Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,803,273 Members 44,745 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] How to enable data toggle

Tip us?
 
yoonus
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 104
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Morrisville
Default [Q] How to enable data toggle

Now that we have root, anyone figured how to enable data toggle?
Is there a way to do it without sqllite app ($2.99)?
 
vat829
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 145
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by yoonus View Post
Now that we have root, anyone figured how to enable data toggle?
Is there a way to do it without sqllite app ($2.99)?
I have sqlite app but it does not work it gives code 14 error with i try to open settings.db. From what I see others are saying its because of the stock kernel preventing settings.db from being access by sqlite. I am looking into it i'll let you know if I find out something.
 
johnjohn2014
Old
(Last edited by johnjohn2014; 17th June 2014 at 05:47 AM.) Reason: add
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jun 2014
Default Data Togles

There is a way to do it posted in the Sprint forum.
I can confirm that it does work with the ATT variant.
I tried it and it works.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2732722
[MOD] Enabling "Hidden" Quick Tiles

*in the forum it tells you how to do it with another editor. (a free one)
The Following User Says Thank You to johnjohn2014 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
yoonus
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 104
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Morrisville
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnjohn2014 View Post
There is a way to do it posted in the Sprint forum.
I can confirm that it does work with the ATT variant.
I tried it and it works.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2732722
[MOD] Enabling "Hidden" Quick Tiles

*in the forum it tells you how to do it with another editor. (a free one)
I tried with SQLite Debugger app. I added MobileData and Data to the value.
The values are updated correctly.

After I reboot, I cannot see Mobile data toggle. I have also tried just adding MobileData. That too did not work
 
PS4AndroidHacker
Old
#5  
PS4AndroidHacker's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 313
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Barberton,Ohio

 
DONATE TO ME
Google around for the app and download it for free and install it. Then follow this link. It worked for my AT&T S5.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2732722

Sent from my "ROOTED" SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Rooted Droid 3: Fiance' spilled coke on it,retired now.

Rooted Droid 4

Rooted Droid Razr

Rooted HTC Evo 3D 4G(Virgin Mobile) with unlocked bootloader!!

Rooted LG Optimus Slider(Virgin Mobile)
 
yoonus
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 104
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Morrisville
Thumbs up SQLite Editor works

Thanks. I got 'SQLite Editor' and it worked.
After reboot, I was able to view MobileData in the toggles.

First time when you click the toggle, it brings up the setting page to enable Mobile data.
After that, it behaved as normal toggle.

I had tried below apps - But did not work.
sqlite Database Editor - This never completed loading Application database. Hence did not work
SQLite Debugger - I was able to modify settings.db. When I run the query again after reboot, I could see the modified value.
But toggle was never visible. After installing SQLite Editor, when I ran the query, MobileData was not there.
So I assume, SQLite Debugger never changed settings.db. I had system partition mounted as rw using root explorer.
 
vat829
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 145
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by yoonus View Post
Thanks. I got 'SQLite Editor' and it worked.
After reboot, I was able to view MobileData in the toggles.

First time when you click the toggle, it brings up the setting page to enable Mobile data.
After that, it behaved as normal toggle.

I had tried below apps - But did not work.
sqlite Database Editor - This never completed loading Application database. Hence did not work
SQLite Debugger - I was able to modify settings.db. When I run the query again after reboot, I could see the modified value.
But toggle was never visible. After installing SQLite Editor, when I ran the query, MobileData was not there.
So I assume, SQLite Debugger never changed settings.db. I had system partition mounted as rw using root explorer.
How did you do it? I tried but I keep getting code 14 error. Then I tried to copy the settings.db to SD card I was able to edit it without error. Then I copy it back to the original folder but then when I reboot it freezes at the att logo. I need help any idea.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using XDA Free mobile app
 
yoonus
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 104
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Morrisville
Default good luck

Quote:
Originally Posted by vat829 View Post
How did you do it? I tried but I keep getting code 14 error. Then I tried to copy the settings.db to SD card I was able to edit it without error. Then I copy it back to the original folder but then when I reboot it freezes at the att logo. I need help any idea.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using XDA Free mobile app
Please check this thread http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2732722
It has step-by-step on how to do with sqllite.

Also make sure you have /system mounted read-write before running the steps.

To bring back your phone back to life, please check other threads. Many people had issue S5 stopping at att boot logo. All those were related to enabling Ultra power saving mode.
 
vat829
Old
(Last edited by vat829; 20th June 2014 at 12:11 AM.)
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 145
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by yoonus View Post
Please check this thread http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2732722
It has step-by-step on how to do with sqllite.

Also make sure you have /system mounted read-write before running the steps.

To bring back your phone back to life, please check other threads. Many people had issue S5 stopping at att boot logo. All those were related to enabling Ultra power saving mode.
I did followed it step by step and i did not enable Ultra Power Saving Mode. Also my settings.db did not contain "notification_panel_active_app_list" but "notification_panel_active_app_list_for_reset"
 
shortydoggg
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 286
Posts: 767
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by vat829 View Post
I did followed it step by step and i did not enable Ultra Power Saving Mode. Also my settings.db did not contain "notification_panel_active_app_list" but "notification_panel_active_app_list_for_reset"
You remind me of me. You're making it much harder than it is.

If your're getting code 14 error, then you're probably using an older version of sqlite editor, or one of the other sqlites, if I'm not mistaken. And, you're not going to get too many suggestions on where to get apps free from around here.

Now, to bring your phone back, I recommend either using my guide, or the one in the ultra power save thread. But, you only need to flash the AP file in Odin if you don't want to factory reset your phone right away.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Discover and Sample the Latest Billboard Music Hits with Billy

Music is a passion that transcends age, gender, race, culture, and geographic … more

Speed Up Jenkins Configuration Process with TSJ

When you are theleader of a largedevelopment project, Gerrit isn’t the only tool that … more

AutoData Regulates Your Connectivity to Save Battery Life

It’s absolutely no secret that battery life is somewhat of anundoingformany … more

Tale of the Great Recoveries

About a week ago, our fantastic writer and my esteemed colleague Tom embarked on a mission to learnthe vast and … more