Would the LG G4 Fare Well With The Snapdragon 808?

The LG G4 has a lot to prove, given that last year’s LG G3 was among the best … more

CyanogenMod 12.1 for Android One

Android One devices once again got a pretty stable release of Android 5.1. XDA Recognized … more

DexPatcher: Patch Android APKs Using Java

You’ve probably seen or installed modified applications, be it a patched dialer for your … more

Is Cloud Storage Ready to Replace External Storage?

With more and more OEMs ditching SD cards on their flagships, cloud storage is … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Restoring stock kernel

26th June 2014, 09:45 AM |#1  
omicorn's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
More
Hi!

I have unlocked bootloader, rooted with SuperSu and flashed DoomKernel (for the Ram Management problem + recovery). Now I'd like to update to the 205 without having to find my own firmware ftf from the forums. Only way to do this is to restore stock kernel, relock the bootloader and then run the normal fota.

The DoomKernel was flashed using fastboot but I can only find the original kernel in ftf firmwares that can be flashed in flashmode (f. ex. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2706576). I tried to flash this kernel with flashtool but it failed. What is the correct procedure to restore stock kernel in flashmode using flashtool?
26th June 2014, 10:11 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 171
 
677 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
If you download dipesh's latest ROMs they include a kernel.elf file within the zip. So flahs those and you should then have stock 205 kernel.
26th June 2014, 10:15 AM |#3  
omicorn's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oblox

If you download dipesh's latest ROMs they include a kernel.elf file within the zip. So flahs those and you should then have stock 205 kernel.

But I actually need the kernel for current firmware to be able to update to 205. Also I'd like to know for future if it's possible to successfully flash kernel only using flashtool.
26th June 2014, 10:20 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 171
 
677 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Yes you can flash kernel only in flashtool.
26th June 2014, 10:22 AM |#5  
omicorn's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oblox

Yes you can flash kernel only in flashtool.

What options should I set? Last time I tried to flash the kernel I linked in OP I remember getting error like loader.sin no such file or directory. Is this the fault of the ftf or my settings?
26th June 2014, 10:32 AM |#6  
Bruno_Puzoni's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ribeirão Pires, Brazil
Thanks Meter: 24
 
130 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Actually not, the kernel only in dipesh's rom is in .elf, not .ftf, so it's not recognized by flashtool.
Use fastboot with the command fastboot flash boot xxxxxxx.elf
Look at Williams kernel topic to see more details of how to flash it
26th June 2014, 10:36 AM |#7  
omicorn's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruno_Puzoni

Actually not, the kernel only in dipesh's rom is in .elf, not .ftf, so it's not recognized by flashtool.
Use fastboot with the command fastboot flash boot xxxxxxx.elf
Look at Williams kernel topic to see more details of how to flash it

I know that elf binaries should be flashed using fastboot but I haven't found the stock 201 kernel in that format. I'll check out the william's thread. But still I'd like to know how to flash ftf kernel successfully. Just for the future

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes