Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Trying to install new rom, stuck on htc red text when booting

OP hanimal1

18th June 2014, 01:36 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Hi guys

I keep getting stuck on the the htc boot screen with the red text underneath when trying to install the 4.3.1 carbon rom for my Htc one s3.

Steps I've taken not necessarily in this order:
  • ]I've unlocked my bootloader.
    Downloaded the rom and gapps cm 10.2 to my sd card
    flashed twrp 2.7.1 recovery
    flashed the boot file
    entered recovery clicked the recommended option for wipe
    installed the rom and then gapps
    cleared cache
    reboot (Although just before rebooting it says that my phone is not rooted, would I like to install supersu to root it, which I did)

Am i missing something?
18th June 2014, 03:09 PM   |  #2  
zivenchy's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
You are maybe forget to intick the fast boot it always make problem
Just boot to recovery and do a full wipe data cash and dalvic and reboot your phone

Sent from my HTC J One using XDA Free mobile app
18th June 2014, 03:46 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by zivenchy

You are maybe forget to intick the fast boot it always make problem
Just boot to recovery and do a full wipe data cash and dalvic and reboot your phone

Sent from my HTC J One using XDA Free mobile app

Hi,

I had to untick the fastboot as it wasn't loading the bootloader. I did a factory wipe, flashed boot image, factory wipe again, installed cm10.2 but during installation I'm getting a failed error. Anyone know why this is?

Could it possibly be because I have no superuser app on my phone? is superuser needed?
18th June 2014, 04:28 PM   |  #4  
zivenchy's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Because you are not rooted that's why

Sent from my HTC J One using XDA Free mobile app
18th June 2014, 07:33 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by zivenchy

Because you are not rooted that's why

Sent from my HTC J One using XDA Free mobile app

Haha thanks that's part of the problem, I'm a noob to all this. I am now rooted using superSU v1.9x but still getting same problems.
I'm also trying to use sideload but it's just stuck saying 'starting adb sideload feature stuck'
18th June 2014, 08:40 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Sorry for spamming the forum, but I just don't seem to be getting anywhere after hours trying..

My plan now is to go back to the stock rom, I just want to make sure I'm flashing the correct one

I think my phone is actually an S4 rather than S3.
hboot: 2.13.0000
radio: 1.11.50.05.28
tmob005

would this RUU be the correct one to install:

RUU_Ville_U_JB_45_S_HTC_Europe_3.16.401.8_Radio_1. 11.50.05.28_10.27.50.08L_release_301814_signed_2_4 .exe
19th June 2014, 08:11 AM   |  #7  
null0seven's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
163 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
You're on Tmobile, i gues...
Search one for you're phone company, for you're country.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes