5,815,022 Members 37,793 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

"Internet connection is unstable" issue

Tip us?
 
hunter186
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Oct 2012
Default "Internet connection is unstable" issue

OK, I've seen a lot of posts in various forums about this issue, but have yet to find a single thread that captures all the details about what I've experienced. Let me know if I should move this conversation into a different thread.

On my home wifi network, I am able to connect, but constantly receive the error "internet connection is unstable", and I cannot pull any data over wifi. I noticed this issue on my home network after returning from a business trip this week. I'd previously seen the issue occasionally in hotels, etc, and had already disabled the "Passpoint" and "Auto network switch settings". That seemed to work on the road, but now that I'm at home, I'm unable to pull any data over wifi.

My home router is a TP-Link Archer C7, running the latest firmware.

Per Verizon and Samsung's advice, I cleared the cache partition, "forgot" and reconnected to the network, tried using safe mode, and tried a factory reset of the phone. I also restarted the router and changed the router's broadcast channels.

Last night, I rooted the phone via Kingo and installed the Jelly 'Beans' rom using SafeStrap, since I wasn't getting satisfactory answers from support. To my surprise, the issue also occurred on the new rom. I'm not an Android expert, but it seems like this means its either:

1) a hardware issue, or
2) a lower-level software issue (radio firmware? not sure how that works)

I removed root and safestrap, to continue support options with Verizon, but I wanted to ping the community here for suggestions. The timing is confusing to me. I'm pretty sure, though not certain, that I've used my home network successfully since the 12/17 OTA update. However, since so many others are seeing issues, it seems unlikely that this is a hardware issue.

Could others describe their issues and router, so we can look for patterns? Let me know if I should move this into a different thread.

Thanks!
 
shawnten
Old
#2  
shawnten's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 122
Posts: 1,372
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Yorktown
Mine does the same thing from time to time but only on certain roms

Sent from my SM-N900V using XDA Premium HD app
 
hunter186
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Oct 2012
yeah, I'd seen intermittent issues previously, but all of a sudden it stopped working at home entirely. Still connects to some other networks, although not all.

After seeing a bunch of posts on the Verizon forums (and just the general timing and behavior of the issue) it seemed like a software problem.


Verizon is actually cooperating, so I may just end up replacing this phone. Wondering if anyone else has seen wifi completely break like this.
 
barrackOBAMA
Old
#4  
barrackOBAMA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 299
Posts: 571
Join Date: Jan 2013
This is the only thing I can not stand about my note
 
darkhawkff
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 193
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Lancaster, PA
I have a Zyxel WAP3205 WIFI access point (Wireless G) that I use at both work and at home.

At home, I have Comcast Business Cable internet, and have absolutely no issues connecting to it. The WAP is connected to a Belkin N600 router, which is then connected to my cable modem (not sure of the model, shouldn't matter TBQH).

At work on the other hand, I have constant connection issues. Albeit, I don't get the 'connection is unstable' notification, but I get constant connect/disconnect problems. I also have almost no (most of the time I can't even send/receive text messages at my desk.....) phone signal (ie not even 1X). I'm not sure if that plays into it at all either. The company I work for uses Windstream for their ISP, and it's complete crap to be perfectly honest. Needless to say, it doesn't change the fact that I'm connecting to the internet through the same device (well, same model/firmware/etc...), and I'm having issues at 1 place and not at the other.

I might also add that my tablet (Nexus 7 2013 running CM11) doesn't seem to have these issues at all and works just fine via the WIFI.

That's about the only information that I can provide. I know my internet where I work is complete crap. I sometimes remote desktop back to my home server to browse the web and download files via that because it's actually faster. I'm not even kidding.
Devices:
Current: Verizon Samsung Galaxy Note 3 Rooted
Previous:Samsung Galaxy Nexus (LTE) - MMuzzy's Jelly Bean 4.2
Current: Nexus 7 2013 (32 gb) rooted running Paranoid Android 3.94
Previous: Asus Transformer TF700, Asus Transformer TF101
 
saltsnake1
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Dec 2013
I have 2 routers at home and have experienced the same issue as well and none of my other devices have this problem

Sent from Rooted Note 3 (stock rom) Xposed framework
 
hunter186
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Oct 2012
Verizon is shipping a replacement phone to me tomorrow, so I'll test this out and see if it makes a difference. I'm on the road until Thursday, so it'll be a few days before I can check on my home router.

The behavior on this issue just seems strange. It began intermittently, but then completely stopped working at my house (but still sometimes works elsewhere). Lots of people report intermittent issues, but a few seem completely broken. Not sure what to make of it, I'm just glad I was able to get a different device out of Verizon. We'll see if that actually fixes the problem.
 
Harleydroid
Old
(Last edited by Harleydroid; 27th January 2014 at 06:37 PM.)
#8  
Harleydroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 624
Posts: 1,492
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: The Fort
I haven't had this notification until I got the Note3. Is it possible that its android 4.3? Or this tw 4.3? Anybody know if other folks get this with other devices?
 
exactor_mortis
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 37
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harleydroid View Post
I haven't had this notification until I got the Note3. Is it possible that its android 4.3? Or this tw 4.3? Anybody know if other folks get this with other devices?
I only have this problem if I connect to the wifi at work, which is odd because I'm about 7 unobstructed feet away from the AP. I don't get this anywhere else.

I had a Note2 on stock rom up to 4.3 and never had the issue. I have a 2012 Nexus 7 latest version, again, no problem. It's only on my Note3 with stock rom that this happens.
 
Harleydroid
Old
#10  
Harleydroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 624
Posts: 1,492
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: The Fort
Quote:
Originally Posted by exactor_mortis View Post
I only have this problem if I connect to the wifi at work, which is odd because I'm about 7 unobstructed feet away from the AP. I don't get this anywhere else.

I had a Note2 on stock rom up to 4.3 and never had the issue. I have a 2012 Nexus 7 latest version, again, no problem. It's only on my Note3 with stock rom that this happens.
It happens on custom roms too.
I've asked a couple devs if they could remove it and they said it been like that in android for along time.But I never experienced it until my Note 3

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes