Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,784,382 Members 45,948 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[GUIDE] Download Booster Working!

Tip us?
 
chronicaust
Old
(Last edited by chronicaust; 24th June 2014 at 01:26 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 86
Posts: 169
Join Date: Sep 2013
Default [GUIDE] Download Booster Working!

OKAY guys I got it working. See screenshots. AND FOLLOW THESE STEPS

Update: Recommended only for users with ANCE build version.
You can downgrade using only the AP file without removing any user data (only some system modifications and root, but you can reroot of course).

Known Bugs on ANCE:
Private Mode does not enable.

Update 2: I believe you can enable download booster without replacing your SecSettings.apk and SecSettings.odex files, however this is not yet confirmed. For a guide to do it this way, see this post http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...25545437261462
Requirements:

Use this services.jar NOT the one from the zip. https://www.dropbox.com/s/vziudszmba2l9zm/services.jar
Root
ES File Explorer (make sure Root Mode is enabled)
v2.1 odex file from this thread http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2719582

YMMV, so I recommend copying these four files from your system folder to somewhere safe (external sd or PC) just in case something goes wrong.

GOOD LUCK!

1. Download/unzip the SecSettings.apk, SecSettings.odex, and services.odex files from the zip. Download modified services.jar from here (https://www.dropbox.com/s/vziudszmba2l9zm/services.jar )

2. Copy ALL FOUR files to the /system root folder
3. Fix all permissions to rw-r-r (3 checks in first column, first check in second, rest blank) DOUBLE CHECK THIS ON ALL FOUR(See Attached)
4. Copy SecSettings.apk and SecSettings.odex from the system root folder to the /system/priv-apps/ folder, choose overwrite all.
5. Copy services.JAR from the system root folder to the /system/framework folder, overwrite again.
6. Copy services.ODEX from the system root folder to the /system/framework folder, overwrite if asked.

PHONE WILL FREEZE AND REBOOT
Mine reodexed everything "Android is updating apps" on bootup.
?????
Profit.

CLICK THANKS.

btw HUGE thanks to RevelationOmega for doing the hard part!!

Edit: Possible fixes if experiencing issues (not tested or confirmed working) I am on Baseband AND3 with Build ANCE. If you experience issues, try ODIN to ANCE (this will not delete user apps), reroot, update SuperSU binaries, and then follow the steps below. This is exactly what I did when it worked for me (no xposed installed beforehand, only after and all seems well).

TO GET THE QUICKSETTINGS TILE
1. Download SQlite editor (the one in the screenie works best)
2. In apps, find settings storage > settings.db > system
3. Search for notification
4. Choose Notification_Panel_Active_App_List (there are a few VERY similar ones, make sure its the right one.
5. Add NetworkBooster; as seen in screenshot attached.
6. Reboot


TESTING DOWNLOAD BOOSTER
0. Make sure you are connected to WIFI and LTE (Does not work on regular 4G or lower)
1. Open the Play Store
2. Find the app called DCIkonZ (or any app over 30 mb)
3. Install app as normal. You should get a popup as seen in attached and see a toast saying Download Booster enabled...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-06-16-22-38-31.jpg
Views:	2143
Size:	199.4 KB
ID:	2802670   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-06-16-22-56-28.png
Views:	2216
Size:	158.0 KB
ID:	2802677   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-06-16-23-01-59.png
Views:	2071
Size:	169.5 KB
ID:	2802684   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-06-16-23-02-58.png
Views:	2093
Size:	206.9 KB
ID:	2802685  
The Following 12 Users Say Thank You to chronicaust For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
bruderhood15
Old
#2  
bruderhood15's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 57
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Savannah
Has anybody tried this yet?

Sent from my SM-G900V using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
BAM1789
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 141
Posts: 513
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Mesa
What's a good free SQLite Editor? Everything looking good here so far.
DAT QHD G3
 
chronicaust
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 86
Posts: 169
Join Date: Sep 2013
I downloaded mine from aptoide, its the only one I could work easily. Icon looks like 3 round grey circles stacked up.
 
Megadoug13
Old
#5  
Megadoug13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 65
Posts: 550
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canajoharie, NY
Can one of you guys give me your stock secsetting apk and odex? I'm afraid to restart my phone because I might have done this wrong

from my frothy.... froth... frosty... frost
 
BAM1789
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 141
Posts: 513
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Mesa
Quote:
Originally Posted by chronicaust View Post
I downloaded mine from aptoide, its the only one I could work easily. Icon looks like 3 round grey circles stacked up.
I just bought the one that was shown in the screenshot, gotta use those Google Opinion Rewards in some way! Everything is working great, even had a status bar icon added. Thanks so much for finding and posting this, was something I really wanted!
DAT QHD G3
 
chronicaust
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 86
Posts: 169
Join Date: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Megadoug13 View Post
Can one of you guys give me your stock secsetting apk and odex? I'm afraid to restart my phone because I might have done this wrong

from my frothy.... froth... frosty... frost
If your phone didn't reboot on its own then you messed up somewhere. Just start over from square one. Gimme a minute and I'll give you a dropbox link with the stock files.
 
chronicaust
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 86
Posts: 169
Join Date: Sep 2013
Thought I had them but I don't. If you have the ATT model, just double check the permissions and youll be fine.
 
Megadoug13
Old
#9  
Megadoug13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 65
Posts: 550
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canajoharie, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by chronicaust View Post
If your phone didn't reboot on its own then you messed up somewhere. Just start over from square one. Gimme a minute and I'll give you a dropbox link with the stock files.
Thanks!

from my frothy.... froth... frosty... frost
 
chronicaust
Old
#10  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 86
Posts: 169
Join Date: Sep 2013
Worst case you can odin to stock and you keep all your apps/data too lol. I know because I bricked my phone twice trying to different things already.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes