
Open the Terminal Emulator and type:

$ su

# cd /data/data/com.android.deskclock/databases

# mv alarms.db alarms.db.bak

Problem solved.
Hey dude,

this is the second time ive seen this answer and ive tried it but the clock still comes up with the error "Unfortunately, Clock has stopped"

what am i doing wrong?... im using the P.A.C ROM on the XperiaS and it's only happened on that.

i do also have SuperSU installed

i go into the Terminal Emulator...

type su... press enter

type cd /data/data/com.android.deskclock/databases... press enter

type mv alarms.db alarms.db.bak... press enter

nothing happens?
 
dmucho
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jun 2014
Thumbs up Thanks alot

It works pretty good on my MOTOROLA DROID PRO XT610 with CM9 ICS. The error stops and the alarm start working.
After made changes i rebooted the phone.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Stream Your Media Files with the New Version of Droid Sync Manager

Android is a Linux-based operating system, but this fact doesn’t put … more

Old but Gold Internet Browser is a Blast from the Past

A Web browser is one of these applications that we can’t live without. We useit … more

Real-World Battery Saving Tips for Android – XDA Developer TV

You need Real-World Battery Saving Tips for your Android device. Our … more

Android L Will Have Data Encryption Turned On by Default

Android L, once it is eventually released, will featuredata encryption turned on by … more