Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,770,637 Members 39,211 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Mod-ish] Screen Resolution Change - Boost 3D Performance

Tip us?
 
AngryDinosaur
Old
(Last edited by AngryDinosaur; 8th January 2014 at 11:32 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 381
Posts: 1,784
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Boston

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [Mod-ish] Screen Resolution Change - Boost 3D Performance

PLAY AROUND AT YOUR OWN RISK

TF701T runs 1600P stock, but honestly that's too high for tegra 4 to handle. Performance is not very good when running live wallpaper and some games.

So I asked @sbdags if it is possible to change screen resolution, and here it is. You will have to change the density and screen size. I tried this on both 4.2.2 and 4.3. This will stick after rebooting.

First, you need to be rooted.
Set default launcher to nova or apex. Asus launcher sometimes crash when you are on a different density
Then, download terminal emulator from store.
Reboot after typing both commands. su is just to check for root

Screenshot


If running 4.2.2 on terminal and type

Low Res
su
am display-density 160
am display-size 1280x800

High Res ish
su
am display-density 240
am display-size 1920x1200


If on 4.3 type

Low Res
su
wm density 160
wm size 1280x800

High Res ish
su
wm density 240
wm size 1920x1200

Super High Res
to revert back, change the number and type reset for both density and resolution

This will improve 3D performance in live wallpaper and games. BUT you wont be able to use downloaded keyboards (swiftkey, swype) you can only use the keyboards that came with the device (Asus stock keyboard). The downloaded ones doesn't play well on low density

Credit and pointers
sbdags
SAMSUNG GALAXY NOTE II
[ROM][TW4.4]*eZKAT*| Official | N3/S5 Features |
ASUS EEE PAD TRANSFORMER TF101
[ROM][JB 4.2.2] [ KatKiss-4.2.2 #226 ]
ASUS EEE PAD TRANSFORMER TF701T
[ROM]★★[JB 4.3][CROMi-X 6.1]★★
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to AngryDinosaur For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
AngryDinosaur
Old
(Last edited by AngryDinosaur; 3rd January 2014 at 05:36 AM.)
#2  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 381
Posts: 1,784
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Boston

 
DONATE TO ME
Some Screenshots
Compare the 3D Performance score

Stock 4.2.2 Res Antutu Benchmark


Stock 4.3 Res Antutu Benchmark



1920x1200 Antutu Benchmark



1280x800 Antutu Benchmark



The Messed Up Keyboard
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to AngryDinosaur For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
zabih107
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 133
Join Date: Aug 2012
Thank you for this. I was looking for a thread like this and finally u have brought it up. :thumbup:

Sent from my K00C using Tapatalk 4
The Following User Says Thank You to zabih107 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
AngryDinosaur
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 381
Posts: 1,784
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Boston

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by zabih107 View Post
Thank you for this. I was looking for a thread like this and finally u have brought it up. :thumbup:

Sent from my K00C using Tapatalk 4
Thanks, try it out and tell us what you think
The Following User Says Thank You to AngryDinosaur For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
pelago
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 80
Join Date: Oct 2012
Can you make this change on a per-app basis?
 
aznmode
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 773
Posts: 4,073
Join Date: Jun 2007
Nice. Same mod done to the tf700. Made that device much smoother as well.

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk
Don't forget to give thanks if I've helped you in anyway...
The Following User Says Thank You to aznmode For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Caumen
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 23
Join Date: Oct 2012
It would be very cool if we could downscale the resolution when inside a game, while normal everywhere else. Something like hybrid engine in AOSPA but with the resolution downscaling together with the gui.
The Following User Says Thank You to Caumen For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
zabih107
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 133
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caumen View Post
It would be very cool if we could downscale the resolution when inside a game, while normal everywhere else. Something like hybrid engine in AOSPA but with the resolution downscaling together with the gui.
That's like dream come true

Sent from my K00C using Tapatalk 4
 
AngryDinosaur
Old
#9  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 381
Posts: 1,784
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Boston

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by pelago View Post
Can you make this change on a per-app basis?
This method will act like a permanent solution to resolution change, I believe there is a app on play store that can change resolution on the fly so to speak.

Sent from my SGH-T889 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
SAMSUNG GALAXY NOTE II
[ROM][TW4.4]*eZKAT*| Official | N3/S5 Features |
ASUS EEE PAD TRANSFORMER TF101
[ROM][JB 4.2.2] [ KatKiss-4.2.2 #226 ]
ASUS EEE PAD TRANSFORMER TF701T
[ROM]★★[JB 4.3][CROMi-X 6.1]★★
The Following User Says Thank You to AngryDinosaur For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
AngryDinosaur
Old
#10  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 381
Posts: 1,784
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Boston

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caumen View Post
It would be very cool if we could downscale the resolution when inside a game, while normal everywhere else. Something like hybrid engine in AOSPA but with the resolution downscaling together with the gui.
Ya that would be nice, but I'm no way close to being a dev not by a long shot. Might need a working script or kernel support

Sent from my SGH-T889 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
SAMSUNG GALAXY NOTE II
[ROM][TW4.4]*eZKAT*| Official | N3/S5 Features |
ASUS EEE PAD TRANSFORMER TF101
[ROM][JB 4.2.2] [ KatKiss-4.2.2 #226 ]
ASUS EEE PAD TRANSFORMER TF701T
[ROM]★★[JB 4.3][CROMi-X 6.1]★★

The Following User Says Thank You to AngryDinosaur For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes