Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,814,481 Members 54,108 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Root and bootloader unlock on stock KK

Tip us?
 
krystianp
Old
(Last edited by krystianp; 16th June 2014 at 12:15 PM.) Reason: Some extra info, how to do it
#1  
krystianp's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11,731
Posts: 668
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Rzeszow

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Root and bootloader unlock on stock KK

Hi,

Root works using @geohot kernel exploit. And when you root it you can use old bootloader exploit to unlock bootloader. Just unlocked my razr

Edit:

After reading some comments I decided to add quick walkthrough (there are other ones inside this thread, so you're not obligated to use mine:

1. Get root exploit either from the original thread or from my dropbox.
2. You can also download bl unlocker motopocalypse.apk from my dropbox.
3. Put those files on your phone.
4. Install tr.apk and motopocalypse.apk
5. Run tr.apk, wait till it reboots your phone.
6. Check if root is working, if it does then run motopocalypse.
7. Check in fastboot more if "status code" equals "3" (turn off your phone and start it with power button + vol up pressed simultaneously).
8. If it does, you can appreciate @geohut and @djrbliss work by donating to them.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2014-06-15_21-27-36_625.jpg
Views:	4055
Size:	246.1 KB
ID:	2800250  
The Following 36 Users Say Thank You to krystianp For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
drkdeath5000
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 213
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by krystianp View Post
Hi,

Root works using @geohot kernel exploit. And when you root it you can use old bootloader exploit to unlock bootloader. Just unlocked my razr
Awesome stuff i saw this mentioned in the other thread but wasnt sure if it was the real deal. I'm locked on the previous jelly bean build so i'm guessing if i now update to kitkat i can then gain root and unlock the bootloader?
 
rehtom
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: May 2014
Default Happy Father's Day!

Quote:
Originally Posted by krystianp View Post
Hi,

Root works using @geohot kernel exploit. And when you root it you can use old bootloader exploit to unlock bootloader. Just unlocked my razr
do you have a link to download the exploit?
 
drkdeath5000
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 213
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by rehtom View Post
do you have a link to download the exploit?
Link here- http://towelroot.com/ but i'm scared to use it until someone verifies.
The Following User Says Thank You to drkdeath5000 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
krystianp
Old
#5  
krystianp's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11,731
Posts: 668
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Rzeszow

 
DONATE TO ME
I was on stock jb, updated to stock kk, then used root exploit and BL unlocker.

Wysłane z mojego DROID RAZR HD przy użyciu Tapatalka
 
drkdeath5000
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 213
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by krystianp View Post
I was on stock jb, updated to stock kk, then used root exploit and BL unlocker.

Wysłane z mojego DROID RAZR HD przy użyciu Tapatalka
Downloading the KK update now! I'm so excited just hope its not going to let me down.

Just to verify will this work on a locked xt926 running JB 9.18.94?
 
billycar11
Old
#7  
billycar11's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 66
Posts: 210
Join Date: Mar 2012
this is extremely lucky we get two chances to unlock our boot loaders every one who still has this phone better do this while they still can i almost think Motorola made it so we could unlock again because they felt sorry for us.
 
rehtom
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by krystianp View Post
I was on stock jb, updated to stock kk, then used root exploit and BL unlocker.

Wysłane z mojego DROID RAZR HD przy użyciu Tapatalka
were you able to update via OTA?
 
krystianp
Old
#9  
krystianp's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11,731
Posts: 668
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Rzeszow

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by rehtom View Post
were you able to update via OTA?
I flashed using kk zip from sbf.droid-developers.org
 
krystianp
Old
#10  
krystianp's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11,731
Posts: 668
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Rzeszow

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by billycar11 View Post
this is extremely lucky we get two chances to unlock our boot loaders every one who still has this phone better do this while they still can i almost think Motorola made it so we could unlock again because they felt sorry for us.
I think that too. They left us backdoor to unlock BL.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes