Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,536 Members 53,026 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

How can i update my One M8

Tip us?
 
or207
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jun 2014
Default How can i update my One M8

Hey, i recently bought an Unlocked Verizon HTC One M8,
im using a gsm sim card, everything works fine, but(and i know there is not an update yet) when im going to software update it says that the phone can update only in CDMA mode,
what can i do about it?
Thanks
 
evltwn72
Old
#2  
evltwn72's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 165
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phx, AZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by or207 View Post
Hey, i recently bought an Unlocked Verizon HTC One M8,
im using a gsm sim card, everything works fine, but(and i know there is not an update yet) when im going to software update it says that the phone can update only in CDMA mode,
what can i do about it?
Thanks
Do you have any friends who are on VZW and have either a Moto X or iPhone 5/5S? The reason I ask, is because those 2 phones take a nano SIM card like the M8 does. When a software update comes out, try using their SIM card in your phone to take the update. That's the easiest way I can think of.

Sent from my HTC One M8 using XDA.
EVLTWN




Current Device: HTC One M8, Nexus 7 32gb Wi-Fi (2013)
Previous Devices: OG Droid, Droid X, Droid Bionic, Droid RAZR, Rezound, Xoom 4G LTE, Galaxy Nexus, Droid RAZR MAXX, Nexus 7 16gb, Droid RAZR MAXX HD, Galaxy Note 2, Nexus 7 32gb Wi-Fi/3G, Galaxy S4 32gb, Moto X, Galaxy Note 3.
 
or207
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by evltwn72 View Post
Do you have any friends who are on VZW and have either a Moto X or iPhone 5/5S? The reason I ask, is because those 2 phones take a nano SIM card like the M8 does. When a software update comes out, try using their SIM card in your phone to take the update. That's the easiest way I can think of.

Sent from my HTC One M8 using XDA.
unfortunately i bought the HTC from us and in my country (israel) there is no CDMA.. there is no VZW here..
 
evltwn72
Old
#4  
evltwn72's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 165
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phx, AZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by or207 View Post
unfortunately i bought the HTC from us and in my country (israel) there is no CDMA.. there is no VZW here..
You may still be able to check it while on Wi-Fi. What does it say if you go into settings and do a software update check?

Sent from my HTC One M8
EVLTWN




Current Device: HTC One M8, Nexus 7 32gb Wi-Fi (2013)
Previous Devices: OG Droid, Droid X, Droid Bionic, Droid RAZR, Rezound, Xoom 4G LTE, Galaxy Nexus, Droid RAZR MAXX, Nexus 7 16gb, Droid RAZR MAXX HD, Galaxy Note 2, Nexus 7 32gb Wi-Fi/3G, Galaxy S4 32gb, Moto X, Galaxy Note 3.
 
or207
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by evltwn72 View Post
You may still be able to check it while on Wi-Fi. What does it say if you go into settings and do a software update check?

Sent from my HTC One M8
I can't attach photos yet apparently..
It says:
Software update only work in CDMA mode.

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using XDA Free mobile app
 
evltwn72
Old
#6  
evltwn72's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 165
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phx, AZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by or207 View Post
I can't attach photos yet apparently..
It says:
Software update only work in CDMA mode.

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using XDA Free mobile app
Well you might be stuck then without rooting and ROM'ing your phone. Hopefully sometime else might know. Sorry I couldn't help you more.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Free mobile app
EVLTWN




Current Device: HTC One M8, Nexus 7 32gb Wi-Fi (2013)
Previous Devices: OG Droid, Droid X, Droid Bionic, Droid RAZR, Rezound, Xoom 4G LTE, Galaxy Nexus, Droid RAZR MAXX, Nexus 7 16gb, Droid RAZR MAXX HD, Galaxy Note 2, Nexus 7 32gb Wi-Fi/3G, Galaxy S4 32gb, Moto X, Galaxy Note 3.
 
JLintheTL619
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 29
Join Date: Apr 2014
I'm pretty sure you'll have to s-off and then root your phone to push the firmware update.

the Red Viper ROM
 
buzzer555
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: May 2014
So given that my phone is in the same situation as the original poster, all I have to do is to s-off and root my phone to push the update?

How would the update be done if it's rooted? I just want to update the firmware, I have no intention of adding a custom rom or anything, just whatever sense version is the latest on verizon now
 
Spondronis
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 24
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzer555 View Post
So given that my phone is in the same situation as the original poster, all I have to do is to s-off and root my phone to push the update?

How would the update be done if it's rooted? I just want to update the firmware, I have no intention of adding a custom rom or anything, just whatever sense version is the latest on verizon now
Yes, you should be able to install just the firmware/radios. There is a thread in the android development section specifically for the installation of the firmware/radios. You will definitely need s-off to install them. There is also a thread on that - it's actually really easy. I had my brand new m8 s-off'd and rooted in about 20 minutes.

The Following User Says Thank You to Spondronis For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Return to Outer Space Outer Space with Ship Up Game

Since the release of Flappy Birds, we’ve had the “fortune” to see … more

Device Review: OnePlus One

Seemingly every day, there are a bunch of new devices being released. Some are budget devices and some are … more

Browse the Internet with the Innovative Atlas Web Browser

For the most part, Chrome, Firefox, and Dolphin Browser have no real rivals among … more

Choose from Over a Thousand Battery Styles with 3Minit Battery Mod

The battery style in stock Android looks pretty dull. It doesn’t … more