Samsung Galaxy Note Edge Hands On – XDA TV

Perhaps one of the more peculiar announcements this year was the curved edge-screened … more

Nova Launcher Update Brings Lollipop Functionality and Feel

One of the most popular third party launcher on Android, Nova Launcher, has just … more

Check Your I/O Usage with Iotop for Android

Ever needed to check the I/O usage of apps? If so, you probably tried searching for an iotop … more

T-Mobile HTC One M8 Gets Selfie-Friendly Android 4.4.4 OTA

The T-Mobie variant of HTC One (M8) just now received an over-the-air update … more
Post Reply

Exclamation [Q] FireTV providing extra info?

OP jrgx19

17th June 2014, 09:14 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
I live in the UK and had been using the FTV since it came out. I have been using vyprVPN on my router loaded with DD-WRT. So I am able to access all of the US content. Since I rooted my FTV last night, everytime I go into Hulu (from the FTV) the IP address I use gets flagged by Hulu and I am not able to use that IP anymore. Has root enabled the FTV to provide some extra information to the Hulu server to flag those IP addresses? I did not have an issue before I rooted. I don't want to keep using different addresses until I figure out what's going on. So far only Hulu is flagging the addresses, Amazon, Netflix etc work fine. I checked the SU app, Hulu does not have root access. Any ideas?
Last edited by jrgx19; 17th June 2014 at 09:19 PM. Reason: extra information
17th June 2014, 10:43 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 67
 
250 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Unroot then reset and see what happens. It might just be a new measure from Hulu that started around the time you rooted.
18th June 2014, 04:33 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 199
 
753 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Try installing Root Cloak - Hulu's always been top drawer paranoid about content leakage, and it would not surprise me if they were asking the OS "hey, is there a copy of su in /system?" and reporting back to the mothership if one is seen.

Don't know if RC helps with Hulu.
18th June 2014, 07:04 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by roustabout

Try installing Root Cloak - Hulu's always been top drawer paranoid about content leakage, and it would not surprise me if they were asking the OS "hey, is there a copy of su in /system?" and reporting back to the mothership if one is seen.

Don't know if RC helps with Hulu.

Thanks, Ill give this a try when i get home

UPDATE: it did not work, I tried it with a new IP address, I was able to watch about 15. It kicked me off and when I came back, the IP was flagged. The odd part is that this only happens with the rooted FTV. I use my rooted GS4 to watch hulu. I have not have an issue. I used it today just fine.

The part that sucks is that once the IP is flagged, It cannot be used to stream from hulu from any other device or browser. I removed root and the IP flagging stopped. I guess I will need to stay unrooted in order to use hulu....
Last edited by jrgx19; 18th June 2014 at 11:54 PM. Reason: Update
18th June 2014, 07:13 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by kairnage

Unroot then reset and see what happens. It might just be a new measure from Hulu that started around the time you rooted.

any idea on how to safely unroot?

UPDATE: I removed root and the IP flagging stopped. I guess I will need to stay unrooted in order to use hulu.... Thanks for the idea..!
Last edited by jrgx19; 18th June 2014 at 11:56 PM. Reason: update
19th June 2014, 12:07 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 67
 
250 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrgx19

any idea on how to safely unroot?

UPDATE: I removed root and the IP flagging stopped. I guess I will need to stay unrooted in order to use hulu.... Thanks for the idea..!

You could try to use a tablet version Hulu instead of the Amazon's or get one of the Root Blocker tools and see if HUlu works with it enabled like OTA Rootkeeper. Could be they tied their HUlu app into their VOD.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Fire TV Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank