How to Control Both Moto G and Moto E LEDs

Notification LEDs offer a great way to check for notification at a glance on the Moto G (2013) and … more

LG G3 Receives Oversharpening Fix via Modified Kernel

Nothing is perfect, as they say. No matter how alluring or seemingly perfect, … more

APKTool Updated with Android Lollipop Support

One of the beauties of Android is the level of flexibility we have over our devices. Whether … more

Lollipop Leak for Sprint Galaxy S5, TWRP for Micromax Canvas Magnus – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop has been leaked for the Sprint … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Phone is rooted + running ROM, but system says unrooted

OP fauning

9th June 2014, 09:54 AM   |  #1  
fauning's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
If this is in the wrong place for posting, please feel free to let me know.

A few months ago I tried to root and put a ROM onto my Galaxy S2 but I suppose something must have gone wrong. I'm not used to rooting, especially since the phone I had before this one was an Evo and much easier to root. Regardless, my phone is a Virgin Mobile phone, but I was assured that the Sprint ROM I am currently running would work on my phone. I flashed it and it booted fine and has actually worked pretty well ever since.
My only problem is that when using a root checker, I notice my phone shows up as unrooted. I have no idea where I should go from here. If I should treat it as a truly unrooted phone and try to re-do everything, or try to flash a different ROM made specifically for my phone. I'd rather not take a chance on bricking my phone and thought I would ask for some opinions and hopefully get guided in the right direction.

Thanks in advance for any help, and sorry if anything I typed here is unclear. It's a pretty weird thing to try and explain.
(I have actually made a similar thread back in March, but got no responses. Not sure if it's still okay for me to go ahead and make a new thread for this.)
Last edited by fauning; 9th June 2014 at 09:59 AM.
9th June 2014, 10:14 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3,208
 
7,088 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Before we do anything; sticker on phone chassis under the battery - what model ?
12th June 2014, 07:47 AM   |  #3  
fauning's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MistahBungle

Before we do anything; sticker on phone chassis under the battery - what model ?

I apologize that it took me this long to reply, I have a hectic work schedule. Thanks for responding.

The model number listed is SPH-D710.
12th June 2014, 09:10 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3,208
 
7,088 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
No probs. I had an inkling you might be in the wrong forum hence I asked for confirmation of which S2 variant you have. US variants have their own fora, so your thread belongs here, you're more likely to get accurate/specific help in the right place.

I've asked mods to move your thread, sit tight until they do.
The Following User Says Thank You to MistahBungle For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th June 2014, 09:17 AM   |  #5  
fauning's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MistahBungle

No probs. I had an inkling you might be in the wrong forum hence I asked for confirmation of which S2 variant you have. US variants have their own fora, so your thread belongs here, you're more likely to get accurate/specific help in the right place.

I've asked mods to move your thread, sit tight until they do.

I must have completely skipped over it, thanks. Hopefully someone there can help. I'm hoping to sell this phone soon and don't want it to give the new owner issues.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
16th June 2014, 08:10 AM   |  #6  
fauning's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
Well, darn. I'll still check back on this thread but so far I'm still pretty lost, even after numerous searches online.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes