FORUMS

[Q] SIM stopped working in my LG Optimus 4X HD

5 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By mvz3k, Junior Member on 4th November 2013, 12:47 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I'm new to this.

A totally random event. I restarted my phone one evening last week and it show no sim. Using the LG support tool I had multiple failed attempts to update the software. Then as sudden a the sim registration had disappeared it came back to life. All fine until again the phone just stopped registering the sim.

Phone is secondhand. And I have tried numerous times removing, cleaning and replacing the SIM. Tried another active SIM on the same network with no luck.

I've never had a 'bricked' phone so don't know what to expect but I imagine the phone wouldn't even boot up!

I have now rooted the phone and installed CWM recovery, still no joy and have in desperation performed a hard reset. Nada!

Software is V10h. I read something about EFS folder to backup but all I could find is a text file. The IMEI is not registering on the phone. It could be a very simple answer but currently I'm stumped. I have requested a replacement SIM but have little hope this will resolve the issue.

I hope someone has an answer...
 
 
4th November 2013, 01:45 PM |#2  
Flying_Bear's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 795
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mvz3k

I'm new to this.

A totally random event. I restarted my phone one evening last week and it show no sim. Using the LG support tool I had multiple failed attempts to update the software. Then as sudden a the sim registration had disappeared it came back to life. All fine until again the phone just stopped registering the sim.

Phone is secondhand. And I have tried numerous times removing, cleaning and replacing the SIM. Tried another active SIM on the same network with no luck.

I've never had a 'bricked' phone so don't know what to expect but I imagine the phone wouldn't even boot up!

I have now rooted the phone and installed CWM recovery, still no joy and have in desperation performed a hard reset. Nada!

Software is V10h. I read something about EFS folder to backup but all I could find is a text file. The IMEI is not registering on the phone. It could be a very simple answer but currently I'm stumped. I have requested a replacement SIM but have little hope this will resolve the issue.

I hope someone has an answer...

re-flash 10h or 20a kdz. look for various tutorials on the forum. (btw, your phone isnt registring on network cuz your imei isnt being read, probably due to failed upgrade process
(or some other bug). it should be fixable though)

also, replacement sim wont help. its your cell phone that's faulty, either hardware or software, not the SIM itself


also, i'm not sure how it goes if your IMEI is blacklisted by your cell phone company - is it possible the phone was stolen? perhaps the original owner reported it stolen to his carrier and they blocked the IMEI?
Last edited by Flying_Bear; 4th November 2013 at 01:56 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Flying_Bear For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th November 2013, 02:24 PM |#3  
SimonTS's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bristol
Thanks Meter: 1,585
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flying_Bear

also, i'm not sure how it goes if your IMEI is blacklisted by your cell phone company - is it possible the phone was stolen? perhaps the original owner reported it stolen to his carrier and they blocked the IMEI?

If the IMEI is blacklisted, the phone will still show it correctly in the settings and the carrier will just block based on this. This is why changing an IMEI is illegal in most countries and why discussions on how to change it aren't allowed on XDA as it can get the site in serious trouble.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to SimonTS For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th November 2013, 06:01 PM |#4  
kessaras's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Athens
Thanks Meter: 52
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mvz3k

I'm new to this.

A totally random event. I restarted my phone one evening last week and it show no sim. Using the LG support tool I had multiple failed attempts to update the software. Then as sudden a the sim registration had disappeared it came back to life. All fine until again the phone just stopped registering the sim.

Phone is secondhand. And I have tried numerous times removing, cleaning and replacing the SIM. Tried another active SIM on the same network with no luck.

I've never had a 'bricked' phone so don't know what to expect but I imagine the phone wouldn't even boot up!

I have now rooted the phone and installed CWM recovery, still no joy and have in desperation performed a hard reset. Nada!

Software is V10h. I read something about EFS folder to backup but all I could find is a text file. The IMEI is not registering on the phone. It could be a very simple answer but currently I'm stumped. I have requested a replacement SIM but have little hope this will resolve the issue.

I hope someone has an answer...

check if ur gapps are fine. reinstall all gapps. maybe u deleted some app that u shouldnt. happened to me too 2 weeks ago and i had no sim so signal , i couldnt see my imei, etc. if that doesnt help , then reinstall ur rom or install a custom one. I mean maybe u must be sure to check if u deleted some system app that u shouldnt. Since u have double checked with other sim , if its not from an app , then the above thread is right, the owner could have reported the phone stolen
The Following User Says Thank You to kessaras For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th November 2013, 10:32 PM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Unhappy
Quote:
Originally Posted by kessaras

if its not from an app , then the above thread is right, the owner could have reported the phone stolen

I have had this phone since June and this only happened last week.
9th November 2013, 09:47 AM |#6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flying_Bear

re-flash 10h or 20a kdz. look for various tutorials on the forum. (btw, your phone isnt registring on network cuz your imei isnt being read, probably due to failed upgrade process
(or some other bug). it should be fixable though)

also, replacement sim wont help. its your cell phone that's faulty, either hardware or software, not the SIM itself


also, i'm not sure how it goes if your IMEI is blacklisted by your cell phone company - is it possible the phone was stolen? perhaps the original owner reported it stolen to his carrier and they blocked the IMEI?


Okay, strange happenings with this phone. I've not hd the opportunity to re-flash as suggested but by the by I put my SIM back in and it worked fine. IMEI registered in the phone settings and all was as it should be. Until again first the signal disappeared and when I restarted the SIM did not register. Has anyone experienced this before?
9th November 2013, 09:55 AM |#7  
SimonTS's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bristol
Thanks Meter: 1,585
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mvz3k

Okay, strange happenings with this phone. I've not hd the opportunity to re-flash as suggested but by the by I put my SIM back in and it worked fine. IMEI registered in the phone settings and all was as it should be. Until again first the signal disappeared and when I restarted the SIM did not register. Has anyone experienced this before?

There have been some problems with this, but normally due the the RIL on CyanogenMod-based ROMs. I would suggest that you find the time to either reflash v10h or upgrade to v20A/B/C (as appropriate for your region) and see if that fixes it for you.
The Following User Says Thank You to SimonTS For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th November 2013, 11:14 AM |#8  
kessaras's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Athens
Thanks Meter: 52
 
More
you still havent mentioned anything about gapps. this means you checked and you are sure that they are fine ??
29th November 2013, 05:37 PM |#9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
So I have tried flashing software V20A using the LG software updater and now all I get is the phone booting into 'S/W Upgrade please wait while upgrading'
I can get into any other screen, despite pressing all combination of buttons together.
I have attempted reflashing back to V10H and try and get it back to how I had the phone. No luck there
And also tried again with V20A. No joy.

Is there anything else I could try?
29th November 2013, 06:49 PM |#10  
SimonTS's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bristol
Thanks Meter: 1,585
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mvz3k

So I have tried flashing software V20A using the LG software updater and now all I get is the phone booting into 'S/W Upgrade please wait while upgrading'
I can get into any other screen, despite pressing all combination of buttons together.
I have attempted reflashing back to V10H and try and get it back to how I had the phone. No luck there
And also tried again with V20A. No joy.

Is there anything else I could try?

Yes, Follow the instructions to flash a v20x KDZ EXACTLY and look at your drivers.
1st December 2013, 12:41 PM |#11  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SimonTS

Yes, Follow the instructions to flash a v20x KDZ EXACTLY and look at your drivers.

Which version of instructions is definitive? I've tried multiple methods with battery in and out. Are you referring to the LG drivers?

Thanks for responding.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes