Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,784,382 Members 47,134 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Switching Carriers & Unlocking Download Booster

Tip us?
 
sniderjadam
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Oct 2011
Default [Q] Switching Carriers & Unlocking Download Booster

i am currently on Sprint and have had it with their service. I live near Chicago, supposedly one of Sprint's maiden Spark cities, and their speeds have either stayed the same or have been worse than in the past. Because I just bought my phone under contract and other reasons, I am looking to jump to T-Mobile.

One thing I am considering is whether or not I should keep my current S5 or trade it into T-Mobile and get a new S5 from them. I know T-Mobile has the Download Booster feature unlocked on their handsets, but I am not sure if this is something deleted from Sprint's handsets before they sold them, or if the device is locked by the SIM or any other reason.

Has anyone else had an experience making this switch? I am curious what others have experienced.
 
koolboyztn
Old
#2  
koolboyztn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 88
Posts: 378
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: sOmE WhErE
u can not use Sprint S5 on T-Mobile anyway, time for new S5 if u made that switch.
 
sniderjadam
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by koolboyztn View Post
u can not use Sprint S5 on T-Mobile anyway, time for new S5 if u made that switch.
In the past, that is true. The S5 actually uses a SIM card and can be used on a GSM carrier.
 
koolboyztn
Old
#4  
koolboyztn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 88
Posts: 378
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: sOmE WhErE
lookup Sprint S5 (CDMA) and T-Mobile S5 (GSM) then u will know what is the different.
 
sniderjadam
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by koolboyztn View Post
lookup Sprint S5 (CDMA) and T-Mobile S5 (GSM) then u will know what is the different.
I am fully aware the difference between Sprint's CDMA network and T-Mobile's GSM network. If you look at Sprint's S5 specs, it still has a GSM antenna. Here's my reference.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes