Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Root and bootloader unlock on stock KK

OP krystianp

15th June 2014, 09:29 PM   |  #1  
krystianp's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Rzeszow
Thanks Meter: 11,738
 
668 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
Hi,

Root works using @geohot kernel exploit. And when you root it you can use old bootloader exploit to unlock bootloader. Just unlocked my razr

Edit:

After reading some comments I decided to add quick walkthrough (there are other ones inside this thread, so you're not obligated to use mine:

1. Get root exploit either from the original thread or from my dropbox.
2. You can also download bl unlocker motopocalypse.apk from my dropbox.
3. Put those files on your phone.
4. Install tr.apk and motopocalypse.apk
5. Run tr.apk, wait till it reboots your phone.
6. Check if root is working, if it does then run motopocalypse.
7. Check in fastboot more if "status code" equals "3" (turn off your phone and start it with power button + vol up pressed simultaneously).
8. If it does, you can appreciate @geohut and @djrbliss work by donating to them.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2014-06-15_21-27-36_625.jpg
Views:	6773
Size:	246.1 KB
ID:	2800250  
Last edited by krystianp; 16th June 2014 at 01:15 PM. Reason: Some extra info, how to do it
The Following 39 Users Say Thank You to krystianp For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th June 2014, 09:34 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
215 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by krystianp

Hi,

Root works using @geohot kernel exploit. And when you root it you can use old bootloader exploit to unlock bootloader. Just unlocked my razr

Awesome stuff i saw this mentioned in the other thread but wasnt sure if it was the real deal. I'm locked on the previous jelly bean build so i'm guessing if i now update to kitkat i can then gain root and unlock the bootloader?
15th June 2014, 09:39 PM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Happy Father's Day!
Quote:
Originally Posted by krystianp

Hi,

Root works using @geohot kernel exploit. And when you root it you can use old bootloader exploit to unlock bootloader. Just unlocked my razr

do you have a link to download the exploit?
15th June 2014, 09:42 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
215 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by rehtom

do you have a link to download the exploit?

Link here- http://towelroot.com/ but i'm scared to use it until someone verifies.
The Following User Says Thank You to drkdeath5000 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th June 2014, 09:46 PM   |  #5  
krystianp's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Rzeszow
Thanks Meter: 11,738
 
668 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
I was on stock jb, updated to stock kk, then used root exploit and BL unlocker.

Wysłane z mojego DROID RAZR HD przy użyciu Tapatalka
15th June 2014, 09:49 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
215 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by krystianp

I was on stock jb, updated to stock kk, then used root exploit and BL unlocker.

Wysłane z mojego DROID RAZR HD przy użyciu Tapatalka

Downloading the KK update now! I'm so excited just hope its not going to let me down.

Just to verify will this work on a locked xt926 running JB 9.18.94?
15th June 2014, 09:54 PM   |  #7  
billycar11's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 92
 
270 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Thumbs up
this is extremely lucky we get two chances to unlock our boot loaders every one who still has this phone better do this while they still can i almost think Motorola made it so we could unlock again because they felt sorry for us.
15th June 2014, 10:01 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by krystianp

I was on stock jb, updated to stock kk, then used root exploit and BL unlocker.

Wysłane z mojego DROID RAZR HD przy użyciu Tapatalka

were you able to update via OTA?
15th June 2014, 10:06 PM   |  #9  
krystianp's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Rzeszow
Thanks Meter: 11,738
 
668 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by rehtom

were you able to update via OTA?

I flashed using kk zip from sbf.droid-developers.org
15th June 2014, 10:07 PM   |  #10  
krystianp's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Rzeszow
Thanks Meter: 11,738
 
668 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by billycar11

this is extremely lucky we get two chances to unlock our boot loaders every one who still has this phone better do this while they still can i almost think Motorola made it so we could unlock again because they felt sorry for us.

I think that too. They left us backdoor to unlock BL.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes