Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,130 Members 54,113 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

HTC One Kitkat Wifi Problem

Tip us?
 
ken481
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 58
Join Date: Mar 2007
Unhappy HTC One Kitkat Wifi Problem

For all thos having wifi issues please read the following

I have recently upgraded my HTC One dual sim to Kitkat - latest firmware.
I also did a factory reset of the phone after the update

I am having problems connecting to certain routers via wifi - after some research i noticed that the problem occurs when the routers are set up to use WPA-PSK - as security. If you change this to WPA2 - the phone connects.

This is not much of an issue if i have asses to router settings - yet this is not the case in public areas.

I have sent an email to HTC on this - and i am still awaiting a response
 
ginjopowder
Old
#2  
ginjopowder's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 40
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Jakarta
Quote:
Originally Posted by ken481 View Post
For all thos having wifi issues please read the following

I have recently upgraded my HTC One dual sim to Kitkat - latest firmware.
I also did a factory reset of the phone after the update

I am having problems connecting to certain routers via wifi - after some research i noticed that the problem occurs when the routers are set up to use WPA-PSK - as security. If you change this to WPA2 - the phone connects.

This is not much of an issue if i have asses to router settings - yet this is not the case in public areas.

I have sent an email to HTC on this - and i am still awaiting a response
good for you to have router access which is im not.
im locked out of my own router. dang it
Phone -- > htc ONE X -- > HTC One Max


ALL Smartphone are on dumb battery
 
nkk71
Old
#3  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2696
Posts: 5,456
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Beirut
Quote:
Originally Posted by ginjopowder View Post
good for you to have router access which is im not.
im locked out of my own router. dang it
have you tried: http://android-revolution-hd.blogspo...i-htc-one.html
 
ginjopowder
Old
#4  
ginjopowder's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 40
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Jakarta
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71 View Post
sorry, i forgot to mention im using one max. that trick (device rename) doesn't work on one max.
wpa2 is the only solution
Phone -- > htc ONE X -- > HTC One Max


ALL Smartphone are on dumb battery
 
nkk71
Old
#5  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2696
Posts: 5,456
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Beirut
Quote:
Originally Posted by ginjopowder View Post
sorry, i forgot to mention im using one max. that trick (device rename) doesn't work on one max.
wpa2 is the only solution
strangely enough, i'm (HTC One M7_UL) able to connect to WEP just fine even without the WiFi Direct rename
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Cast Your Device Screen the Way it Was Meant to be with Second Screen

Not too long ago here on the XDA Portal, we covered how Google had made … more

Samsung Gear Live Unboxed the XDA Way – XDA Developer TV

XDA Developer TV Producer AdamOutleris known for his XDA Unboxingseries where … more

Make Your Own DIY Capacitive Stylus

The XDA Portal is a place where we like to talkabout things that are interesting, fun, and sometimes … more