Enable the Hidden Notification LED on the Google Nexus 6!

LED notification lights have existed on Android devices since the very beginnings … more

MX Player Ready to Rock on Lollipop

A good video player should be reliable and free. One of the XDA Community Apps, MX Player, meets both of … more

How to Disable Data Encryption on Nexus 6

In late September, Google decided to step on NSA’s toes and turn on encryption by default in … more

DJI Phantom 2 Vision+ Review – XDA TV

The holidays will be here in no time, so why not start thinking about gifts now? Youll be ahead … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

What is this icon thats stuck in my status bar?

OP MilesEvans

12th April 2014, 03:59 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Excuse me for the spam, but I just recently switched from iOS to Android. My M8 has this weird icon all the way left to the status bar. It looks like an N or something.

imgur.com/nTwSdEH .com

Also I seen here that some people don't have the 4G LTE icon when using Wi-Fi. Why is mine there all the time even when I am not using cellular data?
12th April 2014, 04:08 AM   |  #2  
Rhiannon224's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag FL
Thanks Meter: 418
 
1,780 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
NFC is turned on.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
12th April 2014, 04:18 AM   |  #3  
matmaneyre's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Birmingham
Thanks Meter: 8
 
371 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhiannon224

NFC is turned on.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

+1

You can turn it off from Settings>>More (under Wireless and Networks) and tap the NFC toggle, or if you're rooted you can install Xposed and there is an Xposed module for "disabling NFC icon" I believe.

Welcome to Android. We're allowed to do stuff here.
12th April 2014, 04:23 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhiannon224

NFC is turned on.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Quote:
Originally Posted by matmaneyre

+1

You can turn it off from Settings>>More (under Wireless and Networks) and tap the NFC toggle, or if you're rooted you can install Xposed and there is an Xposed module for "disabling NFC icon" I believe.

Welcome to Android. We're allowed to do stuff here.


Thank you both! Finally it's gone. And I had one more question. There's a scratch or something inside of my display. Best Buy already said they'll exchange it when they get a grey M8 in stock. Is there a way to completely back everything up, including my launcher settings, K9 emails, etc, and just restore it? I know back when I had my samsung vibrant 3 years ago I was able to do complete backup and restores.
12th April 2014, 05:16 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 10
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
More
Yes and no. There's a backup app called Helium, which will allow you to backup and restore most things. It will still require some manual backing up, restoring, and a little reinstalling. Titanium Backup requires root, which I imagine you don't have? Not sure what HTC's own backup app does.
12th April 2014, 09:17 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
248 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by NathanV1977

Yes and no. There's a backup app called Helium, which will allow you to backup and restore most things. It will still require some manual backing up, restoring, and a little reinstalling. Titanium Backup requires root, which I imagine you don't have? Not sure what HTC's own backup app does.

HTC backup does pretty much the same you just said about Helium.

Sent from my HTC One using xda app-developers app
11th June 2014, 07:12 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Flag St. Louis, MO
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by MilesEvans

Also I seen here that some people don't have the 4G LTE icon when using Wi-Fi. Why is mine there all the time even when I am not using cellular data?

Bumping this post specifically to see about an answer to this question.

I'm on a stock M8, not rooted, and have had it for the past few days and both 4G and Wi-Fi icons are displaying when I'm connected over wi-fi. Just concerned it's somehow leeching or otherwise using mobile data as opposed to just wi-fi.
11th June 2014, 07:37 PM   |  #8  
jwsm's Avatar
Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 4
 
45 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Sometimes I get that too but the "LTE" icon will disappear as soon as I open the browser.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes