Oppo Releases ColorOS for the Find 5… Poorly

Almost every OEM has taken the liberty of creating its own incarnation of the Android OS. … more

XDA LG Development Challenge Winners

Almost 3months ago, we set out with LGto findtwo amazing apps that developers could put together … more

Wearable Apps w/ Andreas Göransson – XDA:DevCon 2014

XDA:DevCon 2014 in Manchester, UK featured quite a few interesting topics as … more

Browse Your Files with Ease using MK Explorer

Google has made quite an effort in perfecting the powerful and multi-faceted OS that we know as … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Unhappy HTC One Kitkat Wifi Problem

OP ken481

6th May 2014, 04:18 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
58 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
For all thos having wifi issues please read the following

I have recently upgraded my HTC One dual sim to Kitkat - latest firmware.
I also did a factory reset of the phone after the update

I am having problems connecting to certain routers via wifi - after some research i noticed that the problem occurs when the routers are set up to use WPA-PSK - as security. If you change this to WPA2 - the phone connects.

This is not much of an issue if i have asses to router settings - yet this is not the case in public areas.

I have sent an email to HTC on this - and i am still awaiting a response
8th June 2014, 02:16 PM   |  #2  
ginjopowder's Avatar
Member
Flag Jakarta
Thanks Meter: 1
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ken481

For all thos having wifi issues please read the following

I have recently upgraded my HTC One dual sim to Kitkat - latest firmware.
I also did a factory reset of the phone after the update

I am having problems connecting to certain routers via wifi - after some research i noticed that the problem occurs when the routers are set up to use WPA-PSK - as security. If you change this to WPA2 - the phone connects.

This is not much of an issue if i have asses to router settings - yet this is not the case in public areas.

I have sent an email to HTC on this - and i am still awaiting a response

good for you to have router access which is im not.
im locked out of my own router. dang it
8th June 2014, 04:54 PM   |  #3  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Beirut
Thanks Meter: 3,134
 
6,311 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ginjopowder

good for you to have router access which is im not.
im locked out of my own router. dang it

have you tried: http://android-revolution-hd.blogspo...i-htc-one.html
8th June 2014, 05:21 PM   |  #4  
ginjopowder's Avatar
Member
Flag Jakarta
Thanks Meter: 1
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71

have you tried: http://android-revolution-hd.blogspo...i-htc-one.html

sorry, i forgot to mention im using one max. that trick (device rename) doesn't work on one max.
wpa2 is the only solution
8th June 2014, 05:32 PM   |  #5  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Beirut
Thanks Meter: 3,134
 
6,311 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ginjopowder

sorry, i forgot to mention im using one max. that trick (device rename) doesn't work on one max.
wpa2 is the only solution

strangely enough, i'm (HTC One M7_UL) able to connect to WEP just fine even without the WiFi Direct rename
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes