Update Overload: SuperSU Heavily Updated

There are apps and apps out there. Very few can reach the level of popularity required to stay at … more

Lollipop Leak Available for the Sprint Galaxy S5

Since the Android 5.0Lollipop’s official release not too long ago, we’ve seen … more

CPU Spy Gets an Android Lollipop Makeover

At some point in the distant past, you probably heard of CPU Spy for Android by XDARetired … more

Amazon Fire TV Stick vs Chromecast – XDA TV

There is no doubt that Amazon is a huge player in many markets, and they want to be a huge … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Groove IP Ending

OP goldentequila

9th February 2014, 10:59 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
233 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Hi, everyone.

Did a search and didn't find a dedicated thread for this, so I thought I'd write one. I recently learned that Groove IP is shutting down d/t a change Google is making to their Voice. It appears that the change is going to disable pretty much all other similar voip apps. I figured this would impact T-Mobile $30/mo plan VOIP users the most, so I wanted to give you a headsup. You can read more about it here

It's a sad ending to a great setup, but all good things come to an end.

P.S. I also heard that Google's Hangouts will be able to make/receive calls soon (hopefully), so if it comes before May, we may be ok. iOS version of hangouts already has this feature, which is messed up.

GT
Last edited by goldentequila; 9th February 2014 at 11:50 PM.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to goldentequila For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th February 2014, 10:25 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
thanks for the info
1st March 2014, 07:40 PM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Interesting
13th June 2014, 01:54 PM   |  #4  
b00b's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
56 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Cool
Quote:
Originally Posted by goldentequila

Hi, everyone.

Did a search and didn't find a dedicated thread for this, so I thought I'd write one. I recently learned that Groove IP is shutting down d/t a change Google is making to their Voice. It appears that the change is going to disable pretty much all other similar voip apps. I figured this would impact T-Mobile $30/mo plan VOIP users the most, so I wanted to give you a headsup. You can read more about it here

It's a sad ending to a great setup, but all good things come to an end.

P.S. I also heard that Google's Hangouts will be able to make/receive calls soon (hopefully), so if it comes before May, we may be ok. iOS version of hangouts already has this feature, which is messed up.

GT

was expecting this to end on May 15th, but til today, GrooVeIP is still working for me.

I can log into my GV using my email, same as usual and i can still make calls and still recieve calls

Is anyone else GrooVeIP and GV still working?
13th June 2014, 02:20 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
233 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by b00b

was expecting this to end on May 15th, but til today, GrooVeIP is still working for me.

I can log into my GV using my email, same as usual and i can still make calls and still recieve calls

Is anyone else GrooVeIP and GV still working?

Yep. It's still working. There are many speculations as to why, but I guess only Google knows what's really going on.
13th June 2014, 02:37 PM   |  #6  
b00b's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
56 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Question
Quote:
Originally Posted by goldentequila

Yep. It's still working. There are many speculations as to why, but I guess only Google knows what's really going on.

Thanks for confirming, thought i was being very very lucky :P

Anyway, have you or anyone tried the new GrooVeIP v2.0.4 which gives you a new number via ring.to because of the pending Google termination?

I cant seem to get this new version to work for me.

Using Xperia SP, Android 4.3 and using 4g/LTE.

The problem i am having is that i can not make any calls, i keep getting the popup saying -

"Call failed

Please make sure your network is not set to IPv6 only. On mobile data this can be done by opening the android settings, pressing More under Data usage. Then Mobile Networks, then Access Point Names and pressing the selected Access Point. Scroll down and change APN Protocol and APN Roaming Protocol to IPv4 or IPv4/IPv6
"

I checked my APN as above and both options was set to IPv4 anyway, so that is not the problem

However, when i revert back to the older GrooVeIP version that uses my GV number, it works ok, i can call out and i can receive calls no problems or complaints about IPv6 settings.

Any comments or solutions?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-06-13-11-11-55.png
Views:	44
Size:	153.4 KB
ID:	2795822  
Last edited by b00b; 13th June 2014 at 02:42 PM.
13th June 2014, 02:52 PM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
233 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by b00b

Thanks for confirming, thought i was being very very lucky :P

Anyway, have you or anyone tried the new GrooVeIP v2.0.4 which gives you a new number via ring.to because of the pending Google termination?

I cant seem to get this new version to work for me.

Using Xperia SP, Android 4.3 and using 4g/LTE.

The problem i am having is that i can not make any calls, i keep getting the popup saying -

"Call failed

Please make sure your network is not set to IPv6 only. On mobile data this can be done by opening the android settings, pressing More under Data usage. Then Mobile Networks, then Access Point Names and pressing the selected Access Point. Scroll down and change APN Protocol and APN Roaming Protocol to IPv4 or IPv4/IPv6
"

I checked my APN as above and both options was set to IPv4 anyway, so that is not the problem

However, when i revert back to the older GrooVeIP version that uses my GV number, it works ok, i can call out and i can receive calls no problems or complaints about IPv6 settings.

Any comments or solutions?

Did you try asking the GrooveIP's developer? They(he?) are pretty good at helping. In the past, I contacted them on 2 different occasions, and I got help pretty much instantly both times.

On a side note, Google is planning to add a call feature to hangouts app (already done for iPhone version), which will let you make and receive calls via hangouts. So, if I were you, I'd just wait for that instead of jumping on to a different setup.
13th June 2014, 03:05 PM   |  #8  
b00b's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
56 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by goldentequila

Did you try asking the GrooveIP's developer? They(he?) are pretty good at helping. In the past, I contacted them on 2 different occasions, and I got help pretty much instantly both times.

On a side note, Google is planning to add a call feature to hangouts app (already done for iPhone version), which will let you make and receive calls via hangouts. So, if I were you, I'd just wait for that instead of jumping on to a different setup.

Yeah will contact the GrooVe IP developers, it just that the few topics i read on the ring.to forum doesnt seem to point to a solution other than, doing what the popup said about IPv6 as above and on another a comment claiming that "Ring.to does not connect on 4G/LTE", which make no sense as the new GrooVeIP that is only now working with Ring.to clearly has an option that you tick to allow connection via 3g/4g, and also i can call using the old GrooVeIP app on 4g, so just thought that my friends at xda may have a working solution

Although i do not use Google Hangout, will see how it works on android once that is in place.
Last edited by b00b; 13th June 2014 at 03:08 PM.
13th June 2014, 05:12 PM   |  #9  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag HuntsVegas!!!
Thanks Meter: 6,488
 
9,195 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
I could be mistaken, but I don't think IPv6 is available to us unless we have an LTE capable device.
14th June 2014, 04:09 AM   |  #10  
b00b's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
56 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocHoliday77

I could be mistaken, but I don't think IPv6 is available to us unless we have an LTE capable device.

thanks for your comment

but a little bit lost as to the point you are trying to make, can you expand a bit pls.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes