Jolla Tablet Announced: The Second Sailfish OS Device

A little over a year ago, Jolla released its first smartphone with the brand new Jolla … more

Android One Devices Get Unofficial CM12 Port

Android One was initially announced right before Android Lollipop. By releasing these cheap, yet … more

WhatsApp Decides to Protect Your Data

When Facebook bought WhatsApp for the absurdly large sum of $19bn back in February, they took the tech … more

Bring Back LTE on the Google Nexus 4 Running Lollipop

One of the predecessors of the latest, largest, and greatest Gooogle Nexus 6(theGoogle … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] How to enable data toggle

OP yoonus

16th June 2014, 10:56 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Morrisville
Thanks Meter: 8
 
112 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
Now that we have root, anyone figured how to enable data toggle?
Is there a way to do it without sqllite app ($2.99)?
17th June 2014, 03:46 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
149 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by yoonus

Now that we have root, anyone figured how to enable data toggle?
Is there a way to do it without sqllite app ($2.99)?

I have sqlite app but it does not work it gives code 14 error with i try to open settings.db. From what I see others are saying its because of the stock kernel preventing settings.db from being access by sqlite. I am looking into it i'll let you know if I find out something.
17th June 2014, 06:42 AM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Data Togles
There is a way to do it posted in the Sprint forum.
I can confirm that it does work with the ATT variant.
I tried it and it works.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2732722
[MOD] Enabling "Hidden" Quick Tiles

*in the forum it tells you how to do it with another editor. (a free one)
Last edited by johnjohn2014; 17th June 2014 at 06:47 AM. Reason: add
The Following User Says Thank You to johnjohn2014 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th June 2014, 11:32 PM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Flag Morrisville
Thanks Meter: 8
 
112 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnjohn2014

There is a way to do it posted in the Sprint forum.
I can confirm that it does work with the ATT variant.
I tried it and it works.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2732722
[MOD] Enabling "Hidden" Quick Tiles

*in the forum it tells you how to do it with another editor. (a free one)

I tried with SQLite Debugger app. I added MobileData and Data to the value.
The values are updated correctly.

After I reboot, I cannot see Mobile data toggle. I have also tried just adding MobileData. That too did not work
18th June 2014, 06:31 AM   |  #5  
PS4AndroidHacker's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Barberton,Ohio
Thanks Meter: 37
 
328 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Donate to Me
More
Google around for the app and download it for free and install it. Then follow this link. It worked for my AT&T S5.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2732722

Sent from my "ROOTED" SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
18th June 2014, 05:26 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Flag Morrisville
Thanks Meter: 8
 
112 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
Thumbs up SQLite Editor works
Thanks. I got 'SQLite Editor' and it worked.
After reboot, I was able to view MobileData in the toggles.

First time when you click the toggle, it brings up the setting page to enable Mobile data.
After that, it behaved as normal toggle.

I had tried below apps - But did not work.
sqlite Database Editor - This never completed loading Application database. Hence did not work
SQLite Debugger - I was able to modify settings.db. When I run the query again after reboot, I could see the modified value.
But toggle was never visible. After installing SQLite Editor, when I ran the query, MobileData was not there.
So I assume, SQLite Debugger never changed settings.db. I had system partition mounted as rw using root explorer.
19th June 2014, 08:08 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
149 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by yoonus

Thanks. I got 'SQLite Editor' and it worked.
After reboot, I was able to view MobileData in the toggles.

First time when you click the toggle, it brings up the setting page to enable Mobile data.
After that, it behaved as normal toggle.

I had tried below apps - But did not work.
sqlite Database Editor - This never completed loading Application database. Hence did not work
SQLite Debugger - I was able to modify settings.db. When I run the query again after reboot, I could see the modified value.
But toggle was never visible. After installing SQLite Editor, when I ran the query, MobileData was not there.
So I assume, SQLite Debugger never changed settings.db. I had system partition mounted as rw using root explorer.

How did you do it? I tried but I keep getting code 14 error. Then I tried to copy the settings.db to SD card I was able to edit it without error. Then I copy it back to the original folder but then when I reboot it freezes at the att logo. I need help any idea.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using XDA Free mobile app
19th June 2014, 06:00 PM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Flag Morrisville
Thanks Meter: 8
 
112 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
good luck
Quote:
Originally Posted by vat829

How did you do it? I tried but I keep getting code 14 error. Then I tried to copy the settings.db to SD card I was able to edit it without error. Then I copy it back to the original folder but then when I reboot it freezes at the att logo. I need help any idea.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using XDA Free mobile app

Please check this thread http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2732722
It has step-by-step on how to do with sqllite.

Also make sure you have /system mounted read-write before running the steps.

To bring back your phone back to life, please check other threads. Many people had issue S5 stopping at att boot logo. All those were related to enabling Ultra power saving mode.
20th June 2014, 01:02 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
149 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by yoonus

Please check this thread http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2732722
It has step-by-step on how to do with sqllite.

Also make sure you have /system mounted read-write before running the steps.

To bring back your phone back to life, please check other threads. Many people had issue S5 stopping at att boot logo. All those were related to enabling Ultra power saving mode.

I did followed it step by step and i did not enable Ultra Power Saving Mode. Also my settings.db did not contain "notification_panel_active_app_list" but "notification_panel_active_app_list_for_reset"
Last edited by vat829; 20th June 2014 at 01:11 AM.
20th June 2014, 03:14 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 293
 
771 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by vat829

I did followed it step by step and i did not enable Ultra Power Saving Mode. Also my settings.db did not contain "notification_panel_active_app_list" but "notification_panel_active_app_list_for_reset"

You remind me of me. You're making it much harder than it is.

If your're getting code 14 error, then you're probably using an older version of sqlite editor, or one of the other sqlites, if I'm not mistaken. And, you're not going to get too many suggestions on where to get apps free from around here.

Now, to bring your phone back, I recommend either using my guide, or the one in the ultra power save thread. But, you only need to flash the AP file in Odin if you don't want to factory reset your phone right away.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes