Firefox OS Architecture and Collaboration Opportunities w/ Asa Dotzler – XDA:DevCon 2014

We were privileged to host many presentations … more

Unofficial Android 4.4 Lands on Three Mediatek Devices

For the last few years, devices with MTK systems-on-chip haven’t received much … more

MultiImagePicker Library for Multiple Image Selection

App developmentcan be done in more than a handful of ways. You can write every single … more

Shoot Troubles, Not Users w/ Alex Boag-Munroe – XDA:DevCon 2014

In presenting the various sessions from XDA:DevCon 2014, weve mainly … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Can we still change APN settings without root?, other ST&T phones for ST LTE?

OP GamerXavier

15th June 2014, 12:59 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
I do not have an S4. I ordered one from Swappa expecting to use it on Straighttalks LTE service. Already ordered the sim card as well.
However, of course right after this I started digging a bit more and found that it is currently impossible to root an S4 after it's updated to 4.4.2. The one I ordered is updated.
I'd highly prefer to have root. I don't "need" it. But, if I can achieve root without much issue I'd prefer it.

I did find a few posts about using something called Odin and safestrap. I didn't read fully through them yet. But, I'm curious if doing these methods actually work for downgrading? If they do what are the "limits"? Can I put any Rom in or is it only a specific Rom?
Will I likely run into issues doing this while using the ST LTE settings?

Just trying to cover my bases before I start on this phone. It's not here yet and I'd rather resell it if I'm better off doing that.

I am curious what would be suggested purchase for the ST LTE service since it seems the AT&T S4 is out of question if I can't even update the damn thing. I'd rather be capable of updates and having root. I don't care about being able to do Roms and stuff.
15th June 2014, 01:04 AM   |  #2  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 4,013
 
11,420 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Dude, you can have root on any firmware but it may not be easy to get it. Do you know what firmware your device will have?

Odin flashes the stock firmware onto your device. Safestrap is a custom recovery that you'll need to flash custom touch wiz roms

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
15th June 2014, 01:08 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639

Dude, you can have root on any firmware but it may not be easy to get it. Do you know what firmware your device will have?

Odin flashes the stock firmware onto your device. Safestrap is a custom recovery that you'll need to flash custom touch wiz roms

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app

I've been reading nonstop that the 4.4.2 AT&T Galaxy s4 is not rootable? If this is inaccurate can you lead me to a post that shows the method for rooting this version?
I do not know anything about the phone other than it being updated to 4.4.2.
15th June 2014, 01:15 AM   |  #4  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 4,013
 
11,420 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by GamerXavier

I've been reading nonstop that the 4.4.2 AT&T Galaxy s4 is not rootable? If this is inaccurate can you lead me to a post that shows the method for rooting this version?
I do not know anything about the phone other than it being updated to 4.4.2.

It can be rooted. You'll need to downgrade thru Odin to mk2 firmware, root it with saferoot then instill safestrap and flash a 4.4.2 rooted rom Start here
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=49562527
Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app

And keep asking questions. You're limited to the roms you can flash but you can get root
15th June 2014, 01:24 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639

It can be rooted. You'll need to downgrade thru Odin to mk2 firmware, root it with saferoot then instill safestrap and flash a 4.4.2 rooted rom Start here
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=49562527
Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app

And keep asking questions. You're limited to the roms you can flash but you can get root



I'm curious about Cyanogenmod? If it's worth it or possible atm?

Once I get the phone probably later this week I'll get started on the process.
15th June 2014, 01:31 AM   |  #6  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 4,013
 
11,420 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by GamerXavier

I'm curious about Cyanogenmod? If it's worth it or possible atm?

Once I get the phone probably later this week I'll get started on the process.

No, cm is not possible. Only touch wiz based roms

Edit, as an fyi, if your phone is on 4.4.2 it'll be on nb1 or nc1 firmware. Read up on how to downgrade to mk2. Look in the general forum. Also look at rebel1699's venom magic tool kit. There's a lot of reading and studying to do before you get your phone

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
Last edited by jd1639; 15th June 2014 at 01:47 AM.
17th June 2014, 01:48 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
http://www.androidpolice.com/2014/06...urrent-device/

Is this going to work on the ATT S4? It's stated that it would. Would save me the trouble of doing all of this other stuff.
17th June 2014, 01:53 AM   |  #8  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 4,013
 
11,420 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by GamerXavier

http://www.androidpolice.com/2014/06...urrent-device/

Is this going to work on the ATT S4? It's stated that it would. Would save me the trouble of doing all of this other stuff.

Yes it does if you're on nc1 firmware. Seems it didn't work on nb1

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
17th June 2014, 01:56 AM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
I shall hope to get lucky and have the NC1 firmware :P

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes