Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,688 Members 40,215 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Groove IP Ending

Tip us?
 
goldentequila
Old
(Last edited by goldentequila; 9th February 2014 at 10:50 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 224
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default Groove IP Ending

Hi, everyone.

Did a search and didn't find a dedicated thread for this, so I thought I'd write one. I recently learned that Groove IP is shutting down d/t a change Google is making to their Voice. It appears that the change is going to disable pretty much all other similar voip apps. I figured this would impact T-Mobile $30/mo plan VOIP users the most, so I wanted to give you a headsup. You can read more about it here

It's a sad ending to a great setup, but all good things come to an end.

P.S. I also heard that Google's Hangouts will be able to make/receive calls soon (hopefully), so if it comes before May, we may be ok. iOS version of hangouts already has this feature, which is messed up.

GT
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to goldentequila For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
llfestu
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Feb 2014
thanks for the info
 
streetenigma23
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 22
Join Date: Mar 2013
Interesting
 
b00b
Old
#4  
b00b's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 56
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by goldentequila View Post
Hi, everyone.

Did a search and didn't find a dedicated thread for this, so I thought I'd write one. I recently learned that Groove IP is shutting down d/t a change Google is making to their Voice. It appears that the change is going to disable pretty much all other similar voip apps. I figured this would impact T-Mobile $30/mo plan VOIP users the most, so I wanted to give you a headsup. You can read more about it here

It's a sad ending to a great setup, but all good things come to an end.

P.S. I also heard that Google's Hangouts will be able to make/receive calls soon (hopefully), so if it comes before May, we may be ok. iOS version of hangouts already has this feature, which is messed up.

GT
was expecting this to end on May 15th, but til today, GrooVeIP is still working for me.

I can log into my GV using my email, same as usual and i can still make calls and still recieve calls

Is anyone else GrooVeIP and GV still working?
[ಠ_ಠ]

Xperia SP ~ rooted! (C5303 now on Android 4.3 & build 12.1.A.1.201)
.....................................was on - Android 4.12 & 12.0.A.1.211.



Always on the quest for excellence!
 
goldentequila
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 224
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by b00b View Post
was expecting this to end on May 15th, but til today, GrooVeIP is still working for me.

I can log into my GV using my email, same as usual and i can still make calls and still recieve calls

Is anyone else GrooVeIP and GV still working?
Yep. It's still working. There are many speculations as to why, but I guess only Google knows what's really going on.
 
b00b
Old
(Last edited by b00b; 13th June 2014 at 01:42 PM.)
#6  
b00b's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 56
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by goldentequila View Post
Yep. It's still working. There are many speculations as to why, but I guess only Google knows what's really going on.
Thanks for confirming, thought i was being very very lucky :P

Anyway, have you or anyone tried the new GrooVeIP v2.0.4 which gives you a new number via ring.to because of the pending Google termination?

I cant seem to get this new version to work for me.

Using Xperia SP, Android 4.3 and using 4g/LTE.

The problem i am having is that i can not make any calls, i keep getting the popup saying -

"Call failed

Please make sure your network is not set to IPv6 only. On mobile data this can be done by opening the android settings, pressing More under Data usage. Then Mobile Networks, then Access Point Names and pressing the selected Access Point. Scroll down and change APN Protocol and APN Roaming Protocol to IPv4 or IPv4/IPv6
"

I checked my APN as above and both options was set to IPv4 anyway, so that is not the problem

However, when i revert back to the older GrooVeIP version that uses my GV number, it works ok, i can call out and i can receive calls no problems or complaints about IPv6 settings.

Any comments or solutions?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-06-13-11-11-55.png
Views:	38
Size:	153.4 KB
ID:	2795822  
[ಠ_ಠ]

Xperia SP ~ rooted! (C5303 now on Android 4.3 & build 12.1.A.1.201)
.....................................was on - Android 4.12 & 12.0.A.1.211.



Always on the quest for excellence!
 
goldentequila
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 224
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by b00b View Post
Thanks for confirming, thought i was being very very lucky :P

Anyway, have you or anyone tried the new GrooVeIP v2.0.4 which gives you a new number via ring.to because of the pending Google termination?

I cant seem to get this new version to work for me.

Using Xperia SP, Android 4.3 and using 4g/LTE.

The problem i am having is that i can not make any calls, i keep getting the popup saying -

"Call failed

Please make sure your network is not set to IPv6 only. On mobile data this can be done by opening the android settings, pressing More under Data usage. Then Mobile Networks, then Access Point Names and pressing the selected Access Point. Scroll down and change APN Protocol and APN Roaming Protocol to IPv4 or IPv4/IPv6
"

I checked my APN as above and both options was set to IPv4 anyway, so that is not the problem

However, when i revert back to the older GrooVeIP version that uses my GV number, it works ok, i can call out and i can receive calls no problems or complaints about IPv6 settings.

Any comments or solutions?
Did you try asking the GrooveIP's developer? They(he?) are pretty good at helping. In the past, I contacted them on 2 different occasions, and I got help pretty much instantly both times.

On a side note, Google is planning to add a call feature to hangouts app (already done for iPhone version), which will let you make and receive calls via hangouts. So, if I were you, I'd just wait for that instead of jumping on to a different setup.
 
b00b
Old
(Last edited by b00b; 13th June 2014 at 02:08 PM.)
#8  
b00b's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 56
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by goldentequila View Post
Did you try asking the GrooveIP's developer? They(he?) are pretty good at helping. In the past, I contacted them on 2 different occasions, and I got help pretty much instantly both times.

On a side note, Google is planning to add a call feature to hangouts app (already done for iPhone version), which will let you make and receive calls via hangouts. So, if I were you, I'd just wait for that instead of jumping on to a different setup.
Yeah will contact the GrooVe IP developers, it just that the few topics i read on the ring.to forum doesnt seem to point to a solution other than, doing what the popup said about IPv6 as above and on another a comment claiming that "Ring.to does not connect on 4G/LTE", which make no sense as the new GrooVeIP that is only now working with Ring.to clearly has an option that you tick to allow connection via 3g/4g, and also i can call using the old GrooVeIP app on 4g, so just thought that my friends at xda may have a working solution

Although i do not use Google Hangout, will see how it works on android once that is in place.
[ಠ_ಠ]

Xperia SP ~ rooted! (C5303 now on Android 4.3 & build 12.1.A.1.201)
.....................................was on - Android 4.12 & 12.0.A.1.211.



Always on the quest for excellence!
 
DocHoliday77
Old
#9  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 5,872
Posts: 8,525
Join Date: May 2011
Location: HuntsVegas!!!

 
DONATE TO ME
I could be mistaken, but I don't think IPv6 is available to us unless we have an LTE capable device.
 
b00b
Old
#10  
b00b's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 56
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocHoliday77 View Post
I could be mistaken, but I don't think IPv6 is available to us unless we have an LTE capable device.
thanks for your comment

but a little bit lost as to the point you are trying to make, can you expand a bit pls.
[ಠ_ಠ]

Xperia SP ~ rooted! (C5303 now on Android 4.3 & build 12.1.A.1.201)
.....................................was on - Android 4.12 & 12.0.A.1.211.



Always on the quest for excellence!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Google Play Services Updated to Version 6.1

In addition to Android operating system proper, Google is focusing hard on giving the developers … more

CyanogenMod 11 M10 Available for Supported Devices

Summer vacation isover for most students out there, and it’s the time to get back to … more

XDA Forums Added for the First Batch of Android One Devices!

Just yesterday, we talked about the highly anticipated launch of the first batch … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: DonkeyGuard, Don’t Be a Donkey, Control Your Device – XDA Developer TV

Some applications ask for the world … more