FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[Q] how can i get cyanogenmod w/o losing any data

86 posts
Thanks Meter: 1
 
By ody12, Member on 21st June 2014, 01:52 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
how can i get cyanogenmod w/o losing any data?
can i dual boot cynaogenmod and stock rom?
also im on gs3 t999 rooted stock rom and i have clockworkmod installed
thanks
 
 
21st June 2014, 03:36 AM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ody12

how can i get cyanogenmod w/o losing any data?
can i dual boot cynaogenmod and stock rom?
also im on gs3 t999 rooted stock rom and i have clockworkmod installed
thanks

Simply back up your apps with Titanium Backup, and put your contacts on your SIM card if you haven't already. Everything on the internal SD card isn't erased after a factory reset (in TWRP anyway, not sure about CWM), so you don't have to worry about pictures or stuff.

EDIT: I guess dual booting IS possible. I stand corrected.
The Following User Says Thank You to SpeedsterPaul For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift SpeedsterPaul Ad-Free
21st June 2014, 06:16 AM |#3  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag HuntsVegas!!!
Thanks Meter: 6,918
 
Donate to Me
More
Use the built in import/export function for contacts as well.
The Following User Says Thank You to DocHoliday77 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift DocHoliday77 Ad-Free
24th June 2014, 04:51 AM |#5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
What does that mean exactly can you pls post a link to a tutorial with more info?

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk
24th June 2014, 04:52 AM |#6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Also I don't need the 2 roms to be running at the same time, I just want to have 2 roms on the phone that I can switch between easily w/o have to back up everything

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk
24th June 2014, 05:11 AM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ody12

Also I don't need the 2 roms to be running at the same time, I just want to have 2 roms on the phone that I can switch between easily w/o have to back up everything

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk

Well dual booting is essentially what you described (which means the name is a bit misleasing), but it seems to only be possible on the international version from my research.
The Following User Says Thank You to SpeedsterPaul For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift SpeedsterPaul Ad-Free
24th June 2014, 05:33 AM |#8  
Quote:
Originally Posted by ody12

What does that mean exactly can you pls post a link to a tutorial with more info?

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk

Look up Multiboot. It's in the forums here somewhere.

d2tmo: Carbonized & LeanKernel'd edition
The Following User Says Thank You to mp3deviant721 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift mp3deviant721 Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes