FORUMS

Nexus & Cookies: A More Focused Direction?

It is that time of the year again, and we are approaching the day where Android fans all over … more

LG G4 US Carrier Release Dates

The LG G4 was announced on April 29th with its Snapdragon 808 SoC, a welcomed change from its higher-end … more

Microsoft Reaches Pre-Install Agreement With New OEMs

As of late, Microsoft has been making a subtle but widespread play into the … more

Discover XDA: Discover Greater

We’ve all been there at some point in our XDA lives; we used to spend hours browsing over the … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] ATT Converted GPE Camera/Wifi don't work after 4.4.3 OTA

10th June 2014, 08:45 PM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
I converted my AT&T HTC One M8 to GPE a month or two ago. It has been working great, until yesterday when I applied the 4.4.3 OTA update straight from Google. Now the camara doesn't work "Can't connect to camera", and WIFI won't turn on.

Has anyone else had this problem? Should I have never done the OTA update? I thought once I converted to GPE it was the same as a GPE phone.

Thank you in advance for any help.
 
 
10th June 2014, 09:30 PM |#2  
BerndM14's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 553
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by apoptosis66

I converted my AT&T HTC One M8 to GPE a month or two ago. It has been working great, until yesterday when I applied the 4.4.3 OTA update straight from Google. Now the camara doesn't work "Can't connect to camera", and WIFI won't turn on.

Has anyone else had this problem? Should I have never done the OTA update? I thought once I converted to GPE it was the same as a GPE phone.

Thank you in advance for any help.

This thread discusses GPE update + issues Might want to check out that thread it discussed some of the camera issues there.

By the looks of things it seems it doesn't properly update/install if your CID isn't right. Though you might want to check out the GPE threads that's quite easy to find here and discuss more with them. I don't have the GPE conversion myself so.
10th June 2014, 10:03 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BerndM14

This thread discusses GPE update + issues Might want to check out that thread it discussed some of the camera issues there.

By the looks of things it seems it doesn't properly update/install if your CID isn't right. Though you might want to check out the GPE threads that's quite easy to find here and discuss more with them. I don't have the GPE conversion myself so.


Thank you, I will definitely check into CID. I forget which one I used when installing there were like 5 available. Its possible I chose the wrong one didn't know there was a right one.
The Following User Says Thank You to apoptosis66 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th June 2014, 11:24 PM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by apoptosis66

I converted my AT&T HTC One M8 to GPE a month or two ago. It has been working great, until yesterday when I applied the 4.4.3 OTA update straight from Google. Now the camara doesn't work "Can't connect to camera", and WIFI won't turn on.

Has anyone else had this problem? Should I have never done the OTA update? I thought once I converted to GPE it was the same as a GPE phone.

Thank you in advance for any help.

Hi Same happened to me, I reflashed the GPE RUU in fastboot (after backing up data of course) then reboot phone into fastboot and type fastboot writecid GOOGL001 then fastboot reboot then I downloaded OTA and camera and phone is working fine also no lag when rebooting. Not sure if changing the cid after you have updated will work.
11th June 2014, 02:09 AM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Success
Quote:
Originally Posted by StillADefyOwner

Hi Same happened to me, I reflashed the GPE RUU in fastboot (after backing up data of course) then reboot phone into fastboot and type fastboot writecid GOOGL001 then fastboot reboot then I downloaded OTA and camera and phone is working fine also no lag when rebooting. Not sure if changing the cid after you have updated will work.


I changed me CID to GOOGL001 and then flashed the new 4.4.3 RUU and everything is fine. Thank you guys!
The Following User Says Thank You to apoptosis66 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th June 2014, 02:37 AM |#6  
BerndM14's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 553
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by apoptosis66

I changed me CID to GOOGL001 and then flashed the new 4.4.3 RUU and everything is fine. Thank you guys!

Good to hear then
11th June 2014, 07:09 PM |#7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
It works
Quote:
Originally Posted by apoptosis66

I changed me CID to GOOGL001 and then flashed the new 4.4.3 RUU and everything is fine. Thank you guys!

I also changed my CID to GOOGL001 and then reflashed the 4.4.3 RUU. Everything is running fine. Just remember re flashing the RUU erases all data, so backup first!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes