Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Question [Q] Returning to Stock :/ Is this the process

OP DACcer

18th June 2014, 06:19 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Adelaide
Thanks Meter: 7
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Help

I'm trying to return my old HTC One XL (Telstra) back to stock. It's current state is:

S-Off
CID = 11111111
TWRP
hboot: 2.15

I've found the latest full RUU from this thread (all the links to newer RUU are broken):
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...2119610&page=5

3.17.841.2
File Timestamp: 04/12/12
Publically Seen: 24/12/12
Android: 4.1.1
Kernel: 3.4.10-g240d4d5
hboot: 2.14.0000
radio: 0.23a.32.09.29_10.128.32.34a

First, can I us this RUU even though I have a newer hboot (2.15) installed?

Second, do I need to change my CID back? (using fastboot oem writecid TELST001). Will changing the CID loose my S-Off?

Third, is this the process:

1) Flash the stock recovery:
fastboot flash recovery recovery.img (taken out of the RUU)
fastboot reboot-bootloader
fastboot erase cache

2) Flash the stock boot.img
fastboot flash boot boot.img (taken out of the RUU)
fastboot reboot-bootloader
fastboot erase cache

3) Re-lock the boot loader
fastboot oem lock
fastboot reboot-bootloader
fastboot erase cache

4) Load RUU
fastboot oem rebootRUU
fastboot flash zip ruu.zip
fastboot reboot

After all this, I assume I'll loose TWRP etc. but will have a stock phone, and the ability to load OTA updates from the carrier.


THANKS
18th June 2014, 09:45 AM   |  #2  
timmaaa's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 7,182
 
14,953 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Donate to Me
More
That 3.17.841.2 file isn't an RUU, it's an OTA. It's a zip file, an RUU is always an exe program. There's only one Telstra RUU available and it's a much earlier version. You can't flash that file using fastboot, an OTA can only be applied via stock recovery, and it requires the correct previous OS to be already installed on the device. If you want to return the device to stock you just run the latest actual RUU (1.89 from memory), and follow this process:

1) Run RUU exe via Windows.

2) Revert to Telstra CID.

Code:
fastboot oem writecid TELST001
3) Lock bootloader.

Code:
fastboot oem lock
4) Go back to s-on.

Code:
fastboot oem writesecureflag 3
5) Take OTA updates via Settings/About Phone/Software Updates until you reach the point you wavy to be at.

Sent from my Evita
The Following User Says Thank You to timmaaa For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th June 2014, 11:06 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Flag Adelaide
Thanks Meter: 7
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by timmaaa

That 3.17.841.2 file isn't an RUU, it's an OTA. It's a zip file, an RUU is always an exe program. There's only one Telstra RUU available and it's a much earlier version. You can't flash that file using fastboot, an OTA can only be applied via stock recovery, and it requires the correct previous OS to be already installed on the device. If you want to return the device to stock you just run the latest actual RUU (1.89 from memory), and follow this process:

1) Run RUU exe via Windows.

2) Revert to Telstra CID.

Code:
fastboot oem writecid TELST001
3) Lock bootloader.

Code:
fastboot oem lock
4) Go back to s-on.

Code:
fastboot oem writesecureflag 3
5) Take OTA updates via Settings/About Phone/Software Updates until you reach the point you wavy to be at.

Sent from my Evita

Won't running the exe RUU before changing the CID fail?

And I thought you could still get the RUU as a ZIP (although most are just smaller OTA updates). The ZIP is 700Mb.
18th June 2014, 11:20 AM   |  #4  
timmaaa's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 7,182
 
14,953 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DACcer

Won't running the exe RUU before changing the CID fail?

No, you have s-off. Having s-off bypasses all security checks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DACcer

And I thought you could still get the RUU as a ZIP (although most are just smaller OTA updates). The ZIP is 700Mb.

No, an RUU is always an exe file. Just like an OTA is always a zip file.

Sent from my Evita
The Following User Says Thank You to timmaaa For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th June 2014, 01:12 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Flag Adelaide
Thanks Meter: 7
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by timmaaa

No, you have s-off. Having s-off bypasses all security checks.



No, an RUU is always an exe file. Just like an OTA is always a zip file.

Sent from my Evita

Sweet, cheers timmaaa .

Now, I just need to find the RUU, all the links are either broken, or to the HTC website which has gone.

Any suggestions?

And would I need to downgrade HBOOT before RUU?
18th June 2014, 01:15 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Flag Adelaide
Thanks Meter: 7
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DACcer

Sweet, cheers timmaaa .

Now, I just need to find the RUU, all the links are either broken, or to the HTC website which has gone.

Any suggestions?

And would I need to downgrade HBOOT before RUU?

Answer my own question:

http://androidruu.com/index.php?developer=Evita

Does this sound right:
RUU_Evita_UL_Telstra_WWE_1.81.841.1_R_Radio_0.17a. 32.09.03_2_10.85.32.16L_release_259804_signed.exe
18th June 2014, 01:18 PM   |  #7  
timmaaa's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 7,182
 
14,953 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Donate to Me
More
You'll find the RUU here:

http://androidruu.com/?developer=Evita

You don't need to do anything before running the RUU, just connect in fastboot mode and get it cracking.

PS. We press the thanks button to show our gratitude on XDA [emoji2]

Sent from my Evita
The Following User Says Thank You to timmaaa For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th June 2014, 02:07 AM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Flag Adelaide
Thanks Meter: 7
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Talking
Quote:
Originally Posted by timmaaa

You'll find the RUU here:

http://androidruu.com/?developer=Evita

You don't need to do anything before running the RUU, just connect in fastboot mode and get it cracking.

PS. We press the thanks button to show our gratitude on XDA [emoji2]

Sent from my Evita


All worked . Thanks!!
19th June 2014, 02:22 AM   |  #9  
timmaaa's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 7,182
 
14,953 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Donate to Me
More
You're welcome, glad to help.

Sent from my Evita

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
htc, onexl, ruu, stock
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes